android
  #21  
Old 06-12-2009, 12:31 PM
Action Action is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I'm looking for the output amplification modules used to power the headphone jack. If I wanted to replace the existing amp module with something better, where could it be found and what is it?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:07 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

If you do not have any skills with SMT you should drop the idea of replacing any modules. In most microelectronics of this size it is usually integrated directly in the sound processor, meaning you can't replace it without having to rewrite the firmware to support any new sound processor you put in.

It would have to be located somewhere on the main board under the sub-board. You will have to desolder the sub-board to get to what you want.

Better solution to your issue would be to use an external amp like the fiio or what ever else they would recommend here at ABI.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 06-16-2009, 09:00 PM
paulr paulr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 144
Default

If you have a caliper available, can you post the exact (or anyway as exact as feasible) dimensions of the battery, particularly the thickness? I always want that info in order to figure out possible replacement batteries. For example, there is a Nokia cell phone battery that fits into the D2, if you do a little soldering to get the wires in the right place.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 06-16-2009, 10:17 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

I already give you that answer over at iaudiophile.net here.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:13 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Trikon000, could you make out which specific Telechips SoC the S9 runs on?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:42 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

It is not visible from the pictures, it would have to be under the sub-board.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:03 AM
tma888 tma888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Action View Post
I'm looking for the output amplification modules used to power the headphone jack. If I wanted to replace the existing amp module with something better, where could it be found and what is it?
Action, another idea is this:

Buy on of those cheap external amp like the Fiio E5, dissect it and remove the internal board.

Locate the output input and output signal, then tap those signal with the signal coming from the headphone jack of the S9.

Also make sure to tap the power of the E5 with the power pins on the USB pins of the S9 that way when you charge the S9, you are also charging the E5 simultaneously.

I opened the S9 and there is enough space in the back casing to fit the board of the E5.

Im thinking of this aswell but as of now, I still dont see the need to amplify the output signal of the S9 since it is more than enough for the earphones Im using.

HTH,

TMA.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:13 AM
tma888 tma888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Trikon,

Being the first one to open the S9, do you see any posibility of adding a micro sd slot and connecting it in parallel to the I/O controller to increase the storage?

I am currently reading on the data sheet of the I/O controller of the S9 figuring a way to tap a micro sd host without interrupting the process flow. Im likely to find it sooner or later but if you are willing, we can corraborate on this to hack the I/O bypassing the cpu and making it think that the additional memory is native to the board.

TMA.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:11 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

Even if you could add one internally, you still need code written with the firmware to read and write to the microSD. without a working custom firmware available, this type of hardware hack is not fesible at the time being.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 07-27-2009, 01:51 PM
maikon maikon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 35
Default

so they are using somekind of duct tape on the batteryattached on lcd ?

Lol is that the reason why they only recommend the pmp to be only at 0 - 40 degrees celsius so the ducttape doesnt melt away and so it wouldnt froze and get deattached
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 07-28-2009, 12:37 AM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

It is not duct tape.

operating temp is more for the battery than anything else.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:57 AM
mgz mgz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 168
Default

yea batteries currently used tend to get toward danger levels in much hotter temps like 110f or so if they are on for long period of time or say in your pocket insulated by pants

and the cold just makes batteries not work until they heat up some.
__________________
Zen Vision:W 30g (HDD experimentation in progress)
Zen Nomad Jukebox 40gig(dead)
Zen Touch 30g ( RIP)
Cowon A3 30g (working just fine)
Cowon O2 32gb /w 8gb SD Card(brand new hooray)
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 08-13-2009, 01:49 PM
dominator025 dominator025 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 37
Default

what are the benefits of doing this
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 12-27-2009, 03:50 AM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominator025 View Post
what are the benefits of doing this
Doing what, specifically? Opening the player?
So that hackers/modders can figure out how to tinker with this thing and make it AWESOME.
Replacing the battery?
To get longer battery life. Or to replace a broken one.
Doing the thing with the amp?
To get better sound quality.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:47 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominator025 View Post
what are the benefits of doing this
Examples of such are:

replacing the battery
cleanning the insides
replacing the lcd if broken
upgrade outer shell to something better like a chome version
adding a gps logger to the inside in case of theft
replace the back with a clear back if someone ever decides to sell such a thing
documenting the inside hardware when current documentation is non-existant
internal modding of hardware



Reverse Engineering begins with taking things apart either physically or by thoughly mapping out the behavior of the inputs and outputs.


You can come back in 5 years when your mp3 player dies and you find the need to replace yours.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 12-31-2009, 07:38 PM
ender10 ender10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

hi trikon, great guide. sorry to bother you with this, but would disassembling my S9 (assuming my warranty will not cover my following problem) allow me to fix my decrease volume button on the top left, which is permanently depressed?

it appears that the button cover is not stuck, but rather the button pad below it. I'll try to explain better if needed
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-01-2010, 04:24 AM
jphamvn jphamvn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Does it matter what mAh I have for the battery replacement? I know its Lithium Polymer @ 3.7v and...thats it lol
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-01-2010, 05:31 AM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

mAh does matter both for size and run time, to big and it won't fit, too small and you won't have much run time.



ender, it should allow you to fix it, but I wouldn't really know.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:08 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

@ender10
You most likely broke the piece of plastic that acts as the pivot. If it is still under warranty, they would fix that.

@jphamvn
No it really doesn't matter what the mAh replacement battery you want to use. The only thing you need to know is if it isn't the same as the original, any battery tests and metrics do not really apply anymore. Things like battery life will be alot less if your mAh is lower, etc. You would have to find out what your metrics are for the replacement battery.

Last edited by trikon000; 01-01-2010 at 01:49 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:22 AM
jphamvn jphamvn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I wanted to measure it but I had to bag it and safely recycle/dispose since it was visibly leaking.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.