android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon S9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2010, 11:19 AM
Spirit Spirit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Default Cowon S9 + The Beatles Stereo USB Limited Edition (FLAC)?

Hi there,

I've been reading these forums for quite a while and it's part of it which made me decide to buy the S9, especially the fact that it reads FLAC since almost my entire collection of songs is in flac as I listen at home mostly through my squeezeboxes.

But now I'm having issue with the Beatles USB Stereo set I've recently bought.
When I start playing them on the player the player seems to hang, but if I wait a long time it *un-freezes* then I can maybe press a few buttons and hangs again.

I was just wondering if it might be the encoding bitrate that could be set too high?

I tried re-copying the files on the player, nothing seems to make it work

Any help would be more than welcomed!
Please mention if you need more info to!
(Cowon S9 32Gb + 2.50 firmware)

Last edited by Spirit; 01-03-2010 at 12:12 PM. Reason: added more details
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-03-2010, 12:19 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

I've got the Beatles albums on my S9, but as 320kbps MP3s. They play fine. My S9 plays FLAC files fine though. You may need to re-encode them using a different program. Win7 can't determine any bitrate or related properties of FLAC files or I'd tell you the ones I have that play are "built". I use FLAC Frontend to convert from WAV files.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-03-2010, 12:31 PM
Spirit Spirit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olley View Post
I've got the Beatles albums on my S9, but as 320kbps MP3s. They play fine. My S9 plays FLAC files fine though. You may need to re-encode them using a different program. Win7 can't determine any bitrate or related properties of FLAC files or I'd tell you the ones I have that play are "built". I use FLAC Frontend to convert from WAV files.
Well, as I said I got the USB Key edition, so I'm not the one who encoded them. But could it be because they're 24bits instead of 16?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-03-2010, 02:58 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit View Post
Well, as I said I got the USB Key edition, so I'm not the one who encoded them. But could it be because they're 24bits instead of 16?
Sure. It could be 24 vs 16, or any one of several variable. No matter what the problem is you're going to need new versions as your current ones don't play.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-04-2010, 12:38 PM
disposition disposition is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 27
Default

I'm gonna guess that the player doesn't support the 24bit files. I re-encoded mine to V0 for portable use and cannot tell too much of a difference.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:32 AM
Spirit Spirit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disposition View Post
I'm gonna guess that the player doesn't support the 24bit files. I re-encoded mine to V0 for portable use and cannot tell too much of a difference.


By V0 you mean the compression ratio?


Quote:
Sure. It could be 24 vs 16, or any one of several variable. No matter what the problem is you're going to need new versions as your current ones don't play.
I agree, however they play fine on my squeezebox and computer, that's why I was asking what could be the *thing* that could prevent them from working.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.