android
  #1  
Old 03-26-2009, 01:46 PM
ssgmun5000 ssgmun5000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default FM radio issues anyone else having them?

The FM radio has stopped working twice and I have had to reset the device to get it working again. Has anyone else experienced this?

Last edited by ssgmun5000; 03-26-2009 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-27-2009, 11:12 AM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

As in not working, what do you mean? Do you not get any reception at all or does it have a lot of static? i don't use the radio all that often on my clip so i cant say this has happened to me. I also forgot to mention that your headphones works as the antenna so it may be a problem with your headphones. Try another pair if you have one and see if that helps at all.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:16 PM
Conservus Conservus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Finally found a thread to put my 'issue' I could have opened a new one but since everyone is talking about 'using the search function' I will obey. Yes I do have an issue too with the radio function of my Clip v2. Its working but the signal quality is hellish. If I am inside any building, I get no stations at all. At work, there are two radios with crystal clear reception (no external antennae). If I hold the clip at the same spot, I get no station. Instead I hear artificial static over the whole FM band. If I go outside, I get TWO stations (other radios are catching about 14 here), but only at some selected sweet spots. If I move/walk, the stations are fading in and out into white noise. Years ago, someone told me that the old walkmen used the headphone lines as external antenna. Is that even possible? And if so, I wonder why the Clip doesn't do that. If it would, the signal quality couldn't be near non-existant.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:44 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Probably just a defective FM tuner.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-14-2010, 12:14 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conservus View Post
Finally found a thread to put my 'issue' I could have opened a new one but since everyone is talking about 'using the search function' I will obey. Yes I do have an issue too with the radio function of my Clip v2. Its working but the signal quality is hellish. If I am inside any building, I get no stations at all. At work, there are two radios with crystal clear reception (no external antennae). If I hold the clip at the same spot, I get no station. Instead I hear artificial static over the whole FM band. If I go outside, I get TWO stations (other radios are catching about 14 here), but only at some selected sweet spots. If I move/walk, the stations are fading in and out into white noise. Years ago, someone told me that the old walkmen used the headphone lines as external antenna. Is that even possible? And if so, I wonder why the Clip doesn't do that. If it would, the signal quality couldn't be near non-existant.
The Clips indeed use the headphone cord as the antenna. Hence, if no headphones (or antenna cable) is attached, reception will be poor, if that.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-14-2010, 08:58 AM
Conservus Conservus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Then it must be what saratoga said, 'cause both my Philips buds as well as the boxed ones don't change the signal quality. Maybe they'll let me exchange the device for a Clip+ for an added price.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-14-2010, 11:34 AM
dave61430 dave61430 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
Default

My 8gb clip does well on FM, perhaps not as well as Sony walkman but only a small difference.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-14-2010, 01:30 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,543
Default

If the Clip is defective, remember that you have a 1 or 2 year warranty through SanDisk that they are good about. You may want to telephone SanDisk Customer Service about this. In the U.S.: 1-866-SANDISK (726-3475). And other SanDisk contact information: http://www.sandisk.com/sandisk-support/contact-us.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.