android
  #1  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:58 AM
joey40 joey40 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default album art

hi,
can any one help,trying to put album art to files but cant seem to do it,tried lots of different ways its driving me mad.oh! buy the way i have a s9.many thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 04:08 AM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default

i would think embeded album art in id3 tags would be a good way to try, can't say for sure on the s9 as i don't have one or know for sure
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 05:18 AM
originalself originalself is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Media monkey was giving me hell and not saving the art into all songs in a track so I used mp3tag.
http://www.mp3tag.de/en/download.html
Quick and easy and now all my songs show their art.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:19 AM
joey40 joey40 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for the help,will try
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:20 AM
joey40 joey40 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

will try your suggestion,hope it helps.many thanks
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:44 PM
Malikye Malikye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalself View Post
Media monkey was giving me hell and not saving the art into all songs in a track so I used mp3tag.
http://www.mp3tag.de/en/download.html
Quick and easy and now all my songs show their art.
i hope Media Monkey works. i expect to receive my s9 today. for the last week, i have been using Media Monkey to add album art to all my songs (500+). that's looking up songs of artists on Amazon and copying each album cover to my hard drive and then using MM, attached the album cover to the mp3s. that's alot of work i did there. i hope it wasn't all for nothing
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:26 PM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malikye View Post
i hope Media Monkey works. i expect to receive my s9 today. for the last week, i have been using Media Monkey to add album art to all my songs (500+). that's looking up songs of artists on Amazon and copying each album cover to my hard drive and then using MM, attached the album cover to the mp3s. that's alot of work i did there. i hope it wasn't all for nothing

Doesn't Media Money have it's own database of album art? Damn, I just have to click on 'Get cover art from internet' and it does the work for me (J River)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:43 PM
Malikye Malikye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPoo View Post

Doesn't Media Money have it's own database of album art? Damn, I just have to click on 'Get cover art from internet' and it does the work for me (J River)
you know what? you might be right. damn, i'm like one of those typical guy who don't read instructions before trying out something new. when i get my s9 today, i'm sure i'll only "glance" through the manual. i'll only read it if i absolutely have to. thanks for the tip, next time, i'll let Media Monkey do the album cover for me.

come on UPS! hurry and get here!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:25 PM
Miniwintz Miniwintz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Default

I just wanted to warn people about something dealing with covers

It only works if you put your art before putting the song on your S9, so if you want to modify the cover of a song already in the pmp, you'll have to remove the song from it first, then disconnect and start the pmp, then putting the song back with the correct album cover. Otherwise, there won't be any change in the S9's music player.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:41 PM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miniwintz View Post
I just wanted to warn people about something dealing with covers

It only works if you put your art before putting the song on your S9, so if you want to modify the cover of a song already in the pmp, you'll have to remove the song from it first, then disconnect and start the pmp, then putting the song back with the correct album cover. Otherwise, there won't be any change in the S9's music player.
Yeah, even a copy and replace (when windows prompts you) doesn't work.

EDIT: A disconnect isn't necessary for me

Last edited by iPoo; 01-02-2009 at 03:53 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:44 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,032
Default

Didn't work on my D2, or my Sony A829 or S639,. Didn't think it would work for the S9 either. Just use media monkey to tag and update all the album art and your good to go. But ONLY if you do it before transferring it to the player, ANY PLAYER.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-02-2009, 05:12 PM
Malikye Malikye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default

i just received my s9. i did use Media Monkey before hand to tag my songs. after charging it and loading the mp3s, i go to "Music" and every one of my songs says "Unknown" below the default album cover and then another "Unknown" below that! oh well, back to the drawing board :-(

i'll mess with it some more when i get home tonight.

...also, it's version 2.05
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:11 PM
Malikye Malikye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default

nevermind, i got the album cover to work. i am liking my s9 so far!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:28 PM
iPoo's Avatar
iPoo iPoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malikye View Post
ywhen i get my s9 today, i'm sure i'll only "glance" through the manual. i'll only read it if i absolutely have to
Didn't look @ it once. Immediately fired it up.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:06 PM
stonecoldd stonecoldd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

does any one know the proper dimensions for the album art to put on S9 ? cuz I put some on mine and some of the album art is not wide enough to fit into that box on the now playing screen...
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:09 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It should stretch and shrink the album art automatically. If yours isn't wide enough then it's probably too high. Crop it to a square format.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:24 PM
stonecoldd stonecoldd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

^ ok so 400x400 should be good rite?
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:27 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes. The screen width of the S9 is 272 pixel (used by some better music screens than the stock one)... anything larger gets shrunk to size.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:49 PM
stonecoldd stonecoldd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

^ cool thanx a bunch!
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:53 PM
Sacramento's Avatar
Sacramento Sacramento is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 51
Default

400x400 is fine, but you should resize it to 272x272 yourself (if you use fullscreen album art) or whatever the dimensions are of the music screen album art that you do use. The way the S9 downsizes images causes some pixelation.
If resize your album art to the exact size in pixels that it will be shown on the S9 it will look much better. I am reaping the benefits of doing just that.
__________________
Nicotine, Valium, Vicodin, Marijuana, Ecstasy and Alcohol..... C-c-c-c-c-cocaine!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.