android
  #121  
Old 06-09-2009, 10:05 AM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3fuzer View Post
Yes. It was the first thing I did before installing new build.
P.S. and the second after installation. :-)
Pity. Do you post on the official Rockbox forums? Your detailed feedback could be helpful there (in the "SanDisk Sansa e200 v2 ... and Fuze" thread under "New Ports").
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #122  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:53 PM
woutervegter woutervegter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3fuzer View Post
There are still some similar problems with displaying contents of the same folders on the internal memory. It displays a number of folders with unreadable characters in their names. When I try to display the contents of such folders it jumps to the root file menu dialog.
I exactly have the same problem. So I rolled back to r21171-090603 which does not have that problem. After rolling back the "strange character" problem has disappeared. So the problem is not about errors in the memory

The strange character problem also has the following effect:
When updating the music database, the files that are located in folders that have strange characters in the file browser are not included in the music database.

Last edited by woutervegter; 06-09-2009 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #123  
Old 06-09-2009, 06:14 PM
mannequin mannequin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

yeah, all my folders on both the player and the card are like that.
Reply With Quote

  #124  
Old 06-11-2009, 01:06 PM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Hey, Just Rockboxed my 8gig fuze.. I Have the same problem.. the strange characters are there, but only after I select a song first.. then come back to the menu, the strange characters are there..
Reply With Quote

  #125  
Old 06-11-2009, 03:28 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spy king View Post
Hey, Just Rockboxed my 8gig fuze.. I Have the same problem.. the strange characters are there, but only after I select a song first.. then come back to the menu, the strange characters are there..
Have you tried it with the bootloader and build updated to r21248? Same results?
Reply With Quote

  #126  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:47 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

According to the rockbox forum, the storage is completely broken on all Sansa AMS (including Fuzev1) and r21248 didn't fix that (see this post).

So I don't recommend using rockbox these days.
Reply With Quote

  #127  
Old 06-11-2009, 07:36 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
According to the rockbox forum, the storage is completely broken on all Sansa AMS (including Fuzev1) and r21248 didn't fix that (see this post).

So I don't recommend using rockbox these days.
Thanks for the heads-up, funman. Best of luck in resolving it! Please know that all your efforts (and the efforts of everyone else who contributes to the Rockbox endeavor) are -- and have been -- mightily appreciated.
Reply With Quote

  #128  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:32 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

I'm using dfkt's latest compiled bootloader, and saratoga's latest MMU enabled .rockbox build..

It took me some time to figure out that my ubuntu doesn't support MSC mode completely.. otherwise the installation was a breeze.. I'll try compiling a bootloader with the latest sansa firmware sometime today too, that way I have something to turn to if the strange characters come again..
Reply With Quote

  #129  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:57 AM
PsYcHoHoLiC PsYcHoHoLiC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Rockbox only works on v1 fuze's yes?
Reply With Quote

  #130  
Old 06-12-2009, 10:31 AM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Can someone help me compile the bootloader?
I'm on Ubuntu..

From what I'v gathered, this is what I have to paste into the terminal.

Code:
svn co svn://svn.rockbox.org/rockbox/trunk rockbox
cd rockbox
mkdir build
cd build
Then what to do?
Really sorry.. total newbie here!

Nevermind, found the guide http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...ideToCompiling

Last edited by Spy king; 06-12-2009 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #131  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:29 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spy king View Post
I'm using dfkt's latest compiled bootloader, and saratoga's latest MMU enabled .rockbox build..

It took me some time to figure out that my ubuntu doesn't support MSC mode completely.. otherwise the installation was a breeze.. I'll try compiling a bootloader with the latest sansa firmware sometime today too, that way I have something to turn to if the strange characters come again..
The MMU patch has been committed, you can use any new build.

My bootloader is dual-boot, and it uses the latest Fuze firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcHoHoLiC View Post
Rockbox only works on v1 fuze's yes?
Yes.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #132  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:55 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Bear in mind, when it comes to using new official builds, funman's post from yesterday:

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
According to the rockbox forum, the storage is completely broken on all Sansa AMS (including Fuzev1) and r21248 didn't fix that (see this post).

So I don't recommend using rockbox these days.
funman, I see from the RB forums you haven't experienced any of the file system corruption or bank switching problems that others have. I've also seen those problems attributed only to the 8GB model (so far). What capacity of Fuze do you have?

Last edited by epithetless; 06-12-2009 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #133  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:44 PM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
The MMU patch has been committed, you can use any new build.

My bootloader is dual-boot, and it uses the latest Fuze firmware.



Yes.
oops, yes.. I just noticed your boot loader is the latest firmware..

So now, if I need to commit any of the newer changes, I just need to use an updated build? how do I apply patches?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #134  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:28 PM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Wow, I just started compiling a bootloader, must say that really requires some patience! Thanks a lot dkft!
I'v got till the stage "Build mkamsboot from a SVN checkout (in rbutil/mkamsboot)" and am in the process of giving up.. :|
Reply With Quote

  #135  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:50 PM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Some one please help me out here.

I'm trying to get the latest build onto my vuze.. i tried using the http://build.rockbox.org/dist/build-fuze/rockbox.zip link,

but this seems to be r21266-090612 How do I get r21248?
Do I compile it for the source? is there anyway to check which version will get compiled before compiling it? i'm using this guide to compile http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...ideToCompiling

Thanks!

EDIT:
Undefined instruction at 30832374, what does that mean? thats the error I get everytime I try playing a file.. also, all the music on my player shows properly with R21266.. only I can't get it to play now :|
Reply With Quote

  #136  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

svn checkout svn://svn.rockbox.org/rockbox/trunk -r 21248 rockbox

http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/UsingSVN
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #137  
Old 06-12-2009, 05:27 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
funman, I see from the RB forums you haven't experienced any of the file system corruption or bank switching problems that others have. I've also seen those problems attributed only to the 8GB model (so far). What capacity of Fuze do you have?
This could well be a problem on 8GB devices, I just use my Fuze 4GB on a daily basis without problems (so far)
Reply With Quote

  #138  
Old 06-12-2009, 05:50 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
This could well be a problem on 8GB devices, I just use my Fuze 4GB on a daily basis without problems (so far)
Hm, if it is an 8GB-specific problem, I hope it gets sorted eventually...or my Fuze will be heartbroken.
Reply With Quote

  #139  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:08 PM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

from what I've been reading on the Sansa forums the problem is 8GB specific. I'm not letting my 8GB Fuze even look at Rockbox now....
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #140  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:55 PM
Spy king Spy king is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks dkft! I'm a bit new to all this.. so dont mind the silly questions
Does the latest release xxx66, have the changes made in the xxx48 release? I'm thinking yes?

tks

Hey funman, I know you would be getting this question a lot, but is there anyway we ( with the 8gig players) could help??

Last edited by Spy king; 06-13-2009 at 12:42 AM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.