Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 11-13-2009, 08:05 AM
Default Clip v. Clip + (my review)

I was extremely happy with my 2GB black Clip I had purchased over the summer. It was the perfect little mp3 player but I yearned for an mp3 player with a higher storage capacity onto which I could put the majority of my music library. Enter the Clip + 8GB and a 16GB microsdhc card. I considered the Sony S639 and the Cowon I audio 9, but those were just short on capacity and too high on price.

After one day of owning the Clip + here is how I would review it after having listened to the Clip for a few months.

-Much faster scrolling through songs. This is a relief for me because I am a serial song skipper and it takes me a while to sometimes find a song that fits my need for that moment.
-Sound quality may be better. It might just be me, but it sounds a little better. I am no music expert by any means though.
-Much better construction. The clip being fixed certainly helps it feel more solid, and I like the look a lot more, it is much sleeker.
-No light up D-pad and ring.
-Higher capacity (still waiting for my 16GB microsdhc card).

-The radio is way too loud at the minimum volume. This is almost a dealbreaker for me since I listen to the radio at night prior to sleeping.
-The Slotradio icon. I pressed it a few times and got sucked into a few second black hole as the player waited to get back to the menu.
-Bugs? Not sure about this since I may have put some non-music files on the player that were in my music folder, but the player gets stuck every so often, the screen goes black but the next song starts a few seconds later.

Things to Fix (suggestions)
-The minimum radio volume issue so it is on par with the minimum music volume.
-Removing the Slotradio icon.