android
  #221  
Old 04-28-2010, 05:39 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #222  
Old 04-28-2010, 05:52 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

I like mine better Adub... He gets right to the point...

__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #223  
Old 04-28-2010, 05:52 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henriquemaia View Post
Still read-only?
Yes.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #224  
Old 04-28-2010, 06:01 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
I like mine better Adub... He gets right to the point...
WTF you haven't done it o_O
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #225  
Old 04-28-2010, 06:05 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Please guys, keep this thread on topic.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #226  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:50 AM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

i'm using the custom build from Funman and so far so good

Thanks Funman!
Reply With Quote

  #227  
Old 04-30-2010, 01:47 AM
HUTCHY HUTCHY is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I'm sat patiently awaiting delivery of my new 8GB Clip+, its my third Clip after much debating over other players.

I'm very tempted to install Rockbox but understand it doesnt yet have write access. Basically then, if I change EQ settings etc, how can I change this permanently? Modify the CFG file itself? Fine, but how do I then know the correct text strings to change in that?

Is there no way of saving the changed CFG file to my PC whilst the Clip+ is still turned on? Then overwriting the old CFG file once the Clip+ is in USB mode?

What is everyone else doing, changing settings each and every time you switch on? Confused Ive noted the simulators, but none for the Clip+, just Clip? Work just as one and the same?

Last edited by HUTCHY; 04-30-2010 at 02:01 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #228  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:01 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUTCHY View Post
Is there no way of saving the changed CFG file to my PC whilst the Clip+ is still turned on? Then overwriting the old CFG file once the Clip+ is in USB mode?
No. There isn't any USB support so far (file transfer has to be done using the OF), and the cfg files wouldn't get written to the flash memory on the first hand.
However, you can use the Rockbox Simulator for the ClipV1 to set-up your favourite settings and put the cfg file written by the simulator (they are identical) into your Clip's .rockbox directory. That's what I did.
Reply With Quote

  #229  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:05 AM
HUTCHY HUTCHY is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
No. There isn't any USB support so far (file transfer has to be done using the OF), and the cfg files wouldn't get written to the flash memory on the first hand.
However, you can use the Rockbox Simulator for the ClipV1 to set-up your favourite settings and put the cfg file written by the simulator (they are identical) into your Clip's .rockbox directory. That's what I did.
Excellent, thanks Timar.
Reply With Quote

  #230  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:07 AM
HUTCHY HUTCHY is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Sorry Timar, which CFG file do I use? "tagnavi" or "viewers"? Anyhting else I need to move over to the Clip+ once in USB mode?
Reply With Quote

  #231  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:35 AM
Trondis23 Trondis23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
No.
However, you can use the Rockbox Simulator for the ClipV1 to set-up your favourite settings and put the cfg file written by the simulator (they are identical) into your Clip's .rockbox directory. That's what I did.
Is it possible to build the database on the simulator and dump it on the player?
Reply With Quote

  #232  
Old 04-30-2010, 05:28 AM
HUTCHY HUTCHY is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Does the button lock feature work when Rockbox is installed? (Pressing home for a few seconds).
Reply With Quote

  #233  
Old 04-30-2010, 05:33 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Rockbox has a quick link menu on the home button. (Which is way more useful for me, since I never lock my player anyways, YMMV.)
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #234  
Old 04-30-2010, 05:33 AM
Timar Timar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUTCHY View Post
Sorry Timar, which CFG file do I use? "tagnavi" or "viewers"? Anyhting else I need to move over to the Clip+ once in USB mode?
Yust config.cfg. It is created after setting up an option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trondis23 View Post
Is it possible to build the database on the simulator and dump it on the player?
No idea. I'm fine with the directory mode...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUTCHY View Post
Does the button lock feature work when Rockbox is installed? (Pressing home for a few seconds).
No, not yet.
Reply With Quote

  #235  
Old 04-30-2010, 06:49 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUTCHY View Post
Does the button lock feature work when Rockbox is installed? (Pressing home for a few seconds).
On rockbox it's HOME+SELECT : it works only in the WPS though, so when playback stops keys are not locked, until you start playback again.
Reply With Quote

  #236  
Old 04-30-2010, 07:21 AM
Trondis23 Trondis23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timar View Post
I'm fine with the directory mode...
The Rockbox version I tried continued playback from the next folder instead of stopping when the album was done. Otherwise directory mode is OK for me too, since my directory is organized in artist/album.
Reply With Quote

  #237  
Old 04-30-2010, 10:21 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trondis23 View Post
The Rockbox version I tried continued playback from the next folder instead of stopping when the album was done. Otherwise directory mode is OK for me too, since my directory is organized in artist/album.
Disable the auto change directory feature:

http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...#x10-1210007.9

(which afaik is off by default)
Reply With Quote

  #238  
Old 04-30-2010, 02:35 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Funman, had the first crash today with your build, after several hours of playback. It happened while I skipped to the next track. The message was this, if it's any help to you:

Data abort at 3002624C
FSR 0x8 (domain 0, fault 8)
address 0xB48ACE00
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #239  
Old 05-03-2010, 05:41 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Ladies and gentlemen, there is write support.

__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #240  
Old 05-03-2010, 05:45 PM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Oh dang! Other than general stability, I guess I really have no reason not to start using my clip+ now!

w00t!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.