android
  #1  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:21 PM
tlwidmer tlwidmer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Default Files not where I put them

Hello all,
For some reason the files that my computer [iMac] show are on my S9 in 'Finder' are not where they are on the S9. I have reformated [Mac OS Extended], redownloaded the latest firmware, reinstalled in the root directory, reinstalled the files to the folders I want them - but they do not show up in those folders on the S9. I'm very new to all of this. Is it a Mac thing?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-09-2010, 03:27 PM
Mf1232's Avatar
Mf1232 Mf1232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, NH
Posts: 461
Default

Go to the S9-
Settings>System>USB Mode
Change the USB mode to MSC if it is MTP or change it to MTP is it was MSC.
__________________
16gb Sony NWZ-E475m - Sony MDR-EX300 IEMs
*R.I.P.*
16gb Cowon S9, 32gb ZuneHD
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-09-2010, 06:10 PM
tlwidmer tlwidmer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks so much for your reply. I'm having better success now after following your suggestion. I put some recorded files into 'Recordings' then 'FM Radio'. When I go to 'Browser', then 'Recordings', then 'FM Radio' - they aren't there. But when I go to 'Browser', then 'Folders', then 'Recordings', then 'FM Radio' - there they are. Why is this the case? Again, I'm a new at all this so there is probably a very good explanation. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:41 PM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

If your using MSC to put your files on, and they aren't tagged to go into the 'recording' folder then when you browse to the recording section they wont be there, they will go where the tags put them. But when you browse through the 'folder' method then the files will be right where you put them.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-10-2010, 06:32 PM
tlwidmer tlwidmer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Default

Will it be the same with MTP?

Thanks for your imput!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-10-2010, 08:50 PM
tlwidmer tlwidmer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5
Default

I just noticed something else: When I go to play these files, which are all named individually, a file named 'Unknown' will start playing and it's a file from a different folder. Any ideas?? Am I formatting the S9 wrong?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.