android
  #1461  
Old 01-25-2012, 05:13 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,883
Default

What freezing when reading from the microsd do you mean? I can't remember ever experiencing that. If there's a specific problem you're having it's best to post details. That way the developers could look into what might be happening.

If it was a issue that occurred sometime in the past you could try the current build and see if it still occurs. Rockbox is continuously being improved and it's possible whatever the problem was has been fixed.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #1462  
Old 01-26-2012, 06:32 AM
dacari's Avatar
dacari dacari is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
What freezing when reading from the microsd do you mean? I can't remember ever experiencing that. If there's a specific problem you're having it's best to post details. That way the developers could look into what might be happening.
Yes I think it is/was a known problem using rockbox and playing from SDcard.
I don't know if it has been solved with the newer builts, I use a dfkt build from months ago which works perfectly but when I use the microSD it stops working or freezing after a while. I'll try one of this new builds if the problem persist.

My clip+ is 2Gb, maybe it is time to get a Zip with 8Gb
Reply With Quote

  #1463  
Old 01-26-2012, 11:39 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,883
Default

I've just looked at all your posts here and none of them are about having freezing problems with a Rockboxed Clip+. Did you report your problems on the Rockbox forums or the bug tracker? As I said if there's an issue it's best to try to get help with it by posting details rather than making assumptions. If no one knows your problem no one can help.

I've probably used or at least tested every build dfkt has posted and none of them have caused a problem since he stopped adding the old USB patch and that was a long time back. I posted that was a issue, fixed the file corruption problems it caused and haven't had a problem with one of his builds since.

There's no need to suffer in silence. No ones going to come down on you if all you're doing is reporting what's happening for you. There's been a lot of work done on the SD card side of things due at least in part to users reporting issues. I doubt any Rockbox developer will say that the results of the project are perfect. To continue to improve they need user feedback.

If you have a problem that can be duplicated in the future gather all the relevant information and conditions that cause it and report it. There's times when it's a bug and other times it's user error. If you let others know what's happening it's usually possible to determine where the problem lies and find if it's possible to set things right.
Reply With Quote

  #1464  
Old 01-26-2012, 05:16 PM
dacari's Avatar
dacari dacari is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Default

No, I didn't report the problem because I read this:
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?...&topic=25726.0
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,29151.0.html
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=28009.0

Now I see the problem should be some incompatibility with the card, although it works well with my galaxy players. I'll do some tests with new builds and others cards, anyway thank you very much skip252.
Reply With Quote

  #1465  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:54 PM
redsosis's Avatar
redsosis redsosis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
That's not a bug, that's a (very useful, IMO) feature. Pressing FFWD/REW short then long means folder skip. From the fine manual: http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...#x7-500004.3.1
ow..i see....
thankyou for the info...

btw, i like the new Meier version
Reply With Quote

  #1466  
Old 01-28-2012, 09:47 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Made a new theme...



Quote:
DFKT Minimum Clip v2

Minimal no-nonsense theme. Falls back to file/folder names when no metadata is present. Also includes base skin and FM radio interface. The "R" icon in the status bar is a Replaygain status indicator. Theme shows warnings when volume level is above 0dB, when sample rate isn't 44.1kHz, and when Replaygain is enabled but no Replaygain tags are available for the current track. Version: 2.02
http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?...=sansaclipplus
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #1467  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:47 PM
redsosis's Avatar
redsosis redsosis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

I've got a problem sometime if I connect my clip+ (in off mode) to PC/notebook.
It has messages on clip+:

Data abort
at 3002AE40
FSR 0x8
(domain 0, fault 8)
address 0x5CF66B62

And then I push select button, then they going to boot normally.

Is it okey for my clip+?
Any happen to you guys?
Reply With Quote

  #1468  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:50 PM
Tyrone F. Horneigh Tyrone F. Horneigh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsosis View Post
I've got a problem sometime if I connect my clip+ (in off mode) to PC/notebook.
It has messages on clip+:

Data abort
at 3002AE40
FSR 0x8
(domain 0, fault 8)
address 0x5CF66B62

And then I push select button, then they going to boot normally.

Is it okey for my clip+?
Any happen to you guys?
I actually saw this the other night on my Clip Zip. I had just added a few megs' worth of music to the SDHC card, and a song was filling the buffer when I loaded a .cfg file. I don't know if my hex values were the same, and only the most significant 6 bytes of the address were visible on the Zip's tiny display anyway.

When I tried to power down the player, it threw a different error with a slow strobing effect on the display (think of a sawtooth wave for brightness).

I had to reset the player by holding the power button down for 20 seconds or whatever.

The problem has not yet recurred, despite a few hours of use.
Reply With Quote

  #1469  
Old 02-07-2012, 05:55 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone F. Horneigh View Post
I actually saw this the other night on my Clip Zip.
I had seen that too, I am waiting for the postman to bring me an ipod nano 2g.

It should come in a few days and then I'll be able to finish the work on USB driver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone F. Horneigh View Post
I had to reset the player by holding the power button down for 20 seconds or whatever.
Just pressing one single button should reboot the player.
Reply With Quote

  #1470  
Old 02-13-2012, 10:29 PM
redsosis's Avatar
redsosis redsosis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone F. Horneigh View Post
When I tried to power down the player, it threw a different error with a slow strobing effect on the display (think of a sawtooth wave for brightness).

I had to reset the player by holding the power button down for 20 seconds or whatever.

The problem has not yet recurred, despite a few hours of use.
Same problem with me, now.
When I unplugged the clip (after I disconnect from PC with/without legal steps), it always freeze.
So I must holding the power button down for 20 seconds to get it completely off.
Reply With Quote

  #1471  
Old 02-15-2012, 04:28 AM
bonjurkes bonjurkes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Hello,

I have some questions with my brand new clip+

I am planning to install rockbox on it but which one should I use ?

There is one here : http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=63706

And another one is rockbox's official site. So I dont have idea which one is more stable or latest?

I didn't connect the clip+ to computer yet but was wondering if there is a way to get complete backup of system files on vanilla clip+ in case some thing may get broken in the future ?

And last question, should I check/apply if there is any new latest firmware for clip+ before installing rockbox, then apply it? Or just forget the firmware and install rockbox?
Reply With Quote

  #1472  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:32 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,883
Default

Unless you know what it is in a custom build you want I'd follow the installation directions in the manual or the first post in this thread. Either way gets the bootloader installed and the current build. Take the "read the manual" part seriously. It seems most of the issues I see people post about come from not reading and knowing what's expected behavior using the Rockbox firmware.

I haven't found overall stability to be an issue with any build for the Clip+ in quite a while. I typically use dfkt's build http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...postcount=1452 but that's for the Meier crossfeed as much as anything. If I get bored or see a feature that's been changed or added when I check the changes http://www.rockbox.org/since-4weeks.html I'll try the current build but stability hasn't changed for me with any of them I've tried.

Backing up the player is a matter of dragging the preloaded songs off if you want them. That's all that's useful on there. After that I use the SDFormatter one time to set the player memory for optimum performance and install Rockbox.


There's no need to do an update before installation.
Installing Rockbox updates the firmware to whichever version you use during installation.



Reply With Quote

  #1473  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:52 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Something to add to skip’s post is: keep an eye on the connection mode. For some reason it likes to switch to auto detect after FW upgrades and that sucks. You need to put it into MSC mode before you rockbox your player. Once rockboxed, I don't connect in the OF so I could care less about it.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #1474  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:17 PM
Dingo51 Dingo51 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Just recently Rockbox'd my wife's Clip+ and it's working out pretty well so far.

On the original Sansa firmware the device will switch back to the WPS right before the display turns off after inactivity but this does not happen in Rockbox. Is there a way to make it do that? I've read through the documentation and have gone through the settings but I haven't found anything on this.
Reply With Quote

  #1475  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:27 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,883
Default

Never heard of that behavior in Rockbox. It would seem that if you want it to be in the WPS, you would have it in the WPS. If you want it to be in the WPS when you boot again set that as your start screen.
Reply With Quote

  #1476  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:38 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

New patched build: 120221-bf4edb3M-sansaclipplus (FS#9305, FS#11304, FS#12075, Meier v4, channel swap, keymap) - dfkt

I changed my ugly Meier crossfeed hack to use the standard value of Bertrik's Meier v3 (7fff...) for "Meier 1" and the maximum value of the older Meier v2 (ffff...) for "Meier 2". [Diff]

Also changed the keymap a bit - while browsing lists, a short press on the power button brings you now back to the WPS (and menu + center stops playback while in lists). Also removed the annoying pitch screen - it was driving me crazy when it gets pressed in my pocket by accident, and I never use it. [Diff]
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #1477  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:54 PM
Dingo51 Dingo51 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

My wife uses the Clip+ primarily in her car and likes to skip tracks often. When she's driving she doesn't want to have to look at the Sansa to skip a track. This is fine if the device was always on the WPS but sometimes, if she's at a stop light for example, she will browse through the database, settings, etc and will not have time to go back to the WPS before having to drive again.

I know it's a bit of an odd use case but that's how she likes to use it. I have set the start screen to be the WPS but that would require a power off/on every time right? Again, I mainly ask because the original Sansa firmware does revert back to the WPS just before turning off the display from inactivity and she has gotten use to that.
Reply With Quote

  #1478  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:55 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Read my post right above yours...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #1479  
Old 02-21-2012, 11:28 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,883
Default

I like this return to WPS. Best so far of at least a half dozen I've tried. A tap on the power button gets me right to where I have the most control. Sweet. I haven't had a chance to test it out while I'm actually on the move but this seems like it's going to make blind, one hand operation even easier.

There was a pitch screen? Guess if I hardly knew it was there I'm not going to miss it.
Reply With Quote

  #1480  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Thanks for your feedback, Skip. I just submitted the patch to the tracker... let's hope it goes through.

http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/12596
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.