android
  #1  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:43 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default Cannot refresh database?

Here's my story. Last night before i went to bed, i left my computer on in order to recharge my sansa clip. The next day, when i disconnected my sansa from the USB, it would say "Refreshing Database" but it doesn't. Instead it just stays like that. So, i tried to fix it by doing "Hold, center button, and then plug in the usb". I was able to open my sansa clip on the computer. Instead of formatting it, i deleted all the folders in that "removable disk(L". Still it didn't work so when i tried copy paste back the deleted folders in my "removable disk(L" it wouldn't copy paste back. So my sansa clip has completely nothing. (How stupid am i -_-). Then, when i tried to put on my USB into my sansa clip, it does turn on but after it's says "disconnected" it says "not enough space music DB, 30 mb required" some crap like that and it really got me pissed. Is there any solution to this? I tried downloading the upgraded firmware but since i deleted the whole folders in my sansa clip, it won't make me put any files into the "Removable disk (L" Please help, im getting a nervous breakdown. Thank you.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:12 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,067
Default

i had same problem, go here and all should be fixed if u follow instructions

http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...d=308623#M6800
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:35 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

even after i formatted. It says "not enough space for music DB, please free 30 MB" and automatically shuts down.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-24-2009, 05:48 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,067
Default

it's not the formatting, its a troubling little file. Can u c a mtable.sys file?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:15 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I accidently deleted all the folders there and when i try to copy-paste it back. It wouldn't let me...help?




Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:29 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,503
Default

I think that if you reapply the firmware (sticky thread at the top of the forum), you'll get the folder structure back.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:57 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

where do i put the "m300a.bin" file ?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-26-2009, 07:49 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,503
Default

In the root level of the Clip--just drag and drop it into the Clip's top-most level.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:00 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

it seems i can't transfer ANY file into my sansa clip. -_-

Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:46 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

anyone help please!!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:59 PM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

this happened to me a few days ago - try the Panasonic SD formatter

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...formatter.html

The clip may not be an SD card, but it worked great for me!
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-01-2009, 05:45 PM
qualityowns qualityowns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

thanks, but it doesnt work.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-28-2010, 09:34 PM
pardsbane pardsbane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, I know its over a year late, but I had the same problem, and I think found the solution, so for posterity, here it is:

Situation:

You've got the "Not enough space for Music DB, please free 30 mb" message on your Sansa Clip.
You have a Mac

Open Disk Utility
Click on the Sansa Clip listing on the left
- Not the disk itself, the DEVICE.
Click the 'Partition' tab
Under Volume Scheme, choose '1 Partition'
Click the 'Options...' button
Choose 'Master Boot Record', then click ok
Click the drop down next to 'Format:' and choose "MS-DOS (FAT)"
Click Apply

When this is complete, you can eject the disk if needed, and your clip should be back to normal.

I found that by default the format doesn't use the 'Master Boot Record' partition table system, and I'm pretty sure that is what was messing me and the original poster up.

I am
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.