android
  #1  
Old 05-06-2009, 11:18 AM
LambdaCalculus379's Avatar
LambdaCalculus379 LambdaCalculus379 is offline
Rockbox Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lyndhurst, NJ, USA
Posts: 12
Default Any type of recovery mode on the Gigabeat T?

Hi folks, looking for a little assistance here.

I'm looking to port Rockbox to the Gigabeat T, which should be relatively easy, as it's by and large the same hardware as the Gigabeat S (save for being flash-based). However, one thing I need for the porting effort is to find any sort of recovery mode on the T. This is needed in case I copy bad code onto it that could screw things up and facilitate a restore. While I know the S's recovery mode (Left + Window key on boot), the same key combo doesn't work on the T.

Can anyone tell me if there is a recovery mode on the T, and if so, how can I enter it? Thanks!
__________________
I don't know if I am Turing dreaming that I am a machine, or a machine dreaming that I am Turing!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:07 PM
dchef42 dchef42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 2
Default

I fiddled with buttons and searched through the Gigabeat companion CD, but I could not find any mention of a recovery mode. It's kind of a downer considering what you trying to do, but porting Rockbox to Gigabeat despite this would be pretty sweet.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:13 AM
LambdaCalculus379's Avatar
LambdaCalculus379 LambdaCalculus379 is offline
Rockbox Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lyndhurst, NJ, USA
Posts: 12
Default

Well, I did find a recovery mode by simply using beastpatcher (which is our Gigabeat S patching app; it's similar to what Sansapatcher and iPodpatcher do) to patch the firmware. This caused the Gigabeat T to enter recovery mode. I was then able to use sendfirm (another of our tools) to send it several nk.bin files from the Gigabeat S, V, and finally the T, both patched with the S bootloader and unmodified.

Of course, the only one that worked was the unmodified T firmware.
__________________
I don't know if I am Turing dreaming that I am a machine, or a machine dreaming that I am Turing!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.