android
  #481  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:52 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLipster View Post
when you say root, you mean?
The new drive letter corresponding to the player when plugged in msc mode (for example “f” sansa drive).

*Disclaimer: if you don't know what you are doing, be careful, you can brick your player*
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #482  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:54 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

In the future, if you find a computer word you haven't heard before, wikipedia is a great resource:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Root_directory
Reply With Quote

  #483  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:05 PM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

I did that. Extracted both files to the drive that the clip+ is associated with. I did get the question if I wanted to duplicate clppa file, I choose no, keep the newest one. Do I need to have two of them one my clip+?
Reply With Quote

  #484  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:19 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLipster View Post
I did that. Extracted both files to the drive that the clip+ is associated with.
Obviously not correctly though, since the files didn't end up where you meant to put them. Double check what ended up where.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLipster View Post
I did get the question if I wanted to duplicate clppa file, I choose no, keep the newest one. Do I need to have two of them one my clip+?
Well you can't have two files with the same name in the same place, so thats not a concern. More importantly, why is that file there at all? When you flashed your clip that file was deleted. Did you copy another one there afterwards? I recommend not doing that. Each time you flash a new sandisk firmware to your clip theres some small risk it could break. You shouldn't do it for no reason.
Reply With Quote

  #485  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:20 PM
normally normally is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamnine View Post
It's called YellowBarDynamic - it changes to show other information also ie playlist, battery level etc. I like it because it shows the number of times I've played a track.
As a new member here and a very recent convert to Rockbox, I just have to say how brilliant it is on the Clip+ and that YellowBarDynamic theme is great - many thanks to everyone involved, I am really grateful!
Reply With Quote

  #486  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:42 PM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

I Did it!!! Yippee!
Reply With Quote

  #487  
Old 05-27-2010, 09:08 AM
odigg odigg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 134
Default

I just got a Clip+ and Rockboxed it. It's crashed a few times as I've clicked around the menus, but overall it's fairly stable for an "unstable" release.

I've been waiting for a good EQ for a long time. The EQ really solves the "I need another headphone" problem for me...

The only problem now is the text on the Clip+ screen gives me a headache because of the size. Perhaps I need a Fuze. Or maybe my eyes from 10 years ago :P
Reply With Quote

  #488  
Old 05-27-2010, 09:30 AM
jsmaye jsmaye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Default

12pt font with the back & forth scrolling really helps those of us with aging eyes.
Reply With Quote

  #489  
Old 05-27-2010, 08:59 PM
Hirsch2k Hirsch2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Yippie! Good News, the Clip+ is now supported by RockboxUtility. Have tried the Linux version under Ubuntu Lucid and it worked perferctly. Good news especially for the newbies.

And it seems that they fixed the loading bug. File transfer still not supported though.

edit: ok, the rockboxutility support doesn't seem to be very new, but the loading support is.
Reply With Quote

  #490  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:35 AM
jsmaye jsmaye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Default Bookmarks

Anybody else notice that bookmarks can be arbitrary with the latest Rockbox? Specifically, if I shutdown my Clip+ (which creates a current bookmark), restart in OF, load new files, restart in RB and select 'Resume playing', it will start playing at a random spot in one of the newly-loaded files (which didn't exist when the bookmark was created). I can go to 'Recent bookmarks' and find the correct one as the second in line. Not a show-stopper, just curious.
Reply With Quote

  #491  
Old 05-28-2010, 02:08 PM
anonxlg anonxlg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

does anyone know a theme for the playing screen that displays asian/unicode characters properly

also, i noticed that most of the themes are unfit for the clip+ screen, any recommendations on themes?
Reply With Quote

  #492  
Old 05-29-2010, 11:12 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

I installed r26380 and reporting poor sound compared to the previous releases. The sound quality has degraded and sounds a bit distorted.

The sound quality on the previous releases was brilliant but this doesn't seem to be the case with r26380


Art
Reply With Quote

  #493  
Old 05-29-2010, 03:58 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artmuzz View Post
I installed r26380 and reporting poor sound compared to the previous releases.
If you want to make a useful report, tell us what "previous releases" is, so we can compare too.
Reply With Quote

  #494  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:38 AM
Nuntius's Avatar
Nuntius Nuntius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Hi Rockbox's developers!

How many Clip+ did you brick before arriving to this such great OS?

Congrates again!
Reply With Quote

  #495  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:22 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
If you want to make a useful report, tell us what "previous releases" is, so we can compare too.
If you want to me to make a useful report then the build where I got good sound quality from an EQ setting that I made was r26177 and other releases up to r26380.

However I will try other builds to see if I get the sound quality back that I had with the previous release especially r26177.

EDIT:

I also think the reason I could be getting degraded sound quality is because I am using RockBoxUtility instead of manually dragging the RockBox folder to my Clip+. Could this be a possible reason? As I first used RocboxUtility with r26380.



Art

Last edited by Artmuzz; 05-30-2010 at 06:49 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #496  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:30 AM
amonlb amonlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Bootloader Instalation Issue

Can I use older version of OF to start bootloader instalation but keep newest version of OF in Clip+? I'm getting error when try to use 01.02.15 OF and RockboxUtility sugests 01.02.09

http://picasaweb.google.pl/lh/photo/...eat=directlink

Reply With Quote

  #497  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:48 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonlb View Post
Can I use older version of OF to start bootloader instalation but keep newest version of OF in Clip+? I'm getting error when try to use 01.02.15 OF and RockboxUtility sugests 01.02.09

http://picasaweb.google.pl/lh/photo/...eat=directlink

You can not have two versions of the OF on the Clip.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #498  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:54 AM
amonlb amonlb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I know that but I would like to use the newest but installer sugests me odler version to start instalation and I want to know if I could use older version only to start instalation but keep newer version becouse I'm 100% sure battery life is much longer.
Reply With Quote

  #499  
Old 05-30-2010, 11:53 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonlb View Post
I know that but I would like to use the newest but installer sugests me odler version to start instalation and I want to know if I could use older version only to start instalation but keep newer version becouse I'm 100% sure battery life is much longer.
What WalkGood was trying to tell you is: No, you cannot do this.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #500  
Old 05-30-2010, 01:12 PM
voRia voRia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, first post on this board.
First of all I want to give an huge thank you to the rockbox developers, your work is simply fantastic, keep it up!
Also a thank you to the ABI folks, this is a great resource!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonlb View Post
I know that but I would like to use the newest but installer sugests me odler version to start instalation and I want to know if I could use older version only to start instalation but keep newer version becouse I'm 100% sure battery life is much longer.
The bootloader linked in the main post of this thread is based on the latest version of the OF, why don't you just use that?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.