android
  #1  
Old 04-28-2009, 09:47 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default 2.30 Beta Firmware

http://www.cowonglobal.com/zeroboard...rt&category=27

Quote:
New features
- Added matrix browsing feature that you can browse music files by album art to rotate COWON S9 sideways.
* Added a feature that playback music by album.
* It is recommended to save album art by COWON MediaCenter.
* It might take a while to load a high resolution album image, if it doesn’t have thumbnails.

- Added Swing motion feature that skip to next or previous music in portrait mode.
* It is possible to skip files by swinging your COWON S9 to the left or right.
* Selection of Off, Swing motion, or Matrix browsing

- Added a feature that you can set a picture that draw by notepad as wallpaper.
* It is possible to set a picture, which you draw in notepad, as wallpaper.

- Added 'Hunter' that is a G-sensor game.


Improvements
- Improved feedback speed when music or video files are paused.

- Fixed the error that music tags are overlapped when ID3 tags contain NULL text in genre.
* applied from newer files.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:36 AM
pseudohippy pseudohippy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent Washington USA
Posts: 346
Default

Sweet, thanks for the post.
__________________
Ug! Why oh Why cant I stop!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:54 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

* Added a feature that playback music by album.

What does that mean? You could'nt select music by Album before?

-Added Swing motion feature that skip to next or previous music in portrait mode.

I saw this demonstrated on Youtube, it looks pretty useless.
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:56 AM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

Damn these firmware updates making Nova's music screen and ?uzzle useless...
__________________
I'm never gonna know you now, but I'm gonna love you anyhow
Elliot Smith - Waltz 2 (XO)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-28-2009, 11:30 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
* Added a feature that playback music by album.

What does that mean? You could'nt select music by Album before?
They mean the new cover flow thing, not the normal file list.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-28-2009, 11:59 AM
rbluff rbluff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I just received my S9 today. I updated to 2.30 beta but after I started watching a video, it restarted and the loading screen became corrupted.

I reset it and now it seems to be bricked. Doesn't turn on, and windows doesn't detect anything when I plug it in.

Any ideas? I would prefer to fix it myself if possible because it was purchased in another country.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:01 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Since you got it today - did you charge it before using?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:09 PM
rbluff rbluff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Only for a few minutes. The battery indicator was almost full when I turned it on (prior to charging). Perhaps it is unreliable?

I will leave it plugged in overnight. At any rate, nothing should be corrupted, because the firmware upgrade completed successfully.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:12 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Good, as long as it didn't crap out while upgrading the FW you should be fine.

I assume the battery gauge is unreliable at first, as it's usually the case with new Li-Ion batteries. After a few charge cycles it should stabilize.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:12 PM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Yikes! Theres no easy way to restore the firmware?
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:16 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

There's no way to recover a bricked player with almost any brand out there. However, the S9 is a Telechips based player, so recovery tools like FWDN or TCCTool might work if they were told to recognize the player.

Back on topic, FW 2.30b...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-28-2009, 03:25 PM
kyrch kyrch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default

the new music cover flow stuff, doesn*t work with the ui stuff, am I rite?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-28-2009, 03:35 PM
Mf1232's Avatar
Mf1232 Mf1232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, NH
Posts: 461
Default

another beta...damn.
__________________
16gb Sony NWZ-E475m - Sony MDR-EX300 IEMs
*R.I.P.*
16gb Cowon S9, 32gb ZuneHD
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-28-2009, 04:24 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyrch View Post
the new music cover flow stuff, doesn*t work with the ui stuff, am I rite?
Most UI developers are at this moment updating their UIs for the new firmware. I'm sure it both frustrates them to have to do it, and that they appreciate the update hardware access as much as everyone else does.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-28-2009, 08:19 PM
mysticstylez mysticstylez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 342
Default

Call me crazy but the new album matrix layout is worse than the coverflow that sucked as well. There should not be that much of lag time scrolling pages.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-29-2009, 12:42 AM
TackyTiger's Avatar
TackyTiger TackyTiger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Airstrip One
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysticstylez View Post
Call me crazy but the new album matrix layout is worse than the coverflow that sucked as well. There should not be that much of lag time scrolling pages.
It's also pretty annoying that if you choose an album from there, it takes you out of browse folder mode and sticks you in album mode, which ignores your "all" repeat boundary and confines you to that album until you select another.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-29-2009, 01:24 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Well remember guys, its still Beta.
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-29-2009, 01:44 AM
Tezmin556 Tezmin556 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -----
Posts: 148
Default

The worse thing is 3/* in coverflow, there goes quick and easy browsing.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-29-2009, 05:00 AM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

It's to disguise the loading of the next pages. If it wasn't there, you'd still have to wait when it loads the next page.

What surprises me is that it loads so darn slow with a dual core processor.
__________________
I'm never gonna know you now, but I'm gonna love you anyhow
Elliot Smith - Waltz 2 (XO)
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-29-2009, 07:29 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

It'll pay to check the size your album art is within all your albums. Load time for that album array will be porportional to the size of album art. Big art will equal long load times. I had a few albums I had added my own cover scans to a few years back. The scanned images were roughly 1500 x 1500 pixels. I could actually see the S9 slow down when it got to those albums. After this new cover array showed up I went back and replaced those large images with 272 x 272 versions. The page load time isn't instant, but it's considerably faster now on my S9. You gain from both short read times and simpler resizing when the image is smaller.

Last edited by Olley; 05-01-2009 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.