android
  #361  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:09 PM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
If you want to change your rockbox build, edit firmware/drivers/audio/as3514.c function audiohw_set_master_vol and change "mix_r = 0x16" and "mix_l = 0x16" into any number. The value ranges from 0 (minimum volume) to 0x1f (31, maximum volume).
i tested this and these are my results. the OF is much louder than rockbox at stock. can't say i noticed with my headphones though.

i used windows sound recorder as saratoga suggested and recorded the clip v2 on full whack and then used foobar2000's replaygain scanner....

__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #362  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:41 PM
setmenu setmenu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Default

.

Last edited by setmenu; 05-15-2010 at 06:25 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #363  
Old 05-14-2010, 05:50 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
If you have a clipv1 and a clip+ or clipv2, can you compare OF max volume and rockbox max volume ? (compare OF and rb, and also clipv1 vs the other one).
RB Clipv1 is a tiny bit louder than RB Clip+.
OF Clipv1 is a tiny bit quieter than OF Clip+.
OF Clip+ is clearly louder than RB Clip+.

Absurdly, using the Clip+ with volume 0x1d is the same as using the stock 0x16, no difference in volume. How can that be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
If you want to change your rockbox build, edit firmware/drivers/audio/as3514.c function audiohw_set_master_vol and change "mix_r = 0x16" and "mix_l = 0x16" into any number. The value ranges from 0 (minimum volume) to 0x1f (31, maximum volume).
I've checked the highest three settings with RMAA. 0x1d should give perfectly acceptable results, 0x1e is also still very good, 0x1f is a bit too much on paper (still only tiny differences at 0db, but still).

RMAA - 0x1d
RMAA - 0x1e
RMAA - 0x1f
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #364  
Old 05-14-2010, 09:29 PM
Rockfella Rockfella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Can anyone suggest a way to un-rockbox it completely???? I want to get rid of it.....
Reply With Quote

  #365  
Old 05-14-2010, 09:46 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockfella View Post
Can anyone suggest a way to un-rockbox it completely????
Yes, just update your firmware:

http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...ml#x4-200002.5
Reply With Quote

  #366  
Old 05-14-2010, 10:20 PM
SunnyBoi SunnyBoi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Getting an error while building database with r26037. Tried 3 times and got this error everytime:

*PANIC*
transfer error -18
Reply With Quote

  #367  
Old 05-14-2010, 10:23 PM
Rockfella Rockfella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

It didnot work with me so i had to manually upgrade sansa firmware, working fine now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Reply With Quote

  #368  
Old 05-14-2010, 11:57 PM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyBoi View Post
Getting an error while building database with r26037. Tried 3 times and got this error everytime:

*PANIC*
transfer error -18
i can confirm this. it's r26028 that introduced the problem. 26027 is fine.

the patch looks to be SD card related but i don't even have one being a clip v2 user???
__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

  #369  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:04 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc2003 View Post
i can confirm this. it's r26028 that introduced the problem. 26027 is fine.

the patch looks to be SD card related but i don't even have one being a clip v2 user???
Internal memory is also SD.
Reply With Quote

  #370  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:13 AM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

my ignorance knows no bounds.
__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

  #371  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:49 AM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

I know it's old new but hey it's r/w now. Too bad it's so unstable...keep up the work.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #372  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:53 AM
kifo kifo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc2003 View Post
i can confirm this. it's r26028 that introduced the problem. 26027 is fine.

the patch looks to be SD card related but i don't even have one being a clip v2 user???
Ran into this on r26037 also, fixed by removing all files starting with 'database' in .rockbox, this might be overkill, looks like the only one of these added was database-ignore.

EDIT: Looks like it still crashes when I try to initialize the database, with the same error.
Reply With Quote

  #373  
Old 05-15-2010, 03:05 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Absurdly, using the Clip+ with volume 0x1d is the same as using the stock 0x16, no difference in volume
...
I've checked the highest three settings with RMAA. 0x1d should give perfectly acceptable results, 0x1e is also still very good, 0x1f is a bit too much on paper (still only tiny differences at 0db, but still).
Why are the TMD/IMD levels so much higher than on the OF (more than two orders of magnitude!!), even if the overall volume on rockbox is lower (on ox1d)!? Seems like a contradiction... are the settings > 0 handled different from the highest volume setting on the OF?

Anyway - I vote for setting the volume to 0x1e, if that value actually gives more volume. It comes at almost no cost!
In fact it would be way better than the current setting if it gives you adequate volume levels before reaching values > 0!!

Last edited by Timar; 05-15-2010 at 04:15 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #374  
Old 05-15-2010, 03:58 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyBoi View Post
Getting an error while building database with r26037. Tried 3 times and got this error everytime:

*PANIC*
transfer error -18
Check the filesystem with chkdsk.exe / fsck, this error means the storage is accessed beyond its reported capacity.

It could also mean that the capacity is detected incorrectly: what is the capacity of your clip and what is the number of Blocks in System -> Debug menu -> View Disk Info ? (microSD0 is the internal storage and microSD1 is the µSD slot)
Reply With Quote

  #375  
Old 05-15-2010, 04:30 AM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

i ran chkdsk and it muttered something about some errors so i ran it again with the /f switch to fix them. i then ran it again to verify and there were no errors. but even after this, i still get the panic message.

i have an 8gb clip v2

Blocks: 0x00F4FC00
__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

  #376  
Old 05-15-2010, 04:45 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
Why are the TMD/IMD levels so much higher than on the OF (more than two orders of magnitude!!), even if the overall volume on rockbox is lower (on ox1d)!? Seems like a contradiction... are the settings > 0 handled different from the highest volume setting on the OF?

Anyway - I vote for setting the volume to 0x1e, if that value actually gives more volume. It comes at almost no cost!
In fact it would be way better than the current setting if it gives you adequate volume levels before reaching values > 0!!
From my understanding, 0dB on Rockbox is seen as the loudest possible setting the amp can handle, everything above it is overdrive, and saturation should be expected - so +6dB should give you twice the perceived loudness over 0dB, but at cost of increased distortion. It's the standard way headroom is handled in digital audio, 0dB being defined as the maximum.

At least that's how all my other rockboxed players measured as well, so I believe it is intentional. Having the Clip behave the same way would be fine, IMO.

But as I said, I didn't *hear* any increase in volume, testing stock 0x16 against 0x1d. Did anyone else perceive a higher max volume setting as louder?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #377  
Old 05-15-2010, 06:11 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc2003 View Post
i ran chkdsk and it muttered something about some errors so i ran it again with the /f switch to fix them. i then ran it again to verify and there were no errors. but even after this, i still get the panic message.

i have an 8gb clip v2

Blocks: 0x00F4FC00
Looks alright (it's a number of 512-byte blocks, so it means ~8GB)

Can you add a line:
Code:
panicf("sd%d: %lu + %d > %lu", drive, start, count, card_info[drive].numblocks);
after "ret = -18" in firmware/target/arm/as3525/sd-as3525v2.c and rebuild rockbox?

btw do you use irc? i'm in #rockbox on freenode network
Reply With Quote

  #378  
Old 05-15-2010, 09:01 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

dfkt,

Code:
    /* We combine the mixer channel volume range with the headphone volume
       range - keep first stage as loud as possible */
    if (vol_r <= 0x16) {
        mix_r = vol_r;
        hph_r = 0;
    } else {
        mix_r = 0x16;
        hph_r = vol_r - 0x16;
    }

    if (vol_l <= 0x16) {
        mix_l = vol_l;
        hph_l = 0;
    } else {
        mix_l = 0x16;
        hph_l = vol_l - 0x16;
    }
which values did you change exactly? If you change every single 0x16 in the block above to a higher value, it won't have any effect, because you substract from hph what you've added to mix...

Change only the values in the if-condition and the mix_l/r and it will have a tremendous effect! With 0x16 my 56ohm headphones where rather silent @0db, with 0x1e they pound my eardrums into my brain

I'd love to do some measurements. Problem is: I don't have a fitting cable at hand...

Last edited by Timar; 05-15-2010 at 09:06 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #379  
Old 05-15-2010, 09:14 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I did exactly what funman suggested. I changed mix_l and mix_r, nothing else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
If you want to change your rockbox build, edit firmware/drivers/audio/as3514.c function audiohw_set_master_vol and change "mix_r = 0x16" and "mix_l = 0x16" into any number. The value ranges from 0 (minimum volume) to 0x1f (31, maximum volume).
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #380  
Old 05-15-2010, 09:22 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
I did exactly what funman suggested. I changed mix_l and mix_r, nothing else.
Ok, would have been to easy a solution I guess Did you check the other values (0x1e, 0x1f) against the original volume?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.