android
  #1  
Old 01-28-2010, 05:08 PM
bzdbbb's Avatar
bzdbbb bzdbbb is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 94
Cool Mastermind


Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/tth3lg...Mastermind.zip

Version: 1
Known Errors: None

Instructions in game! Though seeing as you guys suggested it you probably already know how to do it.

Please give feedback

Screenshot:

Last edited by RobertsAccount; 02-16-2010 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-28-2010, 05:37 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Tried it once before going to sleep, really nice game. The only thing confusing me was when reading the How to and then wanted to go to the main menu. I had to go back all the way.
An improvement might be to save high scores. The least amount of guesses you've managed for each level.

I'll evaluate it more thoroughly (aka play when I'm bored in class =P) tomorrow. ^^
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-28-2010, 09:49 PM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Freakin' Sweet!!! ... !

Thank you, bzdbbb. I'll give some feedback once I actually download and play around with it. :P
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-28-2010, 11:24 PM
Maudit Maudit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Default

How can I install this on mi Xfi2?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-28-2010, 11:34 PM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
How can I install this on mi Xfi2?
1. Download the zip file from the link above
2. Unzip the file
3. plug your X-Fi2 into your computer
4. Copy the 'Mastermind' folder into the 'Applications' folder on your X-Fi2
5. 'Safely Remove' your X-Fi2 and unplug it from your computer
6. When the X-Fi2 boots to the main screen, go to the Applications menu... the game will be there
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-29-2010, 05:10 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Tried it out some more, played the insane level and managed in with guesses to spare, on my first attempt *proud*

One thing though, I always thought you weren't allowed to use the same color twice in Mastermind? Though maybe that's just the rules in my game.
Also a quicker color chooser would be appreciated, instead of having to shuffle through all the colors when switching. Still, such a function goes back to the problem about not being able to save the screen, right?

And how did you manage to rotate the interface? Of course you can just put your images and such sideways, but when I shut the player off from within the game the "Shutting down" message was also sideways now.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-29-2010, 05:18 AM
ThievingSix ThievingSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
And how did you manage to rotate the interface? Of course you can just put your images and such sideways, but when I shut the player off from within the game the "Shutting down" message was also sideways now.
screen.orientation()
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Th...a#Screen_table
__________________
Only ONE more functions in the Wiki need addressing!
Zen X-Fi2 LUA Wiki
Want to protect your applications? Click Here!
Tower Defense Thread
Zen Lock - Protect Your Zen!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-29-2010, 10:26 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Absolutely THE BEST app so far, honestly there is just nothing wrong with it!! AT ALL!! It works like a charm Thanks so much for this, it'll keep me occupied for weeks.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:10 PM
bzdbbb's Avatar
bzdbbb bzdbbb is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
The only thing confusing me was when reading the How to and then wanted to go to the main menu. I had to go back all the way.
You can just press the home button to return to the menu (if you press it from the menu the app closes, else it takes you to the menu)

Quote:
One thing though, I always thought you weren't allowed to use the same color twice in Mastermind? Though maybe that's just the rules in my game.
Allowing colours to be used more than once makes it more challenging which (seeing as you managed insane mode) makes it better :P

Quote:
Also a quicker color chooser would be appreciated, instead of having to shuffle through all the colors when switching. Still, such a function goes back to the problem about not being able to save the screen, right?
I'll keep that in mind if I do another version.. which I might because scrolling previous guesses isn't as clean as I'd like.

Quote:
Absolutely THE BEST app so far, honestly there is just nothing wrong with it!! AT ALL!! It works like a charm Thanks so much for this, it'll keep me occupied for weeks.
Thank you Have you also noticed you can listen to music AND play the game. (tho I can't really take credit for that because I don't know why it works..)
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:27 PM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
quicker color chooser would be appreciated
I second that... but otherwise this game is, by far, the most professional looking game yet for this system. You did a great job; keep it up!
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-29-2010, 01:12 PM
ZaPx64's Avatar
ZaPx64 ZaPx64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Whoa! Nice one, man
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:17 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bzdbbb View Post
You can just press the home button to return to the menu (if you press it from the menu the app closes, else it takes you to the menu)
Ah, I see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bzdbbb View Post
Allowing colours to be used more than once makes it more challenging which (seeing as you managed insane mode) makes it better :P
That is true, I was just a bit confused at first since I didn't expect that.
"Hey! I've only got four colors to choose from and it says one shouldn't be there?!", Kinda.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bzdbbb View Post
I'll keep that in mind if I do another version.. which I might because scrolling previous guesses isn't as clean as I'd like.
Awesome. This far I haven't had to guess so many times I've had to scroll in my guesses though, so I haven't seen that function =P
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:24 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Red face

Could you make it so when you press the scroll arrow, it doesn't go all the way to the top/bottom? But only up a certain distance... Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:25 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
That is true, I was just a bit confused at first since I didn't expect that.
"Hey! I've only got four colors to choose from and it says one shouldn't be there?!", Kinda.
Haha! I made that mistake too...
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-30-2010, 12:13 AM
Maudit Maudit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordXenos View Post
1. Download the zip file from the link above
2. Unzip the file
3. plug your X-Fi2 into your computer
4. Copy the 'Mastermind' folder into the 'Applications' folder on your X-Fi2
5. 'Safely Remove' your X-Fi2 and unplug it from your computer
6. When the X-Fi2 boots to the main screen, go to the Applications menu... the game will be there
thanks !

I'll try it later @ home, then post back, but everyone seems to love it so far.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-30-2010, 04:29 AM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Just tried and it looks great! I'm gonna play this on the train today I kinda forgot how this game exactly works, and although I figured it out by trying, the possibility to view the game's rules really complete this app and makes it look quite professional.

Good one!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-01-2010, 08:05 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default bug?

i scanned the posts and didn't see anything about this but i think i found a bug. when you win a game on your last try it shows as a win then after that it shows as a lose, was this intended? other than that it works perfect, thanks for the game
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-02-2010, 06:28 AM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

And if you win, you're send back to the menu screen of the game. A "You won, play again?" option would be nice.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-02-2010, 09:16 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cilmaviel View Post
i scanned the posts and didn't see anything about this but i think i found a bug. when you win a game on your last try it shows as a win then after that it shows as a lose, was this intended? other than that it works perfect, thanks for the game
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett_val View Post
And if you win, you're send back to the menu screen of the game. A "You won, play again?" option would be nice.
I second these two. Encountered the bug when I played on Expert. And a "you won, play again?" would be nice.

Also, for some reason the Insane level isn't that hard. I've managed every time I tried. Should you decrease the amount of guesses or is it just me who's too logical for this?
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:25 AM
bzdbbb's Avatar
bzdbbb bzdbbb is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
And if you win, you're send back to the menu screen of the game. A "You won, play again?" option would be nice.
K - i'll add this to the list for the next version. The "L" or "W" in the counter isn't really clear enough :P

Quote:
i scanned the posts and didn't see anything about this but i think i found a bug. when you win a game on your last try it shows as a win then after that it shows as a lose, was this intended?
nope - will fix that too

Quote:
Also, for some reason the Insane level isn't that hard. I've managed every time I tried. Should you decrease the amount of guesses or is it just me who's too logical for this?
No idea - but i'm thinking of adding a custom mode where you can choose how many colors and guesses you want and it records the hardest one uv played
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.