android
  #1  
Old 12-22-2009, 02:35 PM
Kid Gorgeous Kid Gorgeous is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default finite amount of files the player can store

Hi

I was thinking about buying a 8gb clip plus as its only 39.99 on amazon.co.uk.

However one of the reviewers posted the following info

"The player has a central database like most players do, however the player has a massive design flaw. The file used for keeping track of the files on the player is 1.8 MB always... this is not big enough to hold information about the number of oggs I am trying to put on the player. To give you an idea, I filled the 8GB Internal Memory with 64 kbps oggs. The player was happy enough with that AS LONG AS YOU MAKE SURE TO LEAVE 90 MB FREE FOR THE INTERNAL DATABASE. It will warn you if you haven't done that. I then filled the 16GB card with the rest of my ogg collection. I noticed that the player would only "see" the first 4GB worth of this music, in either Tag mode or file system view. In the file system view the vast majority of the files were simply not presented even though upon connecting the device to the computer they were all on the card. After hours of trying to debug this problem it appears that there is a finite amount of files the player can store information about in it's MTABLE.SYS file (1.8 MB fixed). If your library would over fill this, the cut off will be the last files to be listed in this file. This is a massive disappointment for me. I was hoping to get a load of music on this player".

Not being that tech minded, does this mean you cannot fill up a 16 gb card and in the future 32gb cards?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:39 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

ahh, someone posted the same thing a bit ago (so search next time) and the had the same problem - only about the first 4gb was read. it's a bugfix, i think, so pray sandisk does something
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-23-2009, 12:24 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Gorgeous View Post
Hi
Not being that tech minded, does this mean you cannot fill up a 16 gb card and in the future 32gb cards?
You can fill them up just fine.....there are people here with full 16GB cards. Just don't use 64kbps for music.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-23-2009, 02:51 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,984
Default

Using 128 kbps or higher rarely causes a problem, as 24 GB of songs averaging 4 minutes at 128 kbps means around 6500 songs.

http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...thread.id=1946
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:03 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

This is not surprising, many players have file limits but who listens to 64 kbps encoded files o_O
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-23-2009, 09:11 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,984
Default

There are those who do listen to 64 kbps files.I listen to mp3 files as low as 16 kbps, but these are mono lectures, not music. I keep them in the podcast folder on my Clip+ and Fuze, so they aren't even in the music database. They are mostly between half an hour and an hour in duration.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-23-2009, 11:59 AM
Kid Gorgeous Kid Gorgeous is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

will do a search next time i have a question

Many thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.