android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Microsoft Zune > Zune HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2010, 05:43 PM
ZuneHD ZuneHD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 85
Default [Poll] Does your Zune HD's screen freeze after being locked?

In my quest to collect more data about your opinions and experiences I have created another poll. This simply refers to the screen freezing I experience and others have reported. I want to see if the majority of people actually experience this.

Poll: http://www.acepolls.com/polls/111073...ening-to-music
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:05 PM
lem7's Avatar
lem7 lem7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 502
Default

My screen freezes up 2-3 times EVERY SINGLE DAMN DAY!! Its so freaking annoying....
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:18 PM
syst3m's Avatar
syst3m syst3m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 141
Default

Mine does sometimes, but I'm sure that there is some sort of bug fix for it in the coming update.
__________________
Have: ZuneHD 32GB, Zune 8GB
Had: Sansa e260, Some Old Panasonic MP3 Player
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:45 PM
2fast4u5 2fast4u5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 47
Default

I've never had my screen freeze. When people say "Fix freeze bug/random restart" I never know what they're talking about lol. But if it's happening to alot of people, then it should be fixed.

I did get my HD 2-3 weeks ago. Maybe it's gonna start freezing soon? O.O
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:05 PM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Guys, your devices are probably defective in some way...I had the exact same problem...sent it back and got a new one and it works awesome...not one freeze...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:12 PM
ZuneHD ZuneHD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 85
Default

Well thats what this poll is for. If numerous people are reporting this problem then it is more then just a defect. If it somehow is a defect then it could mean a lot of the devices are defective (recall perhaps) which is very bad.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:21 PM
clubdirthill clubdirthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
Default

I've never noticed the issue on mine, then again, I don't have a launch device.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:02 PM
Moonrakerone's Avatar
Moonrakerone Moonrakerone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 197
Default

Mine freezes a lot. What's interesting is that if it's dark enough, you can see that when you lock, and unlock it, if it doesn't work, the backlight goes on faintly. Then after a few button mashings and swears, the screen turns on.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:09 PM
Stujoe Stujoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern IL
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast4u5 View Post
I've never had my screen freeze. When people say "Fix freeze bug/random restart" I never know what they're talking about lol. But if it's happening to alot of people, then it should be fixed.
Me either but, yes, if it is a bug, it should be fixed.

All of our Zunes (6 of them) have been remarkably problem free. My oldest son's Ver 2 player used to freeze and have button problems every so often but after I made him stop putting 'questionable' music on it, it didn't do it any more. But, the rest of our players, including my HD, haven;t had any issues of random freezes or problems.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-04-2010, 08:29 PM
ItsLasher's Avatar
ItsLasher ItsLasher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Net
Posts: 204
Default

My screen will freeze if it has timed out and I try to wake it up right after a song change. If I wait a couple seconds and hit the power button and then hit the "home" button it generally wakes it up and opens.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-04-2010, 09:21 PM
phongbui phongbui is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Also i get a HORRIBLE aaannoying glitch when i plug in/charge my Zune HD. The clicking seems to be REALLY off.. and will click other things
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-04-2010, 09:31 PM
Strider_Aus's Avatar
Strider_Aus Strider_Aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 498
Default

nope. mine bought this year seems fine. No freeze. There is a slight delay (couple seconds) coming out of sleep before screen swipe up works to get the device active, but this is just a warm boot based issue as the op-sys wakes up, not a bug I think.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-04-2010, 11:30 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lip View Post
Guys, your devices are probably defective in some way...I had the exact same problem...sent it back and got a new one and it works awesome...not one freeze...
Agreed. For all of you experiencing out of the ordinary freezes beyond the occasional one should request repair service and send it in while under warranty: http://service.zune.net/en-us/devices/manage - I definitely recommend using the online repair service as opposed to calling it in. It'll save you a few hours.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-04-2010, 11:40 PM
syst3m's Avatar
syst3m syst3m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Machiventa View Post
Agreed. For all of you experiencing out of the ordinary freezes beyond the occasional one should request repair service and send it in while under warranty: http://service.zune.net/en-us/devices/manage - I definitely recommend using the online repair service as opposed to calling it in. It'll save you a few hours.
Maybe I'm experiencing something else, but I'm really hoping it can be fixed with a firmware update. Sending it in for repairs is kind of out of the question for me, not in the US.
__________________
Have: ZuneHD 32GB, Zune 8GB
Had: Sansa e260, Some Old Panasonic MP3 Player
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-04-2010, 11:44 PM
lem7's Avatar
lem7 lem7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Machiventa View Post
Agreed. For all of you experiencing out of the ordinary freezes beyond the occasional one should request repair service and send it in while under warranty: http://service.zune.net/en-us/devices/manage - I definitely recommend using the online repair service as opposed to calling it in. It'll save you a few hours.
I'm scared because some say it takes 1+ month to get it repaired, others say it still have the same problem, and few say he never seen his Zune again after shipping it to MSFT... Is their like a MSFT store I can go to get my ZuneHD replaced or is shipping it to MSFT the only solution.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-05-2010, 12:29 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syst3m View Post
Maybe I'm experiencing something else, but I'm really hoping it can be fixed with a firmware update. Sending it in for repairs is kind of out of the question for me, not in the US.
If you are in Canada or USA it's covered...agreed it will be a pain for you if not...you will have to have a place MS can send it to or perhaps if you call they might help you out if you agree to pay for shipping both ways or something...
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-05-2010, 12:33 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lem7 View Post
I'm scared because some say it takes 1+ month to get it repaired, others say it still have the same problem, and few say he never seen his Zune again after shipping it to MSFT... Is their like a MSFT store I can go to get my ZuneHD replaced or is shipping it to MSFT the only solution.
Do you have a zune original...I do(did) and when I sent mine back, once they received it they immediately sorted out a brand new one from China...it was fast and I did all the communication through email...

If you are in USA don't waste time...just send it in...I was thinking for about 2 months it was a firmware issue but since it was not happening to everyone this didn't make sense...my new one has not locked up once(knock on wood) and I use it all the time...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
freezing, locked, music, unlocked, zunehd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.