android
  #601  
Old 06-13-2010, 03:43 PM
Hinrik Hinrik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiang View Post
Hey guys! I've made a new theme, based on the "literal" theme. I just changed the positions and the font, so that the unicode font "sazanami-mincho-10" fits perfectly. It works with all clips (v1,v1, clip +) You can download it from: http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?target=sansaclipv2



Cool. Nice to see someone using/modifying my theme.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #602  
Old 06-13-2010, 05:36 PM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

ETA - Solved, see ETA below.

Is the text viewer plugin broken for everyone? Opening a simple test file (on dfkt's latest build) yields;

Quote:
Data abort
at 308009F4
FSR 0x8
(domain 0, fault 8)
address 0x62BA4A5F
I notice; http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/11399

This makes me sad - I wanted to be able to use my Clip+ for a holiday phrasebook. Are there any plugins, third party or otherwise, known to work for reading text? No bells/whistles/precompiled binaries required at all?

P.S. Another vote for the oppressed two-finger-key-lock minority!

-ETA-

This post points out that the text editor and viewer are different plugins... and the editor does work.

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=25070.0

I felt moved to write "Don't Panic" on the back of my clip in celebration - Rockboxed it's the closest thing to a hitch hikers' guide I've yet laid my hands on...

Last edited by Confuseling; 06-14-2010 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #603  
Old 06-15-2010, 08:17 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confuseling View Post
I felt moved to write "Don't Panic" on the back of my clip in celebration - Rockboxed it's the closest thing to a hitch hikers' guide I've yet laid my hands on...
Hahaha, I remember putting the "Don't Panic" wallpaper on my old Rockboxed iAudio X5.


Art
Reply With Quote

  #604  
Old 06-16-2010, 01:04 AM
pwib pwib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiang View Post
Hey guys! I've made a new theme, based on the "literal" theme. I just changed the positions and the font, so that the unicode font "sazanami-mincho-10" fits perfectly. It works with all clips (v1,v1, clip +) You can download it from: http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?target=sansaclipv2


how could I install this theme? it's important to me that have many asian songs with asian font.
Reply With Quote

  #605  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:09 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwib View Post
how could I install this theme? ...
Unzip it to the root directory, the zip file contains the directory structure needed to put the theme components in the right place.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #606  
Old 06-16-2010, 08:10 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwib View Post
how could I install this theme? it's important to me that have many asian songs with asian font.
Read the manual.
Reply With Quote

  #607  
Old 06-16-2010, 08:14 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

Dfkt,

On your volume settings, at right about -32 it is quit quiet, but at -31 there is quit a boost in volume. Is that the way it is supposed to be?

I am not complaining just wondering if that is what it is supposed to be.

thanks
Reply With Quote

  #608  
Old 06-16-2010, 08:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Clipster, I noticed that too - actually it's an anomaly between volume levels -32 to -26. I notice it even more since I have pan/balance enabled, and in that volume range the pan/balance shifts around as well, next to the larger jump in volume.

I just made a new build with Saratoga's way of altering the volume level, and it has smooth transitions in that volume area - but I think it's not as loud as the other two variants, suggested by Funman and Timar. I will have to test that to be sure.

Actually, Timar's post I linked above contradicts Saratoga's patch. Can anyone clarify the situation - which is the "most proper" way of altering the volume?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #609  
Old 06-16-2010, 09:47 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Here's the results, comparing the three different ways of altering the volume level (and the default build as well).

RMAA results (0dB, 16 Ohm): http://rmaa.elektrokrishna.com/Temp/...comparison.htm

Volume comparison:

Code:
Funman		 -9.9dB
Timar		-10.1dB
Default		-16.1dB
Saratoga	-17.2dB
Funman's and Timar's variants achieve pretty much the same results. Saratoga's patch doesn't increase volume compared to the default build, it's actually a bit quieter. Maybe because more volume gets subtracted than in the other variants (hph_r = vol_r - 0x1b; hph_l = vol_l - 0x1b)?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #610  
Old 06-16-2010, 09:56 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

So, you would suggest that Funman's version might be the way to go, if i want the greatest volume level adjustment?
Reply With Quote

  #611  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:04 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The Timar and Funman versions are equally loud, the 0.2dB difference is random and negligible, since I recorded white noise over an analog out/input. The difference is that with the way Funman suggested altering the volume, the jump in volume and pan/balance is now between -40 to -35dB, contrary to the Timar-version I posted before.

Here's a new build with the Funman-volume setting: http://www.mediafire.com/?jyo1mj5z2jm
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #612  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:07 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

Hey thanks.

I truly appreciate yours and everyone's knowledge and abilities in this.
Reply With Quote

  #613  
Old 06-16-2010, 01:25 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

the as3527 datasheet might be helpful on this topic, the audio registers description is pretty much similar to what is found in the as3543 chip present in the clip+/clipv2/fuzev2.

I have the as3543 datasheet too but I told AustriaMicroSystems that I would keep it private so I can't redistribute it, but if you need something which isn't described in the rockbox source code feel free to ask me or other rockbox developers as they have this document.
Reply With Quote

  #614  
Old 06-16-2010, 02:24 PM
oldschool's Avatar
oldschool oldschool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 7
Default

So is the so-called funman version this?:

Quote:
If you want to change your rockbox build, edit firmware/drivers/audio/as3514.c function audiohw_set_master_vol and change "mix_r = 0x16" and "mix_l = 0x16" into any number. The value ranges from 0 (minimum volume) to 0x1f (31, maximum volume).
0x1b seems to be preferred here. But isn't that the same as in saratoga's version, i.e.:
Quote:
+ if (vol_r <= 0x1b) {
+ mix_r = vol_r;
+ hph_r = 0;
+ } else {
+ mix_r = 0x1b;
+ hph_r = vol_r - 0x1b;
+ }
+
+ if (vol_l <= 0x1b) {
+ mix_l = vol_l;
+ hph_l = 0;
+ } else {
+ mix_l = 0x1b;
+ hph_l = vol_l - 0x1b;
+ }
+#else /* lets leave the AS3514 alone*/
if (vol_r <= 0x16) {
mix_r = vol_r;
hph_r = 0;
@@ -266,7 +285,8 @@
} else {
mix_l = 0x16;

hph_l = vol_l - 0x16;
Can somebody post the full code for funman's?

Btw very happy to join the Rockbox boat
Reply With Quote

  #615  
Old 06-16-2010, 02:35 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It's all there, if you care to actually read the posts.

Funman suggested to only change the mix_l and mix_r levels, and leave the other instances of 0x16 alone.

Timar suggested to also change the two if() conditions to 0x1b, besides the mix_l/r levels.

Saratoga changed all instances of 0x16 to 0x1b.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #616  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:15 PM
oldschool's Avatar
oldschool oldschool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the clarification, much appreciated!
Reply With Quote

  #617  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:42 PM
sunami88's Avatar
sunami88 sunami88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 98
Default

Not so quick question about patches;
i) Since I own a Clip+ and a FuzeV2, if I patch the higher volume in for the Clip+ would it affect my FuzeV2 as well?

ii) Would that be preferred? Since they are basically the same guts, does that mean that the Fuze "needs"* to have the volume boosted to 0x1b as well?

iii) Also, once a file is patched does it stay that way until that file is updated on the svn, or does it revert back to the copy that's on the svn every time I run svn update?

Thanks for the info. It's not something I've seen in the wiki.


* I get that it doesn't necessarily need to be patched, but I would like the volume to be louder for the bus etc.
__________________
=Players in use=
Sansa FuzeV2 (8 + 16 gigs) [RB]|Sansa Clip+ (4 + 8 gigs) [RB]
=Headphones in use=
SoundMagic PL50|SoundMagic PL30|Bang&Olufsen Form 2
Reply With Quote

  #618  
Old 06-16-2010, 04:22 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

SVN update doesn't undo local changes, but if someone changes the driver in SVN and you change it locally, svn up will fail until you revert the changes.

The Clip+ and Fuzev2 both use this driver, as do a lot of other targets, so you'll be changing things for all the Sansas and probably some other brands too.
Reply With Quote

  #619  
Old 06-16-2010, 09:00 PM
TackyTiger's Avatar
TackyTiger TackyTiger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Airstrip One
Posts: 161
Default

I've uploaded a patch to Flyspray that includes only Funman's suggested changes to mix_(l|r) (using Timar's value 0x1b) and Saratoga's "if CONFIG_CPU == AS3525v2" condition;

http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/11364

Looking through the firmware\export\config files, it would appear that the only targets with "#define CONFIG_CPU AS3525v2" are Sansa Clip+, Clip V2 & Fuze V2. I only own a Clip+, so couldn't check the affect on other targets.

Edit: It seems the tabs got stripped from the gain results on Flyspray, here they are with spaces instead;
Code:
                      Peak  Average
                 Amplitude      RMS
Original WAV             0    -9.42
Original Firmware     -5.6   -16.71
Trunk (r26873)      -10.36  -21.515
All 0x1b            -11.64   -22.89
mix_lr 0x1b         -4.415  -15.395

Last edited by TackyTiger; 06-16-2010 at 09:09 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #620  
Old 06-16-2010, 09:20 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

To be perfectly clear, I didn't commit Timar's patch because it screws up the volume levels. Max volume is fine, but middle volumes are not. I fixed that issue in my patch, but broke something else as he explained in an email to me (which I probably should have put on the patch tracker so everyone knew about it). What actually need to happen is that every volume level needs to be decreased by 6dB, not just chopping off the top 6dB like I did, or pulling out 6dB in the middle like Timar did.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.