android
  #21  
Old 06-27-2009, 02:23 PM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackconan View Post
Since i play the same single with mediamonkey. Media Monkey cut out like the last 5 sec of a song and play the next.
That's not gapless. J. River Media Center has that option too, it's "Do not play silence (leading and trailing)". But there's a seperate option for switching tracks (gap/gapless/crossfade(smooth/aggressive)). It'll cut the silence in all modes.
__________________
I'm never gonna know you now, but I'm gonna love you anyhow
Elliot Smith - Waltz 2 (XO)
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 06-27-2009, 06:19 PM
PodConvert PodConvert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
Default

I suppose I shouldn't complain, but I was really hoping they'd include gapless OGG/Vorbis support. FLAC's (or any lossless format really) are a bit big to carry around on the S9
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 06-27-2009, 06:21 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Same here, I only care for LAME MP3 gapless, nothing else. ~100% of my files are LAME -v0. But seeing as this is a huge step for Cowon (the hugest so far, in my opinion - none of that silly calculator, widget, dictionary, or image viewer nonsense - but a real improvement) I'd give them some time until the next firmware release.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 06-27-2009, 08:39 PM
PodConvert PodConvert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
Default

I'd prefer LAME gapless, but I think I vaguely remember ogg gapless being easier to implement/support.
All my new tracks are ripped to FLAC and transcoded on sync to S9, so ogg gapless would be an option. I actually slightly prefer the sound of ogg at medium-high bitrates. But since I suspect there's no hardware decoding, I'd rather have higher bitrate mp3s and improved battery life.
My old collection (still a substantial part of my current collection) is all LAME mp3, so I would very much welcome mp3 gapless. Mostly because re-ripping is a pain in the rear.

Last edited by PodConvert; 06-27-2009 at 08:45 PM. Reason: my english sucks
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 06-27-2009, 10:03 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

It's best to get an external hard drive or two and rip your cd collection to flac. That way you don't have to re-rip ever again.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 06-27-2009, 10:07 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Cowon with gapless

Hell hath frozen over!

But seriously I think cowon needed to do this to survive. Otherwise it was going to get clobbered by the end of the year by the new Zune HD, new ipod, and new Sony (when Sony drops the price). This was a survival tactic fellas.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 06-28-2009, 02:51 AM
Tezmin556 Tezmin556 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -----
Posts: 148
Default

I would of thought that this has been one of the big firmware updates yet and therefore warrants a 1.40.

Not that it matters.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 06-28-2009, 05:49 AM
DanielF50 DanielF50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 94
Default

I love the typist, but I dont think it warrants the 2.40 name unless they add MP3 Gapless and put gapless in Settings, instead of constantly having it on (When its out of beta ofc)

Dan
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB - Zen Vision M 30GB - Zen Stone 1GB
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 06-28-2009, 06:15 AM
pacikbu pacikbu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Hi there, a n00b here
Why are there two firmwares and not only a one? Do you add both of them or only one? I tried updating to 3.31 but my S9 just ignored me
though it did update to 1.31. Why is it? Can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 06-28-2009, 07:39 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

1.31 is for korean S9s with dictionary but no DMB hardware on board. 3.31 is for S9s with DMB tuners on board. Eventually there will be a 2.21 version for the rest of us, with no dictionary and no DMB.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 06-28-2009, 10:24 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tezmin556 View Post
I would of thought that this has been one of the big firmware updates yet and therefore warrants a 1.40.

Not that it matters.
Just one more example of how Cowon's firmware numbering scheme has no meaning whatsoever.

For example, the Cowon D2 firmware 2.50 beta was much more stable than the following 2.50 final firmware, and so on...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 07-01-2009, 06:31 PM
aznstriker92 aznstriker92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 20
Default

How do I know if my M3U files are extended or simple? I saved my playlists as M3U off of mediamonkey.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 07-24-2009, 02:18 AM
newone newone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 146
Default

There is a new beta2 for 1.31 and 3.31 which includes gapless support for mp3 files!

EDIt: 2.31 Beta 2 out as well:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=45431
__________________
Claw's Wallpaper UI Wiki:
http://claw.wikidot.com/

Last edited by newone; 07-24-2009 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 07-24-2009, 07:04 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Same here, I only care for LAME MP3 gapless, nothing else. ~100% of my files are LAME -v0.
You got your wish, dfkt. I have absolutely NO doubt they did it specifically for you.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:09 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, yes, yes! I've been waiting for that fix since the days of the M3>X5>D2>etc... I never thought it would happen on any Cowon player without Rockbox. Thank you Cowon, after all these years.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.