android
Old 01-13-2010, 01:27 AM

Default Amp Virgin - First time is not that great =(

Just bought my first amp and truthfully I don't know the difference.
I got the amp because I bought the Head-Direct RE1.

This is my first time and I really can't tell the difference with the amp on and the amp off. Except for the fact the amp makes it louder.

I have a Sony NWZ-A729. It utilizes the CS43L21 Chipset. A single solution combining amp and DAC.

CS43L21 Chipset Spec
46mW Power into Stereo 16 headphon @ 1.8 V
88mW Power into Stereo 16 headphon @ 2.5 V

NWZ-A729 Spec
5mW (But I think they dont properly spec it)

I have grado SR60 which sound spectacular on the Sony. The grados sounded flat on Samsung P2(15mW) I own. I definitely think the Sony's are pumping out alot more than 5mW.

I have experience with quite a lot of headphones and MP3s, I can tell the difference.

The RE1 after a bit of burn in sound better but they are not as spectacular as the reviews written.

Why can I not hear any difference using the FIIO E5? The RE1 don't sound anymore different with the amp and without. There isn't a difference with my SR60 amped and without.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 01-13-2010, 01:44 AM
Ultra Senior Member

The E5 is a budget amp, remember....but try this.....the volume of your player needs to be pretty high running into the E5, then you control your volume with the E5. You'll get your best results from it that way.

Old 01-13-2010, 02:06 AM

Awesome tip...I been maxing the volume of the amp and controling the volume via the Sony (half volume). How high should I set the volume of the player...player maxed, won't it cause clipping?

Old 01-13-2010, 02:40 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotaiji012 View Post
Awesome tip...I been maxing the volume of the amp and controling the volume via the Sony (half volume). How high should I set the volume of the player...player maxed, won't it cause clipping?