android
  #1  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:17 AM
DoomRoot13 DoomRoot13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Default Please Give Us WPA2 Enterprise Support!!!

I think the last firmware update is awesome!! I really do. The thing is that I thought there was no doubt they would add wpa2 enterprise support since there have been so many people here needing it and the thread concerning it over on the official Zune forums is one of the longest there. So I am extremely disappointed because I am in college in a dorm where we cannot have our own routers and I would love to be able to connect to my school's wifi anywhere its available but I can't. This is seriously the only thing holding me back from getting a zune pass. Please ZUNE TEAM. PLEASE

Last edited by Machiventa; 04-06-2010 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:57 AM
beh beh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Default

yup , i also agree its the most important stuff to be made .
btw 4.5 update was really nice , i hope we will get even more at the next one (wap2 youtube plz :P )
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-06-2010, 10:52 AM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Agreed. They really should've added this back in September on launch or at least focused on adding it in a OCT/NOV update.

Oh and I fixed the title, it was a tad misleading.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:16 AM
pur pur is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Default

I was kinda hoping for wpa enterprise support in the update but at least they added hidden network support. That solves one problem with connecting to my schools network.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:48 AM
chambo622's Avatar
chambo622 chambo622 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Default

WPA2 Enterprise support would be of extremely high use to me, as it would for hundreds of other people. It can't be that hard to add, and they obviously are working on WiFi, as 4.5 added support for hidden networks.

Please add WPA2 Enterprise support in the next firmware upgrade!
__________________
www.ScienceProUSA.com
Zune HD 32GB Platinum
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-06-2010, 12:42 PM
askareem24 askareem24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38
Default

i'm gonna keep emphasizing my want for this feature because , honestly, to me and hundreds of other zune owners, i think it would be like adding icing to the cake WITH a cherry on top . that would just make so much of us happy , especially with a zune pass. 4.7 *crosses fingers*!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:29 PM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Do other devices have this like the psp, DS and iphone? I think it should be done if possible as well...

LIP
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:40 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lip View Post
Do other devices have this like the psp, DS and iphone? I think it should be done if possible as well...

LIP
Iphone does. Not sure on the others.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-06-2010, 04:19 PM
chambo622's Avatar
chambo622 chambo622 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Default

iPhone/iPod Touch both have great WPA2 Enterprise support, c'mon Zune Team, please give it to us as well!
__________________
www.ScienceProUSA.com
Zune HD 32GB Platinum
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-06-2010, 05:10 PM
Joshnor713 Joshnor713 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 172
Default

Can we please have ad-hoc support as well?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:25 PM
erythro42 erythro42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lip View Post
Do other devices have this like the psp, DS and iphone? I think it should be done if possible as well...

LIP
Obviously I don't know what technical barriers may prevent WPA2 Enterprise support, but the Atheros chip on the Zune HD is listed as being WPA2 Enterprise capable. So that's a good sign, at least.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-07-2010, 12:22 AM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

This, along with the crippled image browser, is one of the main screw ups on the Zune HD. Just like the image browser, MS acknowledged it, but quickly got quiet when asked to fix it. It's quite annoying too, given that back in September they said they were working on it.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-10-2010, 02:53 PM
sparkalo sparkalo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Signed

As another college student that somehow managed to scrape and save to get a Zune HD (thank you Dell Daily Deal), I would also like to voice my powerful (bordering on violent) desire for WPA2 Enterprise support

Apparently, people have been clamoring for this functionality since release, and to not have it after two major updates is a little disconcerting. We absolutely need to know that this is being made a priority. As a former dev for an linux wireless network manager, I understand that supporting all of the Enterprise schemes may seem a little intimidating, but really, once you get the first one coded, the rest aren't nearly as difficult. I would point you to various open source projects for inspiration, but knowing Microsoft's issues with GPL, I doubt it would do any good.

So, instead, might I direct your attention to this topic where a zune team member named Anothy assured us that the zune team would "certainly use this input for future releases" (this was back in september of 2009!!)

zune connectivity
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-10-2010, 04:22 PM
dcoaster dcoaster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Completely agree, Zune team. This NEEDS to be implemented ASAP.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:26 PM
dorkus dorkus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I just want to bump this one up there since it is the one gripe I have left. Windows sets the gold standard for WiFi functionality and ease of connecting, so for a MS device to not follow that lead is a bit disappointing.

90% of the time I use my Zune is at work and I can't get on the WiFi connection there (WPA Enterprise). If I could I would be paying for a Zune Pass no questions asked, so my limiting where I can get online it's costing MS my money. I so want to give you my money....
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.