android
  #21  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:58 AM
gino_76ph gino_76ph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 178
Default

i think i can read thank you very much. but:

can you add songs to a playlist and delete songs on-the-fly and not needing a 3rd-party software? and does it have bluetooth? ('coz it doesn't say)

and a UK or US release date please?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 09-17-2009, 01:04 AM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 434
Default

no bluetooth, bluetooth is pointless and if people wanted it it would have been included.

the radio is probably not RDS and so far no info regarding deleting songs off the player.

the players have new firmware but seem to have a similar feel to the old walkmans but it is unknown if playlist creation the device was added.

you do not need any 3rd party software to add playlists to the walkmams, you cam use windows explorer to make playlists in mere seconds.
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 09-17-2009, 06:29 AM
make_or_break make_or_break is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Screw da' Z:HD!!!!! MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was thinking the same for the X-series.
__________________
Zune HD, Koss PortaPros/Senn IE-8
I rather have a Sig in hand than two birds in some dumb bush...


Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 09-17-2009, 11:43 AM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Any chance the A-Series will have gapless playback?
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:04 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quintets_man View Post
Any chance the A-Series will have gapless playback?
What's been said is only the Japanese model will have gapless, c/o Sonic Stage & Sony's ATRAC codec. I hope that they give us mp3 gapless, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Still, this is a player that I've wanted for quite some time from Sony, and I didn't expect it so soon. Damn, am I happy about this 1.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 09-17-2009, 01:20 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascariss View Post
http://www.sonyinsider.com/2009/09/1...64gb-capacity/

me wants, this is hot and 64 gig rawr.
Drool. "Me want."
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 09-17-2009, 01:28 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quintets_man View Post
Any chance the A-Series will have gapless playback?

The new S series is gapless. That's right! I have a new S545 and it's gapless for mp3 (I should have waited for this Aseries though lol). But one warning. Some songs the timing is off by a microsecond but still far better than the previous non gapless Sony players. Meaning, the next song would play a microsecond too late for some songs. So make sure you encode your music correctly. I haven't tested AAC or wma yet though.

With that said, I'm sure the A series will be gapless too.

Edit: AAC and WMA all play gapless. But some songs are off a microsecond. Not really noticeable unless you are trying to listen for it.

Last edited by h1a8; 09-19-2009 at 08:05 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 09-17-2009, 09:28 PM
GTR Mclaren GTR Mclaren is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Default

what is gapless ??
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 09-17-2009, 11:04 PM
a_tumiwa's Avatar
a_tumiwa a_tumiwa is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1,058
Default

play 1 track to another track without transition time
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 09-18-2009, 12:41 AM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTR Mclaren View Post
what is gapless ??
Some albums or multiple tracks are recorded as if it is 1 continuous track (or song). Dance mixes, classical, live concerts, etc.

If a player doesn't support gapless then they always insert a gap between two tracks. The gap could be silence or a clicking or beeping noise.

In short, a gapless player would play the tracks like how a cd player would.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:23 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Gapless playback
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 09-18-2009, 10:23 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Currently saving every penny I've got and living like a monk until this comes out(I've just bought a Nokia 5800 too).
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 09-18-2009, 10:44 AM
JonathanC JonathanC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Embarrassing n00b question: does its being able to play AAC mean it can play Apple Lossless? Or not? I'm almost certain the answer is no but I feel like asking a stupid question.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:04 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanC View Post
Embarrassing n00b question: does its being able to play AAC mean it can play Apple Lossless? Or not? I'm almost certain the answer is no but I feel like asking a stupid question.
No, no apple lossless (ALAC). It will play WAV as it's lossless codec, but the files are HUGE!!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:12 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascariss View Post
all new walkmans support drag and drop, MTP and UMS, so why would this one be any different?
How do you get UMS on an S545?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:15 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h1a8 View Post
The new S series is gapless. That's right! I have a new S545 and it's gapless for mp3 (I should have waited for this Aseries though lol). But one warning. Some songs the timing is off by a microsecond but still far better than the previous non gapless Sony players. Meaning, the next song would play a microsecond too late for some songs. So make sure you encode your music correctly. I haven't tested AAC or wma yet though.

With that said, I'm sure the A series will be gapless too.
It's very close....not quite truly gapless, but it is very, very close, some songs you don't hear any transition, some just the tiniest bit.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 09-19-2009, 04:17 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

I've got my money saved for this 64gb beauty!!!!! WooT,..............I'm so impatient!!!
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 09-19-2009, 04:22 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

I know man, I'm waiting to see if I can afford 32gb otherwise 16gb is the way to go.
__________________
Have: Sony S616/JVC Marshmallows/Sennheiser HD202/NuForce-NE6
Want: ?

Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 09-19-2009, 04:44 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

64gb or BUST!!!!! That's why the Zund HD is so irrelevant to me, since this is my dream Sony. Dreamnine and I have been hoping for something like this, and everything else is second fiddle. The Z:HD is a fine device, but this,....................DROOL!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 09-19-2009, 04:54 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Yeah - screw everything else. This is the one.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.