android
  #1  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:14 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Help Picture downsizing bypass?

I greatly dislike the fact that the software downsizes pictures before you can put them on your Zune. Is there a way to put pics on it while keeping the original pixel resolution?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:29 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Not that anyone has figured out yet. The great advantage of the closed system that forces you to use only the Zune desktop app. This way you'll never have photos on your Zune HD that would be far to big (in MS's opinion) to watch on an HDTV at 720p.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-31-2009, 11:35 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

Damn. I hate how it can only zoom very slightly before it begins to blur...
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:12 AM
Icky6 Icky6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 244
Default

I'm totally with you on this, I feel like it greatly diminishes the niceness of even having pics on my zune when they're of such horrible resolution.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:43 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Not a big deal for me as I don't use it for pictures too too much (have a pic or two of my son and that's about it)but seems stupid on MS' part not to allow the user to choose their own resolution...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:35 AM
clubdirthill clubdirthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
Default

I would rather keep the pictures in full resolution.

1) I want to use my HD as a backup.
2) I want to zoom in more.

At least make it an option. This is one of my larger issues with the Zune HD.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-01-2010, 02:38 PM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

I agree 100%. What was the point of plaigarizing Apple's pinch-to-zoom if we aren't even allowed to put a zoomable picture on the HD? They really need to prioritize..we can play 720p videos but not look at 720p pictures?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-01-2010, 03:03 PM
negative1 negative1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiamhighx View Post
I agree 100%. What was the point of plaigarizing Apple's pinch-to-zoom if we aren't even allowed to put a zoomable picture on the HD? They really need to prioritize..we can play 720p videos but not look at 720p pictures?
thats a really bad analogy..

you can only play back full 720p video through an external
source at that resolution (1280x720)...

if you're watching it on the zuneHD, its shrunk to fit the
screen...

i have thousands of pictures on my zune, but i don't really care
if they're shrunk or not... i just view them from time to time..
if i need to show someone something bigger, i used a different device..

later
-1
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:10 PM
ajmcginty ajmcginty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Default

It's not that bad of an analogy. What if you want to look at pictures on your HDTV? Anyway, I completely agree. If you're going to spend the time to include awesome multi-touch capability and then add a meaningless downsizing (as if the processor and memory can't handle a picture, but can render and zoom well in full websites) so the image functionality is crippled beyond anything but a ZuneHD background viewer with a zoom/blur function.

This'd be a fantastic firmware fix that should be easy and an easy way to impress ZuneHD owners.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:51 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

They might do that to keep the high speed rendering at its best... Kind of a sales gimmick... The thing wouldn't seem as snappy if it actually had to take a second to load a large image.... Idk... They should just give us an option to put no restrictions on image size...
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-08-2010, 03:54 AM
thygriever thygriever is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 109
Default

This is probably the most bothersome part of the Zune for me. As a photographer I want something that can keep my photo quality and allow me to observe the details of each image. Also as others said, a backup is good as well. However the Zune HD doesn't let me do that. It really upsets me. I do hope they fix this or give an option in the future. I'm assuming that they did this to make the transition between photos quicker and not have a 1 or 2 second pause. Can it hurt to give us an option at least?

I also find the zoom absolutely useless. You can only pinch zoom very slightly before the image just begins losing horrible quality. Why bother zooming at all? I would disable the feature for photos if i could because sometimes I randomly tap zoom and it annoys me, especially when I would never zoom on those pictures unless I wanted to stare at pixelations and artifacts.

Does anyone know if the Apple products like itouch contain better quality images and zooming?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:19 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

No. The ipods do the same thing... I am not sure of how much it scales them down, but they do...
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-08-2010, 07:14 PM
grommet grommet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 87
Default

iTunes + iPod/iPhone resizes sync'd images to 640 x 480 last I checked... (and isn't even in JPEG format while on the device).
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:42 AM
Flyordie Flyordie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 127
Default

The Creative Zen X-Fi doesn't downsize pictures. I would expect the ZuneHD to be capable of high res photos... :-\
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:06 AM
Jacob Jacob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 249
Default

Maybe a simple option:
Optimize for best performance
Optimize for best quality
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:22 AM
Icky6 Icky6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob View Post
Maybe a simple option:
Optimize for best performance
Optimize for best quality
+1 for options.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:49 PM
thygriever thygriever is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icky6 View Post
+1 for options.
Agreed.

Thanks for the info guys. I at least feel a little better that apple is doing the same thing so they aren't necessarily "better" in the picture department.

I think I'm bothered by this the most because I previously had a Zen & Zen X-fi as my last 2 mp3 players. Their picture interface worked extremely well for the most part. It sucks that a higher end player like Zune HD can't do the same.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:15 PM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icky6 View Post
+1 for options.
Quite sadly, a wide variety of options is an exclusive characteristic of open-source. Which is why I strongly support it. But each approach has it's own advantages.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.