android
  #1  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:27 AM
CountRumford CountRumford is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default My e270v1 is stuck at "Key LOCKED \ System Shutdown"

I've tried searching this forum and found lots about how to flash my firmware, but I couldn't find anyone else who was having exactly my problem.

Every time I turn it on, I get the "Key LOCKED, System Shutdown" message.
I can boot it to recovery mode.
I can use the sansa.fmt trick.
I can make it upgrade/downgrade to different firmware versions.
I even tried taking the battery out and waiting, then doing all of the above.
(I can see the VERSION.TXT file, which has all relevant information, but does have a lot of extra blank characters at the end. It does not appear to be corrupted.)

But after doing all those things, it still gives me that message when I turn it on, no matter which way the Lock switch is turned.

Is my switch broken? I just bought it "refurbished" and this is the only way it has behaved ever since I opened the box.

I'm starting to think Sansa must be one of the worst MP3 makers on the market if they can't be bothered to support their own products, or write firmware that doesn't bug out on half the players. I guess the premium you pay for an iPod or Zune goes toward making the damn thing work.

I've got plenty of experience with Linux, and you know why I use Windows right now? I'm sick and tired of creating accounts on forums and reading 50 pages to get my problem solved.

Yes I'm bitter.

Last edited by CountRumford; 05-28-2009 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-31-2009, 02:13 PM
vcbc707 vcbc707 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default

sliding the hold switch to the left when you are looking at the front turns off hold. It doesnt turn on when the hold switch is on. Yours is probably broken.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:47 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Open it up and see if the hold switch is broken.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-31-2009, 08:45 PM
carpenter940 carpenter940 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Open it up and see if the hold switch is broken.

I second this. The slide for the hold switch is made of plastic and may not be able to actually switch it. Open it up so you can get to the switch by hand.
__________________
My Themes:
dancing cat Miss LED BECScope Mickey Heavy Metal
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-01-2009, 08:00 PM
BE BOLD's Avatar
BE BOLD BE BOLD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 10
Default

did you try formatting it or is there dust under there?
__________________
I LOVE MY AMERICAN RIDE

Last edited by BE BOLD; 11-03-2009 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:21 PM
sgreen2876 sgreen2876 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CountRumford View Post
I've tried searching this forum and found lots about how to flash my firmware, but I couldn't find anyone else who was having exactly my problem.

Every time I turn it on, I get the "Key LOCKED, System Shutdown" message.
I can boot it to recovery mode.
I can use the sansa.fmt trick.
I can make it upgrade/downgrade to different firmware versions.
I even tried taking the battery out and waiting, then doing all of the above.
(I can see the VERSION.TXT file, which has all relevant information, but does have a lot of extra blank characters at the end. It does not appear to be corrupted.)

But after doing all those things, it still gives me that message when I turn it on, no matter which way the Lock switch is turned.

Is my switch broken? I just bought it "refurbished" and this is the only way it has behaved ever since I opened the box.

I'm starting to think Sansa must be one of the worst MP3 makers on the market if they can't be bothered to support their own products, or write firmware that doesn't bug out on half the players. I guess the premium you pay for an iPod or Zune goes toward making the damn thing work.

I've got plenty of experience with Linux, and you know why I use Windows right now? I'm sick and tired of creating accounts on forums and reading 50 pages to get my problem solved.

Yes I'm bitter.
The switch is made of thin plastic and is broken. You must remove the back cover and the front face plate and remove the broken switch. Use very small screw drivers to remove the broken pieces of the switch. Push the switch in the player to on and close the unit.

You will not have a hold switch however your sansa player will now work.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-16-2010, 06:32 AM
aarons510 aarons510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 95
Default

It's possible that the switch isn't broken but that the switch on the logic board and the slider that moves it are not properly aligned. If the switch was in the hold position when the logic board was put back into the casing, but the slider was in the off position, they might not get connected.

Update: I had a chance to look inside of one of my e200's again and saw that, unlike with some other Sansas, it's not possible with these models to do what I described above. However, it might be possible to break the switch while putting the logic board back in the casing if the switch and slider are not aligned and one applies too much force.

Last edited by aarons510; 04-01-2010 at 11:14 AM. Reason: partial correction
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:21 AM
JSP62's Avatar
JSP62 JSP62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 232
Default

My hold switch is broken and everyone's comments that it is flimsy is true. Not to happy, but whatever.

Just like everyone else says, open it up and switch it. Might want to think about removing the switch.
__________________
HOW TO ASK A QUESTION THE RIGHT WAY
POSTING AND YOU
------------------------------------------
With knowledge, comes great power.
With power, comes great responsibility.
With responsibility, comes great wisdom.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-28-2010, 06:45 AM
aarons510 aarons510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 95
Default The hold switch is NOT flimsy, IMO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP62 View Post
My hold switch is broken and everyone's comments that it is flimsy is true.
I have opened up about 20 of the e200-series players, most of which were damaged and some of which were non-functional, but have never come across a broken hold switch. They're one of the least problematic parts of the hardware on these; it's probably nearly impossible to break one in normal use.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-28-2010, 07:22 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Once you remove the hold switch I’ve found that the e200 series doesn’t really need it if you have it in a case, my wife’s unit never changes while in case (ie she never uses hold). Haven’t tried it without a case but I assume the wheel would easily move without one in your pocket but I'm sure their buttons would not engage.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.