android
  #1  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:20 PM
blutoband blutoband is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Sansa C250 (v.3) loop-skips thru files, won't play

I bought a refurbished Sansa C250- my first mp3 portable (the internal menu says it's Version V03.02.05A). I put in an 8G memory card, then prepped, dragged & dropped a ton of music onto it (and onto the int. mem.), nearly filling it. The unit freaked, I guess- wouldn't play. I deleted files and- after dropping a lot of files- it played some songs, but it would freeze on certain titles. I switched on Random Play and it began to "random skip" along- thru titles, but just displayng name for a moment, then moving on. I've tried formatting the unit via internal command, then reformatting the mem. cards with my computer (thru the C250), and then loading a few albums on-- the skipping problem persists.

I guess I need to reset/initialize/reboot the unit. I understand there's some updates available that might even allow it to handle the big memory card. If I could just get it to play what I load into it I'd be happy!


Can anyone help me?

Thanks for reading and for your kind reply.
blutoband
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:24 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,616
Default

What format are your audio files in?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:20 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,405
Default

The c250 doesn't support 8 GB cards. Check here for max card sizes.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:45 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
The c250 doesn't support 8 GB cards. Check here for max card sizes.
Huh. That's weird. I would have thought, since all the v2 players came out with microSDHC support, that all of them would support the highest available microSDHC capacity. Guess not.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-04-2009, 08:53 PM
blutoband blutoband is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
The c250 doesn't support 8 GB cards. Check here for max card sizes.
Hmmm. according to your link "For 03.xx.xx firmware (e200 version 2) - up to 16GB microSDHC cards" are supported. And my C250 is a v03. Shouldn't that cover it? Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-04-2009, 08:53 PM
blutoband blutoband is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
What format are your audio files in?
MP3
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-04-2009, 09:09 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blutoband View Post
Hmmm. according to your link "For 03.xx.xx firmware (e200 version 2) - up to 16GB microSDHC cards" are supported. And my C250 is a v03. Shouldn't that cover it? Thanks.
Do you have a c250 or a e250?
c250
For 03.xx.xx firmware (c200 version 2) - up to 4GB microSDHC cards

e250
For 03.xx.xx firmware (e200 version 2) - up to 16GB microSDHC cards

Different players with different capabilities.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-05-2009, 01:39 PM
blutoband blutoband is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Do you have a c250 or a e250?
c250
For 03.xx.xx firmware (c200 version 2) - up to 4GB microSDHC cards

e250
For 03.xx.xx firmware (e200 version 2) - up to 16GB microSDHC cards

Different players with different capabilities.

I see-- thanks. But do you guys know how I might get it to stop flipping thru titles?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-05-2009, 06:56 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blutoband View Post
I see-- thanks. But do you guys know how I might get it to stop flipping thru titles?
Was it playing the songs that came preloaded?

You may just need to reset the database without the incompatible card in place.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-12-2009, 10:24 AM
blutoband blutoband is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Was it playing the songs that came preloaded?

You may just need to reset the database without the incompatible card in place.
I took the 8GB card out and reformatted everything and... all better! Many thanks to all who replied.

Now-- you guys know anybody who wants an 8GB microcard?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.