android
  #1  
Old 03-09-2009, 12:18 PM
motionman95 motionman95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default RockLock Plugin

I'm making a plugin for RockBox, called RockLock (lol) and it will lock your Rockbox with a 4-digit number. To unlock it, you have to input the 4-digit number. Currently it is about 90% finished. When it is, I'll be sure to upload it here. If you have any suggestions for features, post them here!

Edit: Not limited to the C200s anymore, it will work will all players!

Last edited by motionman95; 03-12-2009 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:54 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

How is this plugin going to work? Reason I ask is would turning it off and on bypass it.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread.
Headphones: JVC FX66B
Main Players: 4GB Sansa Clip+, 8GB Sansa Fuze, Sansa e280R with Rockbox
Backup Players: 8GB Sansa View, 2GB Sansa Clip
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:12 PM
motionman95 motionman95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

It'll run on start up, or every time you select it from the Applications menu in Plugins. I'll probably have to release it as a patch (with the .rock file available), because of the fact that it modifies the main.c file to auto start (it uses the AUTOROCK feature). It's not finished yet, although it works except I haven't finished the "Change Password" feature yet, which means it has a static password currently. When it starts it gives you a menu that looks like this:

RockLock
Unlock
Change Password

When you click on unlock, it displays the message "Enter your 4-digit code:" and allows you to use the Up, Down, and Select buttons to enter the code. Also, if you plug-in the USB cord it won't go into USB mode unless you enter the 4-digit code first.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:47 PM
HEARDATBEAT HEARDATBEAT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

cool can't wait for this
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-23-2009, 12:23 AM
motionman95 motionman95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Here it is. The default password is 0000, until you change it.
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zh4vfnjnemm
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-23-2009, 12:27 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

As a reminder, you must also post the source code, as per the GPL.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-23-2009, 06:47 AM
motionman95 motionman95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Sure. When I get back to my home PC I'll post it!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-23-2009, 05:21 PM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
How is this plugin going to work? Reason I ask is would turning it off and on bypass it.
and what happens if you forget your password?..does Rockbox then become useless? I'm trying to understand why you would want to 'lock' Rockbox?
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-23-2009, 06:16 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
and what happens if you forget your password?..does Rockbox then become useless?
You could just change it in USB mode. I think if you boot up holding REC it'll also be disabled.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-23-2009, 08:31 PM
motionman95 motionman95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default

@saratoga: That's a good idea, especially if it works. But I guess I should also implement some kind of backdoor, and I thought of this: that the current time could also be the password. Like if it was 1:20 AM, the password would be 0120. Does that sound good?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-27-2009, 07:47 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

I saw that you deleted the source code. That means you have to take down the link in this thread too, since you can no longer satisfy the license.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.