android
  #1  
Old 01-16-2010, 06:15 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default Album art Folder.jpg not working

Hi guys,

Spent ages going through all my Albums and adding a Folder.jpg image to each of them.

In Foobar2000 (My laptop's audio player) it displays these fine but the Cowon S9 doesn't.

Is it meant to be called something else?

A bit annoyed after all this work!

Cheers,

Laurence
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-16-2010, 07:51 PM
crazycanuck332 crazycanuck332 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 126
Default

yeah im having the same problem. Im using mediamonkey and it displays the album art fine but when i put it on the s9 it doesnt work. Its just for 2 albums though and everything else works just fine
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-16-2010, 08:12 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 549
Default

i have mine named Cover and the easy way to rename all the images is to do a search within the MUSIC Folder and just Select All the Files and Highlight/Rename the First File then all the Files will be renamed.
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-16-2010, 09:07 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

yes, ^^^ I'm pretty sure its cover.jpg
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-17-2010, 12:53 AM
steagle steagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Default

on a related note, is it possible to force the S9 to look at "Cover.jpg" instead of embedded artwork? (without removing embedded artwork from all the files)
__________________
current: Cowon S9 32GB / previous: Toshiba Gigabeat S30 / phones: Ultrasone PROLine 550, Sennheiser HD280, Sony MDR-7506
-- FLAC FTW! --
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-17-2010, 02:44 AM
Ben4345 Ben4345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 23
Default

I had the same problem. The easiest fix is embed the album art into the mp3, using Mp3tag or use Dbpoweramp to rip your music.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-17-2010, 11:54 AM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

Hi guys,

Renamed them all to cover.jpg and still not working .
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-17-2010, 12:12 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

Sorry, Cover.jpg worked. When I renamed them it added a (1) to the end of them all. Had to do each one manually. Windows 7 rename/search sucks.


Thanks guys!
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-17-2010, 12:17 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
Sorry, Cover.jpg worked. When I renamed them it added a (1) to the end of them all. Had to do each one manually. Windows 7 rename/search sucks.


Thanks guys!
word. I recall someone linking to a search/replace program a while back in this forum. I think its under the sansa clip, there's a thing called m3u playlists in msc. And in the op there's a link. Just saying
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-17-2010, 12:26 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

Ah great, now it doesn't show up in Foobar2000..


Hahahaha, can't have it all it seems... I'll have to look into that embedding thing, just seems like so much work just for a bit of artwork to be displayed..


Thanks man.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-17-2010, 05:50 PM
Ben4345 Ben4345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
Ah great, now it doesn't show up in Foobar2000..


Hahahaha, can't have it all it seems... I'll have to look into that embedding thing, just seems like so much work just for a bit of artwork to be displayed..


Thanks man.

If you rip with dbpoweramp, it does all the work for you. And supposedly on par in quality to EAC.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-17-2010, 06:05 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
Ah great, now it doesn't show up in Foobar2000..
You can tell FB2k what file names to look for (Preferences > Display). However, FB2k looks for both cover.jpg and folder.jpg by default, so you might have changed the default - or maybe you use an outdated version of FB2k.

But yeah, embedded album art makes more sense anyways, at least to me.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-18-2010, 08:57 PM
steagle steagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Default

is there a size limit to embedded artwork in FLAC and MP3 files? whenever i embedded artwork in iTunes or WMP, it reduced the picture size substantially (as well as pixel quality). but can dbpoweramp or similar put in, say, 1500x1500 images and maintain their original quality across programs and devices?
__________________
current: Cowon S9 32GB / previous: Toshiba Gigabeat S30 / phones: Ultrasone PROLine 550, Sennheiser HD280, Sony MDR-7506
-- FLAC FTW! --
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-18-2010, 09:02 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steagle View Post
is there a size limit to embedded artwork in FLAC and MP3 files? whenever i embedded artwork in iTunes or WMP, it reduced the picture size substantially (as well as pixel quality). but can dbpoweramp or similar put in, say, 1500x1500 images and maintain their original quality across programs and devices?
Yes, but they will look slightly-not-awesome on portable devices where they must be scaled down. I recommend putting the 1500x1500 jpg on your s9 and opening it with the picture viewer. Zoom out to where you can see the whole thing. That's what it will look like.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-19-2010, 01:01 AM
RoloJam RoloJam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Katy TX
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrauber View Post
Yes, but they will look slightly-not-awesome on portable devices where they must be scaled down. I recommend putting the 1500x1500 jpg on your s9 and opening it with the picture viewer. Zoom out to where you can see the whole thing. That's what it will look like.
This will also increase the size of your files, thereby limiting the amount of songs on your S9. If you're planning on 1500x1500 I would go the cover.jpg route. I don't embed anything over 400x400. If I have a larger image, I archive the pic in the album folder and make sure it doesn't travel with the song files by synching with preset turning that feature off.

If you go the cover.jpg method, it also makes the files available to your picture browser. This isn't something that I preferred. So I decided to embed the art at 400x400. The S9 can't view at this size, but, finding art was such a pain, I decided to go with art larger than 272x272 so I don't have to retag to embed larger files with my next DAP. I also archive any files at the original size if they are larger than 400x400 for the purchase after my next DAP.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-19-2010, 03:56 PM
steagle steagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Default

i don't have anything embedded right now - just the cover.jpg files in each music folder. the resizing on the S9 is really bad, but i don't feel like creating custom images from my originals, embedding them, and re-transferring to the S9 just for a better artwork display. i mostly use the S9 in my car as i commute to/from work and never even look at it once it's playing an album so it's something i can live with. but maybe if i'm uber bored one weekend i'll test the 272x272 idea out for a new batch of transfers.
__________________
current: Cowon S9 32GB / previous: Toshiba Gigabeat S30 / phones: Ultrasone PROLine 550, Sennheiser HD280, Sony MDR-7506
-- FLAC FTW! --
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:43 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 549
Default

you guys realize you can have them both ways... Embedded or by Folder
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:58 PM
steagle steagle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steagle View Post
on a related note, is it possible to force the S9 to look at "Cover.jpg" instead of embedded artwork? (without removing embedded artwork from all the files)
..
__________________
current: Cowon S9 32GB / previous: Toshiba Gigabeat S30 / phones: Ultrasone PROLine 550, Sennheiser HD280, Sony MDR-7506
-- FLAC FTW! --
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-19-2010, 10:14 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 549
Default

umm... doesn't the S9 look for either one regardless if your Browsing/Playing through the Folder or Tag Browser.
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-20-2010, 08:03 AM
Angelix Angelix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 55
Default

Having a file named "cover" or "cover.jpg" will override any embedded artwork, just to clarify.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.