android
  #961  
Old 10-02-2010, 07:05 AM
Erik Olson Erik Olson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default crossfeed, eq don't work?

Stoopid question, and apologies in advance if I missed a reply anywhere. I bought a clip+ a few weeks ago for the sole purpose of Rockboxing it. It's great, exactly what I've always wanted: gapless playback, replay gain, crossfading... all the things I formerly had to dedicate a laptop running foobar2000 to. Thanks to the 48 pages of posts, it took me 2 minutes to be up and running.

So I started poking around crossfeed, and noticed seems to not actually do anything when I enable it. I thought it might just be my ears not catching subtle nuances, but it REALLY doesn't seem to do anything. It looks like the EQ is also not doing anything either when I change the settings. Same with stereo width -- 0% seems to be same as 100%. On the other hand, settings such as karaoke mode are clearly working.

So, is this a known issue? Maybe only with clip+?

Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #962  
Old 10-02-2010, 08:19 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,241
Default

Welcome to ABI

All of the sound enhancements you list are working for me on all my Rockboxed players including the Clip+. You may be having setup issues. Try making adjustments with the help of the manual. They have the little things documented there like how to to activate stereo width,
Quote:
6.6 Stereo Width

Stereo width allows you to manually specify the effect that is applied when the Channels setting is set to “custom. All values below 100% will progressively mix the contents of one channel into the other. This has the effect of gradually centering the stereo image, until you have monophonic sound at 0%. Values above 100% will progressively remove components in one channel that is also present in the other. This has the effect of widening the stereo field. A value of 100% will leave the stereo field unaltered.
as an example. Getting things set right is going to take some reading and experimentation.

Some of the effect like crossfeed can be subtle but definite. A lot of what you hear will depend on a number of factors including headphones. Most of them won't be heard much with the stock earbuds. When I use better headphones crossfeed goes from subtle to essential. Most of the older hardpanned Jazz I listen to will come from mostly one earpiece without crossfeed. The effect is less obvious but still very pleasing with even the most modern of music properly adjusted.

With a decent set of headphones and some time spent with the manual you should be able to shape your sound settings to suit yourself nicely.
Reply With Quote

  #963  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:30 PM
Erik Olson Erik Olson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I was willing to accept that maybe I couldn't hear the subtleties of flipping crossfeed on and off, but I could not accept setting the stereo width to 0% and not getting mono sound. In terms of setup, I did follow the directions on the front page here, and actually read through about 75% of the manual. Ah well. Thanks for the pointer!

Last edited by Erik Olson; 10-05-2010 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #964  
Old 10-05-2010, 06:24 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Olson View Post
(...) It looks like the EQ is also not doing anything either when I change the settings. (...)
You also have to enable the EQ before the settings take effect.
__________________
this is a link to my personal homepage which I haven't
Reply With Quote

  #965  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:02 PM
yatsunil yatsunil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Olson View Post
I was willing to accept that maybe I couldn't hear the subtleties of flipping crossfeed on and off, but I could not accept setting the stereo width to 0% and not getting mono sound. In terms of setup, I did follow the directions on the front page here, and actually read through about 75% of the manual. Ah well. Thanks for the pointer!
I'm a new Clip+ user but I've noticed that each time I change the stereo width, I have to go back to the equalizer setting to "enable" equalizer to hear the changes. Also what skip252 said - Channels setting must be set to "custom" first to enable stereo width changes.

I'm also finding that I prefer to have Crossfeed set to "Off" even though most threads on this forum talk about how great crossfeed is Am I the only strange one?
Reply With Quote

  #966  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:32 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yatsunil View Post
I'm a new Clip+ user but I've noticed that each time I change the stereo width, I have to go back to the equalizer setting to "enable" equalizer to hear the changes. Also what skip252 said - Channels setting must be set to "custom" first to enable stereo width changes.

I'm also finding that I prefer to have Crossfeed set to "Off" even though most threads on this forum talk about how great crossfeed is Am I the only strange one?
No, you're not.....I don't like the crossfeed either.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #967  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:36 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default

No CF for me either...
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

  #968  
Old 10-05-2010, 11:00 PM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

don't like CF too!
Reply With Quote

  #969  
Old 10-06-2010, 02:58 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Diehards
Reply With Quote

  #970  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:29 AM
buzzo buzzo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Have you guys tried the new Meier crossfeed patch (included in dfkt's build)? I can't live without it now and I also was not very sure about crossfeed before.
Reply With Quote

  #971  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:41 AM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

can that be patched on the fuze v1?it's what i mainly use now and i'm such a noob when it comes to programming and such
Reply With Quote

  #972  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:42 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The Meier implementation sure sounds great to my ears as well. Maybe Bertrik is going to make it adjustable (according to the tracker page), but I don't think that's absolutely necessary.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #973  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:38 AM
buzzo buzzo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah, no more fiddling needed, I think I'm set
Reply With Quote

  #974  
Old 10-06-2010, 11:04 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Heres a custom build I made for my player that has frequency scaling enabled. It seems to work for me, but it may have stability issues. If its stable, I want to enable frequency scaling in the main build since it'll improve battery life.

http://duke.edu/~mgg6/rockbox/rockbo...s-frequency.7z
Reply With Quote

  #975  
Old 10-06-2010, 11:35 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,241
Default

Thanks for sharing. I'll get it loaded now and report here one way or the other about any stability issues. Unless you would like me to post it somewhere else?
Reply With Quote

  #976  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:33 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Here is fine. Just curious if anything in particular breaks.
Reply With Quote

  #977  
Old 10-06-2010, 03:22 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,241
Default

I've been taking it through all it's paces with pretty good results. Playback on all the formats I use, .ogg, .mp3 and .wma has worked fine for the few hours I've been using this build. Any changes to my settings have worked fine. The few FLAC and .m4a files tested worked fine too.

Got 2 data aborts. One when resuming playback after powering down. The playback had been paused when I powered down.
Code:
Data abort at 30027510
FRS 0x8
Domain 0, fault 8
Address
0x88023013
The other occurred when loading a .config file. Playback was active at the time.
Code:
Data abort at 30027510
FRS 0x8
Domain 0, fault 8
Address
0x61023018
Following the exact same procedures neither one will repeat. I used chkdsk /f /r to check the disks for errors. None were found. I'm charging it for a battery bench now.
Reply With Quote

  #978  
Old 10-06-2010, 08:58 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzo View Post
Have you guys tried the new Meier crossfeed patch (included in dfkt's build)? I can't live without it now and I also was not very sure about crossfeed before.
I only use it when the instruments seem to hardpanned to one side..
That only happens with some older tracks

Other than that its off.
Anyone have any EQ settings for MS1 headphones...
TANJ
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

  #979  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:43 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TANJENT View Post
I only use it when the instruments seem to hardpanned to one side..
That only happens with some older tracks

Other than that its off.
Anyone have any EQ settings for MS1 headphones...
TANJ
Whatever sounds right to you?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #980  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:49 PM
yatsunil yatsunil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Whatever sounds right to you?
Just a couple of days on this forum only but I think that's the best advice I've heard!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.