android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa Clip / Clip+ / Clip Zip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-13-2010, 08:46 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerman View Post
Well, Marvin, I can confirm 2 things:

1. A case nicely goes further out than the slight extra that the microSD card does, providing protection from any jostling (although, having said that, my microSD card only stuck out a tiny bit).

2. The spring for the card is pretty extreme--in checking things out just now and taking the card out of the Clip+, my card zinged out of the Clip+, hit a wall 4-5 feet away, bounced against the wall and flew off somewhere that I can't determine; I am now microSD card-less.

Very saddening, although funny in a sad kinda way--I feel like I was just in a very animated cartoon ...
Sorry to hear that man.....hope you find it!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 04-13-2010, 08:48 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Yes, on my Clip+ the card sticks out a tiny bit.

I have a Kingston 8 GB class 4 micro SDHC, a Kingston 4 GB class 4 micro SDHC, and a Sandisk 4 GB class 4 micro SDHC card. I resisted buying a 16 GB card since I really don't need that much storage now, and was waiting for the 16 GB class 4 or class 6 cards to drop in price. When they get to under $30 I may buy one. I have had no problems with the Kingston cards. One thing though. The 8 GB Kingston class 4 card came without a case but with adapters. I have enough adapters, but would have like a case with it(what does a typical plastic SDHC card case cost to make? Is it around 5 cents?).
Why wait for a class 4? If you have an adaptor, then you can put the card into a card reader to load the music......you don't need more than class 2 for audio playback.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 04-13-2010, 09:15 AM
Cara Cara is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default

If you have an adaptor, then you can put the card into a card reader to load the music.

I played around with this the other day. I can load via drag and drop to the card with an adaptor, and I can sync playlists via WMP. What I couldn't do was sync playlists to it that would then work in the player, as playlists. The music was all there - the playlists weren't. Am I doing something wrong, or is it just not possible? It will only sync playlists-which-work if done while the card's actually in the Clip.

I know many you prefer drag and drop, but it won't work for me - too many reformats, too much music that would need finding and reloading, too many single tracks off miscellaneous albums ...

It would really suit me to avoid plugging the player in and load direct from the adaptor, as much as possible. In fact it would save me several hours waiting per week.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 04-13-2010, 09:18 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cara View Post
If you have an adaptor, then you can put the card into a card reader to load the music.

I played around with this the other day. I can load via drag and drop to the card with an adaptor, and I can sync playlists via WMP. What I couldn't do was sync playlists to it that would then work in the player, as playlists. The music was all there - the playlists weren't. Am I doing something wrong, or is it just not possible? It will only sync playlists-which-work if done while the card's actually in the Clip.

I know many you prefer drag and drop, but it won't work for me - too many reformats, too much music that would need finding and reloading, too many single tracks off miscellaneous albums ...

It would really suit me to avoid plugging the player in and load direct from the adaptor, as much as possible. In fact it would save me several hours waiting per week.
I don't drag and drop (I always use MediaMonkey), but I don't use playlists, either.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 04-13-2010, 09:22 AM
Cara Cara is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 04-13-2010, 09:22 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Sorry to hear that man.....hope you find it!
No luck--it's a goner (I'm sure it'll reappear 2-3 years from now ...). Sigh--but at least I've learned to cover the slot when ejecting.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:57 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,051
Default

Class 4 cards can be loaded much faster than class 2. This is especially important for larger sized cards. While class 6 is even faster, class 6 cards seem to be much more expensive.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:01 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

I have a 16Gb in an adaptor. Presently I use it for Xvid files.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:02 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Class 4 cards can be loaded much faster than class 2. This is especially important for larger sized cards. While class 6 is even faster, class 6 cards seem to be much more expensive.
If you're loading in a card reader, then I can't see why that is worth paying more for, to be honest. Maybe with a 32GB card I could see it, though.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 04-13-2010, 07:09 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

16gb Danelec
16gb Sandisk
8gb Trancend
4gb Kingston
1gb Kingston
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 04-13-2010, 10:12 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

adub, that's quite a collection! as for the springiness thing, I've noticed the same thing, but I didn't lose mine. I have an 8gb sandisk class 2. just in reserve, though, because I only have about 5.5gb of music.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:06 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

I use the 1gb in my phone, 4gb in my camera w/ adapter, and the 2x 16gb and the 8gb are full of music.
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 04-14-2010, 10:01 PM
occams_razor occams_razor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default

I wound up getting a good deal on two 8gb Transcend cards from Amazon. Very happy with them so far. Load times are great and I seem to have similar refresh db times as mentioned earlier in the thread, around 2-2.5 minutes when near full.

One quibble I have is that it seems that the clip doesn't store my ratings for songs on a card once it has been removed. Anyone else experience this?

Also (and there's probably another thread in which to voice this concern but...) I wish it were possible to add songs to the golist from folder view. Very minor though
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 04-15-2010, 02:48 AM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

I'm surprised at the problems some have of the microsd card coming out of the clip+, i have never once had it come out when i didn't want it to.

As for your ratings not being saved, i believe the ratings are saved on the tag.
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 04-15-2010, 03:05 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I think you have to be in MTP mode for the ratings to be saved, don't you?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 04-15-2010, 02:24 PM
henriquemaia's Avatar
henriquemaia henriquemaia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Hi everyone, I recently bought a clip+ and I was looking to buy a MicroSD card. Can anyone confirm the card usage/less battery info that someone posted before?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 04-15-2010, 03:13 PM
defaultluser defaultluser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Class 4 cards can be loaded much faster than class 2. This is especially important for larger sized cards. While class 6 is even faster, class 6 cards seem to be much more expensive.
Keep in mind that Class ratings specify the "minimum" speeds, and for most cases you'll see speeds much higher than the minimum. My Class 2 16GB Sandisk MicroSDHC card gets well over the minimum 2MB/s when transferring files (mine is typically 5-7MB/s).

Another thing you should always keep in-mind when deciding on card class is this: the maximum speed the MicroSDHC bus can sustain is 10MB/s. Since the typical transfer speed is much higher than the minimum rated, there's really no point in buying anything over Class 4.
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 04-15-2010, 07:53 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hey DeafultUser: Agree with you completely - your speed experience jives with my own on my Sandisk and Kingston cards, though to be honest I hardly pay attention that closely very often.

And I also agree with your assessment of the Class 4 cards offering more throughput than is needed/available on the bus at present, certainly more than enough IMo for most consumer users. But 10MB/s would be more than enough for me! ;-)

cheers!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 05-14-2010, 05:35 PM
Dansgoingcrazy Dansgoingcrazy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

I just got a 32g micro sd card off of ebay. Pretty sure its not legit but it is meant to be a sandisk one. Just started using it. seems to work fine, and im still getting pretty good boot times with only 5 minutes for the first boot.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 05-18-2010, 02:49 AM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dansgoingcrazy View Post
I just got a 32g micro sd card off of ebay. Pretty sure its not legit but it is meant to be a sandisk one. Just started using it. seems to work fine, and im still getting pretty good boot times with only 5 minutes for the first boot.
Heh - if it fills up to the fulll capacity and isn't a re-badged lower capacity card, then it sounds plenty legit to me. Sandisk is definitely first to the party, so who knows - you might have a good one.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.