android
  #1  
Old 06-28-2009, 11:09 PM
Redblade Redblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chibougamau, QC, Canada
Posts: 24
Unhappy Windows won't recognize my S9

Hi everyone...

I've just downloaded the 1.31 firmware on my S9. Update works fine, bue when I've connect it onto my laptop, Windows vista said me that: Device not recognized or something like this... Dont know why, but i can still charge it.

I decided to format it from another computer, worked, but same problem as seen on my laptop, but this time, on ALL PC...

I can open it with no problems, but there is nothing inside, formatted


Hope I can repair this, i bought it from ebay from a power seller, dont think i can ship it to them...

does someone knows how fix that???
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-29-2009, 03:26 PM
feralspecies feralspecies is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I am in the same position as you!

It worked for a bit, and now it doesnt even recognise it.

Does anyone know how to delete the firmware i installed and put it back to factory original???
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-29-2009, 03:27 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

If your S9 is set to MTP mode, set it to MSC.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-29-2009, 11:03 PM
Redblade Redblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chibougamau, QC, Canada
Posts: 24
Default

tryed it on my laptop, and it didn't worked...

But i've tryed it on another computer with XP, not Vista and worked well.

Tanks dfkt!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-30-2009, 06:00 PM
don527 don527 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redblade View Post
tryed it on my laptop, and it didn't worked...

But i've tryed it on another computer with XP, not Vista and worked well.
You said Vista? Did you installed Vista SP1 or do you still have the normal release version?
I know Vista SP1 has some USB problems. After the update to SP1, a lot of usb devices won't be recognized anymore..
This could be your problem. Can you confirm your Vista version?
__________________
Players: Cowon S9 (16GB), Ipod mini 2nd gen(dead)
Headphones: Sennheiser MX450, Creative EP-830, Phonak Audeo PFE
Amp: FiiO E5, Penguine Caffeine
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-29-2009, 01:41 PM
Sir Sidney Sir Sidney is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Thumb Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
If your S9 is set to MTP mode, set it to MSC.
I just registered on here to give my appreciation of that post.

Got my S9 today, and damn thing would not connect to PC. Fiddled on for 4 hours searching net etc trying to find solution. That post fixed it, and now I'm a happy S9 user.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:21 PM
Redblade Redblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chibougamau, QC, Canada
Posts: 24
Default

Yes, i had the SP1 on vista... now running on SP2.

works well when on MSC mode.

Thanks again for your help!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.