android
  #501  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:58 AM
daglesj daglesj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
And I'd suggest reading all the prior posts, unless ya's want the natives to get restless.

Erm yeah I know, I was one of the main advocates of those posts back then.



So no one wants to take on the coding challenge?

I'd pay $10 for it as an app.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #502  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:05 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,046
Default

I hear ya bro,....but MS is on their own.
Reply With Quote

  #503  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:46 AM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daglesj View Post
Yeah I just thought a SYNC tab in WMP would be fine but oh no. Sacrilidge apparently.

All we need is a clever coder to make a straight no nonsense sync tool and 'wham' bye bye Zune software.

Would make the Zune a more attractive option for a lot of folks I reckon.
I know, but you'd think the Zune could sync to WMP at least seeing as its from Microsoft(I could be wrong on that) but apparently it doesn't work that way

Last edited by quintets_man; 09-02-2009 at 12:07 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #504  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:51 AM
oppizzippo's Avatar
oppizzippo oppizzippo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Terre Haute IN
Posts: 296
Default

Dave,

Can you comment on if there are new Zune Premium headphones coming out, should I wait to buy new headphones? Also are you using a case with your ZHD, what kind is it, leather, silicon, other?

Thanks!
Cory
__________________
First rule in roadside beet sales, put the most attractive beets on top. The ones that make you pull the car over and go “wow, I need this beet right now.” Those are the money beets.
-Dwight from The Office(American Version)
Reply With Quote

  #505  
Old 09-02-2009, 02:09 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Read the specifications posted earlier, as my comments are regarding it. It seems to imply 784kbps is the highest it'll support, even though some WMA lossless files are around 800-1000.
They need to go that high to ensure their accuracy. If they were limited down to 784kbps then they would lose that accuracy and no longer be lossless.

Someone later suggested that its referring to a combination of a 784kbps bit rate and a 48khz sample rate. But even that doesn't make sense, because if the audio was truly sampled at 48khz it would still need all the head room it requires for the bit rate in order to insure accuracy.

I assume its a typo, because again the previous Zunes have no problem with WMA lossless at bit rates above 1000kbps, and I dought they'd down play that......but then again....
When they say 'up to' they really mean 'down to'. In other words the Zune HD can play any wma lossless as long as the bitrate is higher than or equal to 784kbps.
Reply With Quote

  #506  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:05 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

I doubt that. There is no reason that there would be a minimum bitrate on a lossless codec, except if the device couldn't handle the computational work required to 're-constitute' the bitstream. These lossless codecs are designed to be asymmetrical in computational requirements though, so the decode requires much less muscle than the encode. With a fancy new Nvidia chip powering this thing, I seriously doubt we have to worry about overstressing the thing with a lossless audio codec.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #507  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:55 PM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h1a8 View Post
When they say 'up to' they really mean 'down to'. In other words the Zune HD can play any wma lossless as long as the bitrate is higher than or equal to 784kbps.
I don't see the logic in that statement.

I still think the specs are either a typo, or they meant to say it as an averaged bitrate.
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2

Last edited by Leroy Bad; 09-02-2009 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #508  
Old 09-03-2009, 12:32 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Did Dave ever comment if the Zune HD will output non-HD content via the headphone jack with an A/V cable?
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #509  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:34 PM
DarkPotato's Avatar
DarkPotato DarkPotato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 124
Default

hm, I have another quesetion regarding the web browser. I've heard people say that the web browser is similar to the Ipod Touch's but Dave said that the Zune HD's web browser is a full browser (full pages of Facebook/etc., instead of mobile versions). But my friend who has an Ipod Touch uses the mobile version of facebook on the Ipod touch....
__________________
Sony A728
SOON: Zune HD!!!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #510  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:07 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

So, the iPod Touch has a full browser too.

However, some sites offer a customized version of their website for portable devices. If they detect you're on a portable device, they'll feed you their mobile version.

The problem is - many of us now have full browsers on portable devices, and prefer to see the full size page. That's where there is sometimes confusion.

So yes, the Zune HD browser is a full browser and capable of viewing full size pages with double tap zooms and pinch to zoom in/out. However, some sites will recognize it as being a portable device and will feed their mobile version instead.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #511  
Old 09-03-2009, 05:56 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Machiventa View Post
Did Dave ever comment if the Zune HD will output non-HD content via the headphone jack with an A/V cable?
Oh Dave-Mac, you missed 1,...........
Reply With Quote

  #512  
Old 09-03-2009, 06:13 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Hi Dave,

Sorry if this question has already been asked, but I was wondering if the Zune HD will have apps/games like the iPod Touch?

-McDougal
Reply With Quote

  #513  
Old 09-03-2009, 06:48 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Hi Dave,

Sorry if this question has already been asked, but I was wondering if the Zune HD will have apps/games like the iPod Touch?

-McDougal
Read through the threads dedicated to the Zune:HD, as this question has been asked numerous times.
Reply With Quote

  #514  
Old 09-03-2009, 08:53 PM
ElSuperBeasto ElSuperBeasto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Default

Hey Dave, you guys have a company store in Redmond right? I just moved to the Bellevue area and I'm wondering if there's any place around here where I can demo the Zune HD, since I missed the Best-Buy demo.
Reply With Quote

  #515  
Old 09-03-2009, 08:54 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Yup, we do have a company store and a visitor museum too. However, I'm not sure the Zune HD is in either just yet (at least not until launch)...

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #516  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:56 PM
lessthanadam lessthanadam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Will the Zune HD support WiFi connectivity through VPN?
Reply With Quote

  #517  
Old 09-05-2009, 02:07 AM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

Since it supports Unicode, does it mean it will have multi-language keyboards too? Maybe you can choose the language of your choice as a default keyboard?
Reply With Quote

  #518  
Old 09-06-2009, 12:38 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Forgive me if this has been answered before, but how do the background images on the Now Playing Screen work? Do I get to add them myself by or does the Zune Software find what is appropriate for me?
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #519  
Old 09-06-2009, 02:46 AM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

Dave, since we can now download songs on the go, can we delete them on the go? I think it's a pretty critical thing to have.
Reply With Quote

  #520  
Old 09-06-2009, 08:48 PM
Maxis Maxis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oppizzippo View Post
Dave,

Can you comment on if there are new Zune Premium headphones coming out, should I wait to buy new headphones? Also are you using a case with your ZHD, what kind is it, leather, silicon, other?

Thanks!
Cory
I would highly suggest you buy a decent pair of entry to mid level In ear monitors such as phonak audeo, Shure, sleek Audio, Ultimate Ears (My personal favorite) or Sensheisers rather than buying Zune premiums; especially if you are a little bit more than a casual listener of music. Conversely, If you don't actively audition your music and simply want something that sounds better than average then no probs get the premiums.

Just a little advice

Cheers
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
dave, microsoft, questions, zune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.