android
  #1  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:46 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default The Cowon i9 is here!

Cowon has mini page for it up on cowon.com (keeps redirecting, dont know how to get there... odd) http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...-of-the-i9.php

Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:23 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Here's the link http://kr.cowon.com/
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:42 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Thanks for the update Enzo, depending on price an availability I might be in on this one

A few thoughts:
- Looks like it would pair with an amp way better than the s9, *cough* pico slim
- Would be nice to know the capacity 16gb, 32, etc...
- Wondering if they will include an expansion slot
- I could care less for the little speaker
- Design is nothing special o_O, personally I like the look of the i7, it grows on you
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:44 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Built-in speaker. Looks like black, silver, and white options. Touch pad controls.... not a big fan of.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:47 PM
Geraldo35's Avatar
Geraldo35 Geraldo35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 23
Default

I'm glad I didn't wait for the i9. I like the looks and form factor of the i7 better. But, if it had an expansion slot or 32gb internal storage, I might be convinced to get one.....
__________________
Archos 5 250GB;Cowon 16 D2+;Zune 16/120
iAudio 7

Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:49 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Same utterly useless touchpad controls as the Samsung Q2 and iriver E200, without any real tactile buttons for volume, play/pause, FFDR/REW, etc... pathetic. I would have expected better from Cowon than to ape the blingy nonsense interfaces of the competition, just because they're some kind of "trendy" without being practical on the go.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-30-2009, 04:59 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

I might get a 16gb one in Black. Just wish they would go back to full tactile controls like the old X5 or U3 though.
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:04 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The S9 has full tactile controls too... and it's also a real touchscreen player, not some idiotic gimmicky touchpad.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:38 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Yeah I know, but I'm not a big fan of touchscreens.
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:43 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

And you're a fan of touchpads... because?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:46 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Not really, but I can deal with them.
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:53 PM
descendent87 descendent87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Looking forward to more info about this
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:14 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

Hmmm. . . not really what I expected. I think I'll stick to my i7. . . it looks really sleek but not very practical.

I agree w/ dfkt less dedicated buttons is bad. I can deal with navigating with the touch pad, but I'm glad it at least has dedicated volume buttons.
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:17 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It has volume buttons? I haven't seen them in any photos yet.

(I very much assume the slider next to the menu button on the side is power/lock, like on every other Cowon player, and not a volume button.)
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:23 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

Sorry, I didn't word that well at all, I meant I'm glad my i7 at least has dedicated volume buttons while this DAP seems to have none.


I have to admit it's like 10x sleeker than the boxy i7 though.
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:26 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Ah, I see. Yeah, the i7 is like the D2 in that aspect.

As far as the i9 goes, I know how much I hate my O2 with its measly volume buttons and no play/pause or anything else. This is insanely annoying, having to fish around the screen for stopping a video and such. The D2, for me, has the bare minimum of buttons, volume and play/pause (and FFWD/REW in locked mode). The only Cowon touchscreen (or touchpad, when one looks at the more useless variant) player that has enough tactile buttons is the S9, in my opinion.

Sorry, but I really don't need to see more than that one official i9 pic to see that the player is "fail" for me. Just because Cowon has to pull the same stunts as Samsung and iriver with their new shabby players... silly Koreans.

Not to mention the i9 doesn't even have an AMOLED screen, and it's crappy old 320x240... and no, the argument that this one is more for "music" and the S9 is more "convergence" sure doesn't hold - I already bet everything that the i9 is the exactly same Telechips/Wolfson player like most other Cowons, including the S9, i7, i6, D2.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-30-2009, 07:35 PM
suprman2020's Avatar
suprman2020 suprman2020 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Touch controls killed this for me. More people should imitate Sony when it comes to having tactile controls (or dedicated volume buttons).
__________________
Current rig: Zune HD 32 + Phonak Audeo Perfect Bass & T-Mobile G2 + Brainwavs M2
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-30-2009, 07:52 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

Why doesn't it support AAC. That's stupid.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-30-2009, 07:53 PM
Geraldo35's Avatar
Geraldo35 Geraldo35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 23
Default

I'm holding out until I see a production model with complete specifications, before I make any judgements on the unit.

I love my iAudio 7 and like you, from what I've seen so far, I'm not too keen on the iAudio 9.

Time will tell I guess....
__________________
Archos 5 250GB;Cowon 16 D2+;Zune 16/120
iAudio 7

Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-30-2009, 08:18 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

All the Cowons I've looked at don't support AAC, do any of them support AAC?

If not, I would also like to know why, anyone know? They support everything else. . .
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
cowon, i9, iaudio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.