android
  #21  
Old 03-12-2010, 05:05 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I've just checked - my Vorbis tags display perfectly fine on 2.52. I'm using Tag&Rename for tagging, drag'n'drop files over in MSC mode, and I'm using Claw's UI for the music screen. Absolutely no issues with Vorbis comments.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-12-2010, 04:32 PM
tauwulf tauwulf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
I've just checked - my Vorbis tags display perfectly fine on 2.52. I'm using Tag&Rename for tagging, drag'n'drop files over in MSC mode, and I'm using Claw's UI for the music screen. Absolutely no issues with Vorbis comments.
Is that for ogg files you add to the device after 2.52 or the oggs on the devices before you updated to 2.52? because it reads ogg fine if they were on before updating (maybe a database or cache)
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:35 PM
hawker525 hawker525 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I have problems with ogg in general, I also use tag & rename but my S9 just ignored every tag.
Well, guess I'll just have to wait untill 2.53.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 03-17-2010, 06:40 PM
Olifant Olifant is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2
Default Ogg Tag "Fix"

Only way to "fix" the display of tags in Vorbis files loaded onto the S9 after Firmware 2.52 was installed (at least that I found): Downgrade to 2.51, delete the files from the player using the delete function of the player - do not delete them when accessing the player on the PC. Then load the same files on the player again, and voilą, tags are back.
I guess this works if it's only a few files. For larger numbers it's probably easier to format the player and load the whole bunch again.
When deleting the files using the PC they somehow don't get completely deleted. I've had files suddenly reappear on the player after disconnecting from the PC. Using the delete function of the player seems to really erase them.

Last edited by Olifant; 03-17-2010 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 03-17-2010, 08:51 PM
tauwulf tauwulf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Of course disclaimer not to downgrade if you got a cowon s9 this month as it should say on the site. "If you purchased COWON S9 after March 2010, install firmware version X.52 or higher only. Downgrading firmware to lower than X.52 may cause damage to your COWON S9."
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 03-27-2010, 04:30 PM
Negen Negen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I think i will have to go back to 2.51 for me 2.52 has rendered my s9 almost useless. It is unusably slow
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 03-31-2010, 02:34 PM
Chadz Chadz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Well...having a very weird issue i cannot get to the bottom of...

in SYSTEM menu...if i then select HOLD MODE and change it to TOUCHSCREEN ONLY...

It locks the touchscreen correctly, obviously once i slide the button at the bottom of the player to far right...and it does lock only the touchscreen as it should....BUT...if i then want to release the holding mode...by moving fully to the left hand side to reactivate the screen (S9 is set to shut off screen after 5 sec) and remove the lock at the same time...the majority of the time it will NOT remove the lock correctly and so it stays ON and will not activate the player...unless i take my time..ie move the button quite slowly! Yeah....weird....

OK...your all shouting...FAULTY S9...broken slider/button

....here's the best bit!

If i don't set the HOLD MODE to Touchscreen Only...it works FLAWLESSLY....and has done for the past week! ....non stop.

...and yes...turning on the feature will cause the player issues as mentioned..its only since this firmware as well.

I use my S9 about 4-5 hours a day while travelling....so have time to mess about a bit when i'm bored.

So i'm really just posting this as a heads up...just in case (unlikely really) somebody else is having the same issue...and sends it back!

Its just very odd...but i can live with it...i'm hoping the next release may just fix something to do with it
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 03-31-2010, 04:57 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

quite odd
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 03-31-2010, 09:42 PM
Gemini9 Gemini9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I just bought my s9 about a week ago with 2.51 installed. Seemed to work okay for me, but then I upgraded to 2.52 and now it's buggy. FLAC files don't tag correctly. I just get a bunch of jumbled japanese stuff and none of the songs are organized by artist/album, so it's not just the vorbis. Cowon wants me to send the s9 in for servicing which means I would be weeks without my tunes? No thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:20 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

gemini, you can downgrade to 2.51. then wait for 2.53 and if that doesn't do it, send it in.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 04-02-2010, 02:45 AM
newone newone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrauber View Post
gemini, you can downgrade to 2.51.
Be careful with that advice and read about Cowons warning on up-/downgrading firmware with S9's purchased after March 2010. This could damage your player.
__________________
Claw's Wallpaper UI Wiki:
http://claw.wikidot.com/
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 04-02-2010, 08:41 AM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

I know about that advice, which said not to downgrade to below 2.51. Besides, that's what came installed so it shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 04-02-2010, 10:23 AM
newone newone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrauber View Post
I know about that advice, which said not to downgrade to below 2.51.
That's not true. It says:

Downgrading firmware to lower X.52 may cause damage to your Cowon S9.

Ever thought about the possibility that the stock x.51 might be different to the downloadable version?
__________________
Claw's Wallpaper UI Wiki:
http://claw.wikidot.com/
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 05-12-2010, 12:53 PM
Exile Exile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Default

this firmware is pretty buggy for me too. If i have an oversized album art like something in the 2000 pixels range the player will freeze. And some of the album art gets displayed as a green square. Another problem is sometimes when the next song is being played it has the cover art of the previous song. So its back to 2.51 i go.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 05-22-2010, 05:09 PM
sauj's Avatar
sauj sauj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default

It's made my album artwork go green, the lower tones in some songs how are reverberating... argh.

Anyone know where I can get 2.5.1? The Cowon site no longer has it...
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 05-22-2010, 05:13 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

http://www.mediafire.com/?1iwdlm3mzg1
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:45 AM
sauj's Avatar
sauj sauj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Ta muchly, just about to install it
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 05-29-2010, 07:06 PM
sauj's Avatar
sauj sauj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sauj View Post
Ta muchly, just about to install it
Well the install worked, but much for muchness the same issues persist. I'm going to try to downgrade to the last version I had (1.09 I think...)
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-10-2011, 01:03 AM
elaiandpeps elaiandpeps is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Good day! I have a s9 16gb version. Do i really need to reformat the unit before upgrading or would i just copy the threee files over the old ones in the unit? Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.