android
  #481  
Old 08-31-2009, 08:01 PM
DarkPotato's Avatar
DarkPotato DarkPotato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 124
Default

awesome, so with the web browser, I can go on Facebook (non-mobile)!!!

oh, and btw, can you give us any info on how much battery life is used with the web browser?
__________________
Sony A728
SOON: Zune HD!!!!!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #482  
Old 08-31-2009, 08:25 PM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
I asked one of our developers, and here is the answer I got:



Cheers, Dave.
Thank you for following up on that for me!
Yes I've discovered there were other options later on, its just that neither the Zune Software nor Media Monkey (My primary music ripper/library) has options for WMA-L.
My real question though was about the 784kbps bitrate limitation for lossless audio in the specifications. How can it be lossless if its limited?
I' assume that the functionality will be no different from the previous Zunes, but its just confusing statement.
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #483  
Old 08-31-2009, 10:32 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Thank you for following up on that for me!
Yes I've discovered there were other options later on, its just that neither the Zune Software nor Media Monkey (My primary music ripper/library) has options for WMA-L.
My real question though was about the 784kbps bitrate limitation for lossless audio in the specifications. How can it be lossless if its limited?
I' assume that the functionality will be no different from the previous Zunes, but its just confusing statement.
When you say limited are you implying that 784kbps is the lowest it can go and you would prefer it go lower?

If so, then know that 784kbps is 55.56% compression which is nearly neck and neck with Monkey's Ape. Going any lower would make it have the best compression of all lossless codecs.
Reply With Quote

  #484  
Old 08-31-2009, 10:38 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
But to comment specifically on your last point <Pause button> - the competition doesn't have dedicated buttons for pause either. In using the device, I've not had a problem with the button layout or functionality at all. Cheers, Dave.
So the Touch was the only device that was considered competition. OK. I undertand that reasoning. However the Touch does have dedicated volume buttons. Is there no one at MS creative enough to think ahead a bit? It may not be a problem for you to tap once to get to shuttle and volume controls, but it would have saved you a few thousand taps by now if you hadn't needed that tap. How about bettering the competition's hardware? Is that too scary for the team? That side button could have been a volume rocker which paused or started the music when pressed in the center. My two favorite touchscreen players right now are my Samsung P2 and Cowon S9. Both have external Pause/Play and Volume +/-. The Cowon adds track fwd/back. Even Sony was smart enough to put external buttons for volume, track, and pause/play on their X series. Samsung left out an external play/pause on it's P3 and sales have been so bad the P3 is being discounted all over the web.
Reply With Quote

  #485  
Old 08-31-2009, 11:00 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olley View Post
Samsung left out an external play/pause on it's P3 and sales have been so bad the P3 is being discounted all over the web.
Really? Where? I love the Samsung sound.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #486  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:17 AM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

This has probably already been asked but I don't feel like reading through 400+ posts so I'll ask anyway

1)Does the Zune HD have enough dedicated controls? (as in fast forward, rewind, Play/pause, deicated volume controls, hold button)

2)Does it still have to be used with the Zune Marketplace? Seeing as I like the have the option of how to put my music on my DAP (Personally prefer Drag'n'Drop)

3)Does it have an expansion slot? (I hate having to replace a good DAP because I ran out of memory)

4)Does it have Gapless Playback? (Not really necessary, but Ipods can manage it)
Reply With Quote

  #487  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:00 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quintets_man View Post
This has probably already been asked but I don't feel like reading through 400+ posts so I'll ask anyway

1)Does the Zune HD have enough dedicated controls? (as in fast forward, rewind, Play/pause, deicated volume controls, hold button)

2)Does it still have to be used with the Zune Marketplace? Seeing as I like the have the option of how to put my music on my DAP (Personally prefer Drag'n'Drop)

3)Does it have an expansion slot? (I hate having to replace a good DAP because I ran out of memory)

4)Does it have Gapless Playback? (Not really necessary, but Ipods can manage it)
1) No

2) Yes

3) No

4) I think so....the current Zunes do.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #488  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:00 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h1a8 View Post
When you say limited are you implying that 784kbps is the lowest it can go and you would prefer it go lower?

If so, then know that 784kbps is 55.56% compression which is nearly neck and neck with Monkey's Ape. Going any lower would make it have the best compression of all lossless codecs.
Read the specifications posted earlier, as my comments are regarding it. It seems to imply 784kbps is the highest it'll support, even though some WMA lossless files are around 800-1000.
They need to go that high to ensure their accuracy. If they were limited down to 784kbps then they would lose that accuracy and no longer be lossless.

Someone later suggested that its referring to a combination of a 784kbps bit rate and a 48khz sample rate. But even that doesn't make sense, because if the audio was truly sampled at 48khz it would still need all the head room it requires for the bit rate in order to insure accuracy.

I assume its a typo, because again the previous Zunes have no problem with WMA lossless at bit rates above 1000kbps, and I dought they'd down play that......but then again....
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2

Last edited by Leroy Bad; 09-01-2009 at 04:10 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #489  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:15 AM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
1) No

2) Yes

3) No

4) I think so....the current Zunes do.
Thanks for the answers. Guess that means I won't be getting a Zune HD
Reply With Quote

  #490  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:53 AM
CheeToS CheeToS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
2) Yes
Um, I'm pretty sure you don't have to purchase your music from the Marketplace in order to get it on the device.
Reply With Quote

  #491  
Old 09-01-2009, 11:23 AM
CF's Avatar
CF CF is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheeToS View Post
Um, I'm pretty sure you don't have to purchase your music from the Marketplace in order to get it on the device.
Correct. All you need is the Zune software, which will sync your music library (if the formats are compatible).
__________________
Cowon S9 16gb
Shure Se210 Earbud Headphones
Reply With Quote

  #492  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:04 PM
Dan12R Dan12R is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Dave, will the Zune HD need an HDCP display in order to output HD (with the dock of course)?
Reply With Quote

  #493  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:47 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheeToS View Post
Um, I'm pretty sure you don't have to purchase your music from the Marketplace in order to get it on the device.
Quote:
Originally Posted by circus_freak View Post
Correct. All you need is the Zune software, which will sync your music library (if the formats are compatible).
The point is you NEED to use the Zune software to sync the device (same as all Zunes), that was the point of the question. No, you can rip your own music, but you're REQUIRED to use the software - PERIOD.
Reply With Quote

  #494  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:13 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheeToS View Post
Um, I'm pretty sure you don't have to purchase your music from the Marketplace in order to get it on the device.
Quote:
Originally Posted by circus_freak View Post
Correct. All you need is the Zune software, which will sync your music library (if the formats are compatible).
That's what I meant....the software.(maybe I should sleep more?)
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #495  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:14 PM
hawkshot's Avatar
hawkshot hawkshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 129
Default

They are killing off all current zunes. LINK

This better not mean that my zune 80 will be stuck with the 3.1 firmware. It really made me angry that the transition from 3.0->3.1 killed gapless with my mp3s and aac and I was hoping 4.0 would fix it.
__________________
You don't have to fight the monster, at first you can run away. Later on you can blind it causing it to fall off the balcony. When the opportunity arrives, push it off the bridge. If you have time, you can even put the beast out of its misery.
Reply With Quote

  #496  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:54 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkshot View Post
They are killing off all current zunes. LINK

This better not mean that my zune 80 will be stuck with the 3.1 firmware. It really made me angry that the transition from 3.0->3.1 killed gapless with my mp3s and aac and I was hoping 4.0 would fix it.
I can understand why their getting rid of the Zune 16 and below as I've never actually seen anybody with them.

But I don't get why their getting rid of the Zune 30 and above when their the only Zunes I've ever seen people buy.
Reply With Quote

  #497  
Old 09-01-2009, 11:23 PM
quintets_man's Avatar
quintets_man quintets_man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 533
Default

At Dave

Is their any chance that Microsoft will let us choose how we transfer media with the Zune HD(or Zunes in general)?
Reply With Quote

  #498  
Old 09-02-2009, 01:51 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quintets_man View Post
At Dave

Is their any chance that Microsoft will let us choose how we transfer media with the Zune HD(or Zunes in general)?
No. It has been previously discussed

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
The point is you NEED to use the Zune software to sync the device (same as all Zunes), ... but you're REQUIRED to use the software - PERIOD.
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #499  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:25 AM
daglesj daglesj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by copeys View Post
No. It has been previously discussed
Yeah I just thought a SYNC tab in WMP would be fine but oh no. Sacrilidge apparently.

All we need is a clever coder to make a straight no nonsense sync tool and 'wham' bye bye Zune software.

Would make the Zune a more attractive option for a lot of folks I reckon.
Reply With Quote

  #500  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:32 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daglesj View Post
Yeah I just thought a SYNC tab in WMP would be fine but oh no. Sacrilidge apparently.

All we need is a clever coder to make a straight no nonsense sync tool and 'wham' bye bye Zune software.

Would make the Zune a more attractive option for a lot of folks I reckon.
Not to shoot you down, but we all covered our displeasure at being locked into the Zune software/ecosystem already - it's DOA. The point is, if you don't mind the restrictions, then the Zune is for you. If you need freedom to choose, move along little doggie, there's nothing for ya' here to see,.....

The Zune isn't for everyone, that's the main gist of it. And I'd suggest reading all the prior posts, unless ya's want the natives to get restless.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
dave, microsoft, questions, zune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.