android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Microsoft Zune > Zune HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:32 PM
2fast4u5 2fast4u5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 47
Default Wil the Zune HD ever play videos on it's internet browser?

I don't have my Zune HD yet, but I was wondering if the Zune HD will ever be able to play Videos on it's browser? If so... when? :3
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:35 PM
p0ke37's Avatar
p0ke37 p0ke37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Nobody can answer that question honestly... sorry
__________________
</p0ke37>
Befriend Wh1t3B0yz005 on the Zune social!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-06-2010, 09:01 PM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

A lot of mobile devices have been getting flash in the recent. Tegra platform also supports hardware flash acceleration. What I'm saying is, it IS a possibility. But with the current attitude towards the Zune HD - 'Music device first, nothing else really matters' - I doubt it will ever support flash or HTML5.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-07-2010, 11:38 AM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiamhighx View Post
A lot of mobile devices have been getting flash in the recent. Tegra platform also supports hardware flash acceleration. What I'm saying is, it IS a possibility. But with the current attitude towards the Zune HD - 'Music device first, nothing else really matters' - I doubt it will ever support flash or HTML5.
Even though the Tegra platform does indeed support full Flash and HTML5, the HD doesn't have enough RAM to run Flash. It depends on Microsoft to include HTML5 in the browser.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-07-2010, 09:07 PM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

Well the new flash 10 is said to be capable to run on a lot more devices. I don't know, it's stupid that the chip supports flash but doesn't support it at the same time.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-08-2010, 07:26 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Wasn't it disclosed that the Zune and WinMo devices would be getting a FLASH update in the future? I might be mistaken though, as I can't locate the info ATM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-08-2010, 08:01 AM
kenedy81 kenedy81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Default

If you haven't yet check this story out about Zune V2. Don't how real it is

http://www.zuneboards.com/?p=vB48921
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-08-2010, 08:49 AM
Flyordie Flyordie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Adobe has a version of FLASH 10.1M built for Windows CE 6.0 and 5.0. Its minimum requirement is 64MB of RAM on the device. I think the ZuneHD has 128MB? Its called priority. The Zune Team imho wants to implement Silverlight first, FLASH second. Adobe got it working good on Cellphones with less hardware than the ZuneHD has, and it was shown to be working on a stripped down version of CE 6.0 at the Nvidia Tech Show back in 09.

The version of Windows CE on the ZuneHD is in fact 6.0, it supports everything the base version does.

Since MS doesn't want outside independent dev's to hop on board, its very hard to get any primary progress w/o some kind of pitch fork and torch movement happening.

Now, this is coming from someone who loves Zune and its current capabilities, its plenty for what I do.

However, I just feel that Tegra and Zune are capable of so much more. Its why I am trying to unlock it so I can have root access to the OS itself and can install my own updates ect. I did manage to get FLASH 10.1M installed and functional to an extent, but everytime you quit the web browser the unit restarts because its running the plugin as an "app"...

So, truth be told, Zune Team is busy, and with the resources MS has given them, they are doing their best. Its all about the bottom line people.

Question for Dave- Does the Zune Dept even make a profit at the end of the year? Like in 2009, did it make a profit?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-08-2010, 03:41 PM
bullseye bullseye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 85
Default

^Now that is something Flyoride. Can be interesting to see if you get somewhere! Keep up the good work
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:09 PM
dontkillants's Avatar
dontkillants dontkillants is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Am I the only one who doesn't want flash on the ZHD? I can't imagine how bad it'd be to try to watch a flash movie IN the browser. And the only use I'd have for it would be to watch YouTube videos, and I'd prefer an app instead. No flash needed for the latter.

If it is added, I hope there's an option to disable it. For people like me, the press release announcing it might as well read, "Zune HD browser can now display Flash ads! Browse the web slower and more annoyed with more bugs, crashes, and vulnerabilities than ever!" >.<
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:11 PM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Adobe has a version of FLASH 10.1M built for Windows CE 6.0 and 5.0. Its minimum requirement is 64MB of RAM on the device. I think the ZuneHD has 128MB? Its called priority. The Zune Team imho wants to implement Silverlight first, FLASH second. Adobe got it working good on Cellphones with less hardware than the ZuneHD has, and it was shown to be working on a stripped down version of CE 6.0 at the Nvidia Tech Show back in 09.

The version of Windows CE on the ZuneHD is in fact 6.0, it supports everything the base version does.

Since MS doesn't want outside independent dev's to hop on board, its very hard to get any primary progress w/o some kind of pitch fork and torch movement happening.

Now, this is coming from someone who loves Zune and its current capabilities, its plenty for what I do.

However, I just feel that Tegra and Zune are capable of so much more. Its why I am trying to unlock it so I can have root access to the OS itself and can install my own updates ect. I did manage to get FLASH 10.1M installed and functional to an extent, but everytime you quit the web browser the unit restarts because its running the plugin as an "app"...

So, truth be told, Zune Team is busy, and with the resources MS has given them, they are doing their best. Its all about the bottom line people.

Question for Dave- Does the Zune Dept even make a profit at the end of the year? Like in 2009, did it make a profit?
It depends on what else the RAM will be used for. I'm pretty sure the internet browser itself takes up a ton of RAM as well. Don't forget that if you want video too, the video will also take up a bunch of RAM. It doesn't add up.
Additionally, there are the performance issues to be taken into consideration as well. Is it even worth having Flash if ads and crap are going to slow the HD down? I think the better solution would be to let users pick and choose which Flash elements they want to display.
I still think HTML5 is the much better option.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:16 PM
ZuneHD? ZuneHD? is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Wow, I'll be kind of angry if Microsoft makes a v2 already. I've had mine a week now, and was annoyed that I could have saved $20+ if I had waited a few days... But if they just make a whole new one, uhhh....
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:16 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuneHD? View Post
Wow, I'll be kind of angry if Microsoft makes a v2 already. I've had mine a week now, and was annoyed that I could have saved $20+ if I had waited a few days... But if they just make a whole new one, uhhh....
Don't worry. According to the rumor (emphasis on rumor), the Zune HD 2 won't be available until the final quarter of 2010. Yearly refreshes are the norm for devices like these...
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:12 PM
cpopken cpopken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I really hope they do make an updated player. I love my HD, but find myself taking my 80 with me a lot because it can hold so much more. Sometimes I get in a mood for a song and like to have a wide range of choices at any given time. I am not always near a WiFi spot or the streaming option would come in handy. Make a 64GB Zune phone with the ability to stream from the marketplace over 3G. That would be the best option for me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.