android
  #1  
Old 03-27-2010, 07:45 AM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Page New Game---Avoid version 1.01

this is my game so far


###home button exits secret###

###added unlockables###

###added new ball###

###fixed highscore###

###added new mode###

###added secret###

Progress

highscore-done
movement-done
bouncing-done
score-done
hittest-done
move levels-done
startscreen- done
themes-done
different modes-done
unlockables-done
title-


Instructions

tilt the screen to move you (the stickman) and avoid the smiley faces

hope u enjoy it
post ur highscore
i started lua a 2 weeks ago
Attached Images
File Type: png screenshot.png (85.6 KB, 460 views)
File Type: png screenshot2.png (79.6 KB, 434 views)
File Type: png screenshot3.png (57.2 KB, 486 views)
File Type: png screenshot4.png (61.3 KB, 459 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Avoid.zip (92.9 KB, 532 views)

Last edited by lsquish; 04-03-2010 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:35 PM
matihash matihash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

any pics?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:04 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Before I install in it on my Zen.. is this programmed for Firmware 1.10 or 1.12 ?

Looking at the code I would guess 1.10.. but I'm asking to be sure, and also for others to know beforehand.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:21 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

A screenshot would be nice Isquish And also, in future could you please [if possible] upload games/apps in a .zip archive? It seems to be the norm around here now...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:40 PM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett_val View Post
Before I install in it on my Zen.. is this programmed for Firmware 1.10 or 1.12 ?

Looking at the code I would guess 1.10.. but I'm asking to be sure, and also for others to know beforehand.
its in 1.10, anyway whats the difference between the two
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:54 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquish View Post
its in 1.10, anyway whats the difference between the two
Some commands for the accelerometer have changed in 1.12, so if it is made for 1.10 it may not work on the 1.12 firmware.
Though I payed it on my device... And I should have 1.12 firmware.
Are you sure it's made for 1.10?

Also, the character can go outside the screen on the bottom and left. You need to set the limit for maxX and maxY + the char width and height.

Also, have you seen the images I posted for your balls in the other thread?
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-27-2010, 01:58 PM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
Some commands for the accelerometer have changed in 1.12, so if it is made for 1.10 it may not work on the 1.12 firmware.
Though I payed it on my device... And I should have 1.12 firmware.
Are you sure it's made for 1.10?

Also, the character can go outside the screen on the bottom and left. You need to set the limit for maxX and maxY + the char width and height.

Also, have you seen the images I posted for your balls in the other thread?
Thanks, and yes i have seen the images and i will use
im going to have at the beggining a theme selection were u chose fireballs, aestoriods or smileys.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-27-2010, 02:24 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquish View Post
its in 1.10, anyway whats the difference between the two
I thought the difference was that this was for 1.10:
Code:
accelerometer.open() os.sleep(10)
if (accelerometer.set_datatype) then
accelerometer.set_datatype("all")
else
accelerometer.set_senddatatype("all")
end
accelerometer.set_samplerate(100)
and crashes 1.12 because you can't do the "if" part anymore..
So now with 1.12 this should work: (and does work on my Zen)

Code:
accelerometer.open() os.sleep(10)
accelerometer.set_datatype("all")
accelerometer.set_samplerate(100)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
Some commands for the accelerometer have changed in 1.12, so if it is made for 1.10 it may not work on the 1.12 firmware.
Though I payed it on my device... And I should have 1.12 firmware.
Are you sure it's made for 1.10?
But now I'm not sure anymore
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-31-2010, 01:18 PM
mustomax mustomax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Default

This game become greate every upgrade.
I noticed 2 bugs this time:
When you play,the 1st time,its ok.The you got out the application,then you go back to it and ther'es a bug...
Sometime,when you start the application,the game start alone at the 1st level (smileys)...
You should do one thing.when we press the "home",it would be good to go to the menu,and not "out" the application.
Great anyway!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-31-2010, 01:45 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Nice. It's got a few clipping errors where you can get it with for example the spaceship without losing, you should check the limitations and such.

Also, you don't need to have such a "flashy" thread name, it's just distracting from what's important.

When you feel that this app is past the beta stage and should be moved to finished games, please write it in the first post or post about it and one of us mods will move it, so you don't create a duplicate in the finished games section.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:49 AM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustomax View Post
This game become greate every upgrade.
I noticed 2 bugs this time:
When you play,the 1st time,its ok.The you got out the application,then you go back to it and ther'es a bug...
Sometime,when you start the application,the game start alone at the 1st level (smileys)...
You should do one thing.when we press the "home",it would be good to go to the menu,and not "out" the application.
Great anyway!
hmmm.... i thought i fixed the bug, ill have another look at it. and ill try to make it go back to the menu instead of exit(shouldn't be to hard)

habhome: do you mean by clippings that when you are touching a planet as a rocket it does nothing and if so which one of them, thanks




it would help alot if someone came up with a good name for the game, im thinking ballmania (but it still isnt that great a name)

Last edited by lsquish; 04-01-2010 at 04:09 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:59 AM
mustomax mustomax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Hi!
The 0.88 version is great! It's going to be one of the best games...
I noticed some bugs.
Sometime,the little man stay at the hight/left corner of the screen and don't move at all.
sometime,when we start the application,it goes directly to the end screen:"made by laurence"...
and once,when I loose,it took me out of the appilcation.
I think the 3 choice for the game(Free,Ground...) are great!Good job!!!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:36 AM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustomax View Post
Hi!
The 0.88 version is great! It's going to be one of the best games...
I noticed some bugs.
Sometime,the little man stay at the hight/left corner of the screen and don't move at all.
sometime,when we start the application,it goes directly to the end screen:"made by laurence"...
and once,when I loose,it took me out of the appilcation.
I think the 3 choice for the game(Free,Ground...) are great!Good job!!!

thanks for bringing the glitchs to my notice, i fixed them now............hopefully


do you have anything else that i coud put in e.g. another theme,mode
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:09 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquish View Post
habhome: do you mean by clippings that when you are touching a planet as a rocket it does nothing and if so which one of them, thanks
The bottom of the rocket can pass through a planet with a few pixels. I'm not sure what size planet it was though when it happened. It was the earth one anyway.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-01-2010, 10:15 AM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
The bottom of the rocket can pass through a planet with a few pixels. I'm not sure what size planet it was though when it happened. It was the earth one anyway.

ok, ive resized the image, hopefully it works better now. or i could be just the delay from the proccessor

Do you have any ideas for modes or themes
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-01-2010, 12:20 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

My next suggestion would rather be for you to experiment with animations, so the fireballs for example look like they're blazing at least a bit and so.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-01-2010, 01:56 PM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
My next suggestion would rather be for you to experiment with animations, so the fireballs for example look like they're blazing at least a bit and so.

animations :/
could prove very tricky because im not really the arty type.
If i pull it of though it will look epic.
So wish me luck
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-01-2010, 02:37 PM
mustomax mustomax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Default

It works very well now...
theme:
a plane,with horizontal missils...
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-01-2010, 02:58 PM
lsquish's Avatar
lsquish lsquish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustomax View Post
It works very well now...
theme:
a plane,with horizontal missils...
that would be cool, but i think a helicopter would be better because i wouldn't have to change the hit tests


as for the animation, my attempts have been (how can i put this) unsuccesful, do you think you could help out and animate them habhome or mustomax.

Since i am also working on my top secret uber-special feature. Which will be released when a get the animation and polish it of.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:29 PM
mustomax mustomax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Helicopter would be cool...
for the animation,I am not able to do it... Sorry...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.