android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen Mozaic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:46 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No problem. Good luck with your decision.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:10 PM
kendimen kendimen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Help Questions... simple or dumb questions :)

Hello! Greetings from Portugal!
I just registered and I'm writing my first thread
Been visiting ABI for a long time, though!
I'm interested on the Mozaic and have some questions, that I can't find any answers.
I found an interesting pack on local FNAC
http://www.fnac.pt/pt/Catalog/Detail...%20LeitoresMp3
Right to business:
- when one turns it off while playing, turning it back on, where does it start? On the track it was playing before, on the exact place?!?!?! Will the player still "remember" the playlist?
- any experience with the silicon skins and if is easy to work with the controls with it? Does the skin have some kind of clip?
- any experience in if it is easy to use the right controls while not looking or in the dark?
- does the player have a "Sleep" function?
- is there any way of getting a faster "boot"?
- how good are the Creative EP-630/50 eardubs included in the pack?

Hmmm... I'm sure i had some more questions... maybe I'lll remember later

Oh! Congratulations on all the nice work you've been doing! And thank you!!!

PS: Hope my english wasn't very bad!
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 12-16-2008, 09:34 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
Hello! Greetings from Portugal!
I just registered and I'm writing my first thread
Hello and welcome to ABI kendimen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- when one turns it off while playing, turning it back on, where does it start? On the track it was playing before, on the exact place?!?!?! Will the player still "remember" the playlist?
Yes, the Mozaic has a resume playback feature.
Yes, the Mozaic will remember the playlist being played.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- any experience with the silicon skins and if is easy to work with the controls with it? Does the skin have some kind of clip?
Not familiar with one on the Mozaic, but usually a skin or screen protector is a good idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- any experience in if it is easy to use the right controls while not looking or in the dark?
I have messed around with the Mozaic, but not in the dark. I don't see why it would be hard to if you know where the buttons are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- does the player have a "Sleep" function?
Yes, there is a Sleep function.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- is there any way of getting a faster "boot"?
What do mean exactly? I would always make sure to run the latest firmware to help ensure fastest boot time and stability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
- how good are the Creative EP-630/50 eardubs included in the pack?
I love them. I'm no audiophile, but they sounds great to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
Oh! Congratulations on all the nice work you've been doing! And thank you!!!
No problem. Thank you for the complement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
PS: Hope my english wasn't very bad!
Your English was just fine. Much better then my portuguese.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 12-17-2008, 06:25 PM
kendimen kendimen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you so much for all the answers!
About the faster boot time, i thought i saw it showing both logos, "Creative" and "Zen", but just checked it out it only shows the "Zen"!
Has someone reedited the video on the Mozaic review or am I mixing things already?

A question on the side, any expectation on when we'll be getting crossfading capable DAP's as standard?
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 12-17-2008, 07:48 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No problem. When the Zen boots up completely after being powered off for a while it will show the Creative and Zen logo screens. After the Zen is powered on and then powered off again, it will stay in Stand-By mode for a couple of hours before powering off all the way. This allows the Zen to be powered back on very quickly. When the Zen is powered back on from Stand-By mode, only the Zen logo screen will load since it is not doing a complete boot up from being powered down all the way.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:54 PM
riseFOR riseFOR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default A few ???

I just got my Zen Mozaic last week and still have a few questions.

I know it says to turn speaker on, press the options button but turn speaker on doesnt show up. How do i turn it on?

Also I have tried getting videos to my Mozaic, I know they have to be avi and i have converted my videos from youtube and such what to avi, but it doesnt work when i play it on my player. It says error playing this or this is not supported. Do you know whats wrong?
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:53 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome riseFOR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by riseFOR View Post
I just got my Zen Mozaic
Congrats!

Quote:
Originally Posted by riseFOR View Post
I know it says to turn speaker on, press the options button but turn speaker on doesnt show up. How do i turn it on?
Make sure you are in the Main Menu when pressing the Option button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by riseFOR View Post
Also I have tried getting videos to my Mozaic, I know they have to be avi and i have converted my videos from youtube and such what to avi, but it doesnt work when i play it on my player. It says error playing this or this is not supported. Do you know whats wrong?
The Mozaic's videos need to use the AVI container with MJPEG as the video stream and MP3 as the audio stream, but with a resolution of 128 x 160 pixels. See this thread for more info.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 12-19-2008, 10:39 AM
kendimen kendimen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Hey!
That's actually very interesting! For me, it is very important information!
Why don't you include this type of information on you reviews? It would get too extensive?

Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:24 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
Hey!
That's actually very interesting! For me, it is very important information!
Why don't you include this type of information on you reviews? It would get too extensive?
Not sure why.... but this is a good example of why we have the Forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendimen View Post
Thanks a lot!
No problem.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 12-19-2008, 05:30 PM
riseFOR riseFOR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

o so i need to download creative centrale
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 12-19-2008, 09:14 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

So far, that is all I've heard that seems to work, so yeah..... for now.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 12-20-2008, 08:37 PM
riseFOR riseFOR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

aww... it says i have to upgrade my windows media center to 2005 or above to install creative central... i guess i will try my sisters labtop
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 12-20-2008, 09:44 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Good luck. Hopefully your sister won't mind.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:54 AM
Reminded Reminded is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default A few questions..

Ok, so I just opened my new mozaic today cause it was a gift

But.. I have a few problems right now..

1) The firmware update says that my mozaic is not connected. However, I have it connected, turned on, and my computer (running XP) DOES RECOGNIZE it. This is quite frustrating.

2) I want to organize the files on my mozaic, but it shows different files other than what is already on it (the songs that came with it). This is in centrale btw.

3) Centrale and other Creative media (including the firmware update and auto-updater) don't recognize that the mozaic is plugged in. It IS still charging and is recognized by the computer.

Can you help me out?
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 12-26-2008, 01:36 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reminded View Post
Ok, so I just opened my new mozaic today cause it was a gift
Congrats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reminded View Post
1) The firmware update says that my mozaic is not connected. However, I have it connected, turned on, and my computer (running XP) DOES RECOGNIZE it. This is quite frustrating.
Welcome to some of the (if not the) worst Creative software ever. Try uninstalling/reinstalling the driver in Device Manager.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reminded View Post
2) I want to organize the files on my mozaic, but it shows different files other than what is already on it (the songs that came with it). This is in centrale btw.
So move them to where you would like or delete them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reminded View Post
3) Centrale and other Creative media (including the firmware update and auto-updater) don't recognize that the mozaic is plugged in. It IS still charging and is recognized by the computer.
I thought Creative Centrale was just working? You mention above that you see the default files on the Mozaic.

If you open My Computer, do you see the Mozaic listed as a Portable Device?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:26 AM
Cranberry Cranberry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Sorry, how to power it off completly right away? Stand By will consume the energy. Also, does the energy drops fast with it being completly off? I have an older Player and it seems to stay charged has I let it for a rather long time (perhaps 4 or 5 days to get half the energy).

And does the Lock function works to prevent energy consuption? I E-mailed Creative asking if there were the feature in the Mozaic, where the screen can be turned off while music can still be playing, to spent much less energy. They said there is the Lock function, is it easy to Lock or easy to turn the screen off while hearing shuffle music?

Thanks.

Great site/foruns by the way, I've been looking for a dedicated MP3 Player site for quite a while.

Last edited by Cranberry; 01-02-2009 at 12:28 AM. Reason: Adding
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:34 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome Cranberry. Standby won't really consume much. It completely powers all the way of after a couple of hours in standby. If you are real concerned, you can always press the Reset button when wanting to power off all the way.

The lock button will lock all of the buttons as well as allow for the display to power off after a period of time to help conserve battery power. This is also the only way for the screen to be turned of while powered on. It is a good idea to get used to locking the Zen to help with extending battery runtime as much as possible.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 01-07-2009, 05:55 PM
CAGLC CAGLC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default I might need a couple questions answered

I ordered my 4 gig Creative Zen Mozaic and i have a few questions

1) How fast does it boot up?

2) Can you make it so that if your headphones get unplugged the speaker doesn't come on?

3) Is there a software that you have to use to put songs on or can i just use windows media player?

Last edited by CAGLC; 01-07-2009 at 06:12 PM. Reason: forgot a question
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:02 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAGLC View Post
1) How fast does it boot up?
A full boot takes about 15-20 seconds and only a few seconds when turned on out of Sleep mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAGLC View Post
3) Is there a software that you have to use to put songs on or can i just use windows media player?
The Mozaic will come with software to use. However, you can also use other sync managers like WMP, MediaMonkey, WinAmp.... Unfortunatley you will need to use the Creative Video Converter for video conversions. See this thread for more info.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 01-11-2009, 10:06 PM
riseFOR riseFOR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Still have some problems with...??

well as i said before i still can't find a way to turn on the speakers

and for the video can the size be bigger cuz it is like widescreen when i play it. is there a way to put it so it takes up the whole screen.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
boot, on-off, playlist, qeustion, skin, sleep, speaker, speakers no option

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.