android
  #1161  
Old 12-14-2010, 09:16 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Here's two new builds, one with the older v2 Meier crossfeed, one with the new v3. Personally I find the v3 to be a bit too subtle and somewhat prefer the more noticeable v2 crossfeed. You can judge for yourself.

Both builds have USB enabled, and next to the usual patches I added a very well thought out new one, a persistent sleep timer: FS#11042.

Version with Meier v2 crossfeed: http://www.mediafire.com/?97f7ixl51uqxt23
Version with Meier v3 crossfeed: http://www.mediafire.com/?k2dt7ek3w2aznkg

The only difference between these two builds, v2 vs. v3, is:

Code:
+    coef1 = (0xffffffff/NATIVE_FREQUENCY) * 2128;   /* 1 / (F.Rforward.C) */
+    coef2 = (0xffffffff/NATIVE_FREQUENCY) * 1000;   /* 1 / (F.Rcross.C) */
Code:
+    coef1 = (0x7fffffff/NATIVE_FREQUENCY) * 2128;   /* 1 / (F.Rforward.C) */
+    coef2 = (0x7fffffff/NATIVE_FREQUENCY) * 1000;   /* 1 / (F.Rcross.C) */
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #1162  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:37 AM
henriquemaia's Avatar
henriquemaia henriquemaia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks dfkt. I'll be testing it. (v2, the v3 gave me an error while downloading it - file corrupted).

One question: I have selected "no" on the Backlight on Volume Change option, but the backlight still works when I change the volume. Why is that?

Last edited by henriquemaia; 12-14-2010 at 10:40 AM. Reason: added question
Reply With Quote

  #1163  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:51 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Check if you see the line "backlight on volume change: off" in your config.cfg. It's working fine for me.

As for the v3 version - I see 6 downloads for it so far, but Mediafire seems to have issues at the moment. Maybe try again later.
Reply With Quote

  #1164  
Old 12-14-2010, 11:58 AM
ted209 ted209 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henriquemaia View Post
Thanks dfkt. I'll be testing it. (v2, the v3 gave me an error while downloading it - file corrupted).

One question: I have selected "no" on the Backlight on Volume Change option, but the backlight still works when I change the volume. Why is that?
Also, I noticed that the "no backlight on volume change" patch doesn't work for the radio.
Reply With Quote

  #1165  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:08 PM
henriquemaia's Avatar
henriquemaia henriquemaia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Check if you see the line "backlight on volume change: off" in your config.cfg. It's working fine for me.

As for the v3 version - I see 6 downloads for it so far, but Mediafire seems to have issues at the moment. Maybe try again later.
Thanks for reminding me of checking that. I 've done that and the settings were ok. I then proceeded to delete my previous installation of Rockbox and installed your build from scratch; now the backlight on volume change is working as expected (not on radio, though, as ted209 pointed out).

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote

  #1166  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:33 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I never use the radio. Did the backlight patch work for it on older build versions, either mine or Idroy's? (The patch applied fine, maybe the radio code has changed?)

Added an alternative download for v3 to my post above.
Reply With Quote

  #1167  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:45 PM
ted209 ted209 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Default

The backlight patch has never worked for radio on the clip+ for me - I don't think it's a recent change.
Reply With Quote

  #1168  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:47 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Then I would suggest you ask the developer/maintainer of the backlight patch to add that function to the radio screen as well: http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/9305
Reply With Quote

  #1169  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:34 AM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

i should get another clip+ as backup for my fuze(my previous clip+ is dead already)..seems like rb is very well developed on this too especially with those patches
Reply With Quote

  #1170  
Old 12-16-2010, 05:18 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Here's two new builds, one with the older v2 Meier crossfeed, one with the new v3. Personally I find the v3 to be a bit too subtle and somewhat prefer the more noticeable v2 crossfeed. You can judge for yourself.

Both builds have USB enabled, and next to the usual patches I added a very well thought out new one, a persistent sleep timer: FS#11042.

Version with Meier v2 crossfeed: http://www.mediafire.com/?97f7ixl51uqxt23
Version with Meier v3 crossfeed: http://www.mediafire.com/?k2dt7ek3w2aznkg
*snip*
Well, I installed the Meier v3 version. The USB patch works just as well as it did on Idroy's older build, as I thought it would. The crossfeed I'll have to play with at some point.

I don't like the standard Rockbox x-feed, at least at the default settings....made everything sound unnatural. Hendrix's Electric Ladyland,when I tried it a while back, I know the parts where the sound is meant to pan from side to side, and the x-feed made it sound more like a mono recording to me, and it throws a veil over the sound. Perhaps this can be cured somewhat by tweaking, I don't know. I've never tried it again after that day....lol. So maybe the Meier version will be more appealing to me.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 12-20-2010 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #1171  
Old 12-16-2010, 07:42 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

I got my clip+ 4gb w/a 32gb microSD card up and running w/RB today,...DAMN!!! I've really been missing more than I realized. Thanks to the RB clip+ DEVS, they know their shiit!!!

Reply With Quote

  #1172  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:41 PM
x3dnd3x's Avatar
x3dnd3x x3dnd3x is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 9
Default

Rockboxed Clip+ can't read external micro sd ? I tried loading a 16gb micro sd into it and it just hanged . It happens everytime i try .
__________________
Women makes Men bastards
Reply With Quote

  #1173  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:52 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I got my clip+ 4gb w/a 32gb microSD card up and running w/RB today,...DAMN!!! I've really been missing more than I realized. Thanks to the RB clip+ DEVS, they know their shiit!!!

Told ya it was awesome!
Attached Images
File Type: gif smiley-signs013.gif (1.4 KB, 199 views)
File Type: gif smiley-signs011.gif (576 Bytes, 198 views)
File Type: gif new_russian.gif (7.8 KB, 204 views)
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #1174  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:02 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,611
Default

Hey,
I guess it's my first post in the Sansa forum
I really like my new rockboxed clip+ but there is something really annoying to me: is it possible to keep a quick press on the power button from stopping the playback when I'm on the WPS and when I exit an application/game? I often press it not intentionally
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 12-17-2010 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #1175  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:15 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x3dnd3x View Post
Rockboxed Clip+ can't read external micro sd ? I tried loading a 16gb micro sd into it and it just hanged . It happens everytime i try .
Wait till it finishes the initial scan, as it takes quite awhile. I have a 32gb microSD card in it, took a LOOOOONNNNGGGGG time to scan. Works perfectly now.
Reply With Quote

  #1176  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:10 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Hey,
I guess it's my first post in the Sansa forum
I really like my new rockboxed clip+ but there is something really annoying to me: is it possible to keep a quick press on the power button from stopping the playback when I'm on the WPS and when I exit an application/game? I often press it not intentionally
Welcome to ABi Rockbox Clip+ subforum!

There is a manual. Highly recommended for new users. There's even a section on the WPS key controls. That's the only lock function AFAIK. Noobs!

Sorry, I just had to say it. The Home+Select button combo is what locks the player in the WPS. I believe thats the only lock function in Rockbox. I had to look that up as I never find the need to lock mine.

BTW, excellent work in the Samsung subforum. You keep it well organized and very informative. Anyone that needs information on their Samsung player has an great place to come for information and news. I'm particularly struck by your honesty both in your reviews and opinions of the state of usefulness of the features and firmwares of the players. I don't own a Samsung DAP but if I ever get one I know where to look for solid, up to date information.
Reply With Quote

  #1177  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:21 AM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Hey,
I guess it's my first post in the Sansa forum
I really like my new rockboxed clip+ but there is something really annoying to me: is it possible to keep a quick press on the power button from stopping the playback when I'm on the WPS and when I exit an application/game? I often press it not intentionally
If you're after disabling that without using the keylock, it would be a trivial patch (commenting out a single line, I think...)
Reply With Quote

  #1178  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:36 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Maybe it'll work better on your Win7 machine than it did on my Vista OS. I wound up with corrupted files quite a bit when it didn't connect properly. It cleared up when I went back to dfkt's build with just the Meier crossfeed.
I did get the prompt from Windows earlier this morning suggesting I scan the filesystem for errors.....this with dfkt's Meier build with the USB patch. Choosing the option to scan and repair seemed to fix things so far. If it continues to happen, I may go back to 3.7.1, but I'll give it a few more days to be sure.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #1179  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:44 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,611
Default

@skip252: thanks, I've always tried to avoid the fanboy dark side and remain as objective as possible
Actually I already downloaded and read (quickly) the 200 pages manual

But as Confuseling said, what I'm actually looking for is to disable the short press on the power button without locking the device.
It's just that for example, when I'm on the WPS I often press "power" instead of "home" or when I play a game, I press "power" to exit the game and come back to the games list, I press "power" again to come back to the plugins list and then "power" again to come back to the home but then it also stops the playback and I hate that^^
But I'm not really able to make a patch for that if it is the only solution
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #1180  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:30 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,415
Default

I had assumed that you had read the manual, that's why my little attempt at humor. I see what you mean as far as the key press combos taking some getting used to. It took me a bit to get them memorized but once the internal logic worked it's way into my fingers I stopped thinking about it. It was certainly less work than trying to learn how to write a patch.

saratoga recently posted a link to an updated build environment. I think I'll spend some of these cold winter nights trying to learn how to do that. Writing a patch may be beyond me right now but applying one doesn't seem too complex according to the directions I've read. Only one way to find out.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.