android
  #661  
Old 06-21-2010, 06:37 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snarko View Post
I was wondering, can the playback speed be simply changed to 101.1% by default in the affected Sansa players' builds, if the method of altering the PLL clock causes other problems?
No, the algorithm to change pitch is lossy afaik, if you can't stand a 1% difference you can resample your files to another frequency (and afaik resampling is lossy too)

EDIT: i think you can change the playback speed in your own config however, check the manual for details
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #662  
Old 06-21-2010, 08:34 PM
snarko snarko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

EDIT: i think you can change the playback speed in your own config however, check the manual for details[/QUOTE]

Not in the config that I can see, but the pitch setting is saved in playlists and bookmarks. That said, I imagine it uses a bit more battery and also may not be quite as high quality as PPHS or SSRC, so it's probably best to just resample to 48kHz upon file creation if it really matters to you (thankfully I'm converting from self-ripped FLAC files).
Reply With Quote

  #663  
Old 06-23-2010, 06:33 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Here's a build with saratoga's v4 volume patch, markun's HQ patch, bertrik's clock/samplerate/speed fix (that obviously breaks other things, but I have no SD card, it works for me): http://www.mediafire.com/?jnynfmiannj

Here's the diff from svn, for anyone interested: http://pastie.org/1016546
Reply With Quote

  #664  
Old 06-23-2010, 10:33 PM
Hinrik Hinrik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Here's a build with saratoga's v4 volume patch, markun's HQ patch, bertrik's clock/samplerate/speed fix (that obviously breaks other things, but I have no SD card, it works for me): http://www.mediafire.com/?jnynfmiannj
markun's HQ patch? I didn't see that get mentioned elsewhere in this thread. What does it do?
Reply With Quote

  #665  
Old 06-23-2010, 10:57 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Changes some settings on the DAC. dfkt's tests showed basically no change in output though.
Reply With Quote

  #666  
Old 06-24-2010, 03:41 AM
LFF LFF is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Has DFTK's r26535M-100603-sansaclipplus (old keymap, volume 0x1b) been bettered?

It's what I have been using and it's been working perfectly since he posted it.
Reply With Quote

  #667  
Old 06-24-2010, 04:52 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

AFAIK all the patches dfkt applied should be in current builds now
Reply With Quote

  #668  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:27 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The clock fix doesn't seem to be in SVN - I just checked the latest build and a 1000Hz sine plays at 989Hz, as before.

It seems this line from bertrik's patch isn't in SVN:
Code:
#define AS3525_MCLK_SEL          AS3525_CLK_PLLB
It's still PLLA, as before.

When I change PLLA to PLLB, it plays at the more correct 1000.4Hz.
Reply With Quote

  #669  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:28 AM
Nuntius's Avatar
Nuntius Nuntius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
AFAIK all the patches dfkt applied should be in current builds now
So if I only use RButil, I'll get all the latest changes?

EDIT: Got it, that's great!

Last edited by Nuntius; 06-24-2010 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #670  
Old 06-24-2010, 04:15 PM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

Has anyone noticed that Doom is now compiled on the Clip+ version? Amazing. I'm sure none of the developers see this as 'the point of it all', and indeed I don't know whether it'll ever really end up playable (the graphics at the moment are... problematic), but this is nevertheless one of those 'Wow!' moments to a layman. Great, eye-catching PR both for Rockbox and the open source development model as well.

I'm reminded of the time when the pace of technological advance first really hit me. Our family bought a new washing machine, and my dad, upon reading the instructions, told me that it had a faster clock speed than our not long retired first computer (an Amiga 500).

Crazy world...

[we never did get around to installing Doom on it though...]

Last edited by Confuseling; 06-24-2010 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #671  
Old 06-24-2010, 05:54 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

On the amiga or on the washing machine ?
Reply With Quote

  #672  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:43 PM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

At least the washing machine had internal storage...

ETA-

In fact a washing machine that ran like an A500 would've been a nightmare. You'd have had to put a sock in, watch it spin round twice, take it out. Put the other sock in, another two spins, take it out. First sock back in... and so on, for about four days.

Consequence of only having 512k of ram. Probably just about enough to run a can-opener these days...

[sorry for off-topicness... ]

Last edited by Confuseling; 06-24-2010 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #673  
Old 06-25-2010, 02:23 AM
andrew9292 andrew9292 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Here's a build with saratoga's v4 volume patch, markun's HQ patch, bertrik's clock/samplerate/speed fix (that obviously breaks other things, but I have no SD card, it works for me): http://www.mediafire.com/?jnynfmiannj

Here's the diff from svn, for anyone interested: http://pastie.org/1016546
thks so much! do update us (end users) with the latest builds with the volume and clockrate fix ; ) or stuff that improves audio accuracy/quality ; )

i will be posting updates on rockbox at http://forum.lowyat.net/Audiophiles (sansa clip/+ thread), with credits to this forum and mentioned developers, will be emphasizing on Sound Quality and Stability

Last edited by andrew9292; 06-25-2010 at 02:52 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #674  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:01 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Here's a build with saratoga's v4 volume patch, markun's HQ patch, bertrik's clock/samplerate/speed fix (that obviously breaks other things, but I have no SD card, it works for me): http://www.mediafire.com/?jnynfmiannj

Here's the diff from svn, for anyone interested: http://pastie.org/1016546
This build seems to be stable on my Clip+ and no problems so far using the SDcard too


Art
Reply With Quote

  #675  
Old 06-27-2010, 05:22 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
The clock fix doesn't seem to be in SVN - I just checked the latest build and a 1000Hz sine plays at 989Hz, as before.

It seems this line from bertrik's patch isn't in SVN:
Code:
#define AS3525_MCLK_SEL          AS3525_CLK_PLLB
It's still PLLA, as before.

When I change PLLA to PLLB, it plays at the more correct 1000.4Hz.
I did a battery benchmark with and without PLLB enabled. As I understand it, enabling PLLB should use more power, but I got the same run time out of the Clip+ that way (well, slightly better even). 15h33m with PLLA, 15h40m with PLLB. Full results here: http://www.mediafire.com/?z4yy2yyyliy
Reply With Quote

  #676  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:49 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I just finished writing, directing, and producing a glorious masterpiece about Rockbox's most useful feature:

Reply With Quote

  #677  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:12 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

Now, one with a Clip V2 should be able to use this same bootloader and install process right?

I was helping my brother-in-law and we were have problems.
Reply With Quote

  #678  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:16 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Here is the thread about Clipv2 Rockbox: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=53687

The Clipv2 has different hardware, so you need a different bootloader and firmware build. Installation steps are the same as with the Clip+ of course. It's also supported by Rockbox Utility, a fully automatic install.
Reply With Quote

  #679  
Old 06-27-2010, 10:16 AM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

i can't seem to make doom run on my clip+..read the manual,tried different things but to no avail i'm confused
Reply With Quote

  #680  
Old 06-27-2010, 10:56 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

All the info is there. It's really easy getting it to run: http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/PluginDoom
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.