android
  #41  
Old 12-25-2008, 05:32 PM
Claw Claw is offline
Cowon S9 Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 498
Default

Concerning track sort:

I have to take my words back - I now encountered several albums where browsing of the tracks does NOT list them in track order. Nor does it list them alphabetically.

After some investigation and trial&error, it turns out that S9 uses ID3v2 - Track # field for sorting of tracks within individual album. So even though ID3v1 was correct for all tracks in the album, the track # field was blank in ID3v2 - thus that track showed up at the top (it uses alpha-numeric sort, in which case blanks go to the top). So as long as your media has properly configured track # in ID3v2, you'll be fine.

Also, once you import the tracks onto the player, fixing the tag won't work - as the data is already indexed internally. You have to delete the tracks, fix the tags at the source (I used winamp), then reload them back to the player. After I did that, that album showed up in correct order.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 12-25-2008, 06:16 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Ah yes. The track info has to be in a format the player can understand. Mine is which is why every album I check has the tracks in the right order.
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 12-26-2008, 07:47 AM
SWEATY BUFFALO SWEATY BUFFALO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Posts: 150
Default

So if i use WMP will i be ok ? When i get my S9 i will use WMP to transfer all of my music so if i end with 7GB of music not in the right order im gonna be pretty annoyed.

How exactly will i know what version of ID3 im currently using ?
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 12-26-2008, 07:49 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

Try Media Monkey, save yourself the heartbreak.
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 12-26-2008, 07:52 AM
SWEATY BUFFALO SWEATY BUFFALO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Posts: 150
Default

Yer il download that now then. A problem i had with my P2 was that WMP always got the album arts wrong, so i had to use Samsung's own software to get it right.

Does media monkey allow you to manually change the album art for a song or selection of songs ?
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 12-26-2008, 08:17 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWEATY BUFFALO View Post
Yer il download that now then. A problem i had with my P2 was that WMP always got the album arts wrong, so i had to use Samsung's own software to get it right.

Does media monkey allow you to manually change the album art for a song or selection of songs ?
Yes, it does, and very well at that. It'll save you alot of trouble down the line.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:07 PM
Claw Claw is offline
Cowon S9 Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 498
Default

Except ... MediaMonkey did not give me a view of just IDv2 tags - it just showed a unified interface - you can't just display v1 tags or v2 tags ... and with S9 it is important. I had to use winamp which has separate tabs for each version ....

I think though is if you re-tag all your work using MediaMonkey it will correct both v1 and v2 tags and all will be ok.
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:20 AM
SWEATY BUFFALO SWEATY BUFFALO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Posts: 150
Default

Im just gonna have to wait and see. If i get it and the songs arent in the right order then il just have to re-tag them. Im not particularly happy using MediaMonkey but then hopefully i wont have to.

Im gonna ask a random question now, if you have the player on shuffle, what songs does it show as previous and next in the quicklist (the little menu that pops out on the right hand side)?
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:04 AM
Twitchy Twitchy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

The playlist shuffle is done when the option is selected, so it shows the previous and next songs that will be played in shuffle mode (rather than playlist order).
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:06 AM
ronnie ronnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Default

Does S9 suport rmvb format ?
__________________
Cowon S9 16 gb Titanium + Audio Technica Ath-Anc7 + Fiio E5
Bose Companion 5 multimedia speaker system
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:53 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie View Post
Does S9 suport rmvb format ?
I do know that the S9 DOESN'T support RMBV format. You'd need to convert to play it on the S9.
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:35 AM
Clubcard's Avatar
Clubcard Clubcard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Having read the other Cowon player reviews on ABi, I'm quite baffled why the S9 review wasn't assigned to Martin instead. Grahm's reviews are more compact and accessible, but Martin's in-depth, analytic style would have suited this one a lot better.
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:16 AM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clubcard View Post
Having read the other Cowon player reviews on ABi, I'm quite baffled why the S9 review wasn't assigned to Martin instead. Grahm's reviews are more compact and accessible, but Martin's in-depth, analytic style would have suited this one a lot better.
Im sending Martin an S9 shortly so you can get his thoughts here in the forums as well.

Can i ask what was missing in my review? What else were you looking for? This so that i can improve the reviews in the future.
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:12 AM
Clubcard's Avatar
Clubcard Clubcard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnzoTen View Post
Im sending Martin an S9 shortly so you can get his thoughts here in the forums as well.

Can i ask what was missing in my review? What else were you looking for? This so that i can improve the reviews in the future.
Like I said in my post above, your reviews are brief and no-nonsense, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. However, Cowon is a brand that caters primarily to prosumers and audiophiles, and we aren't so easily satisfied. In his D2 review, Martin wrote 14 paragraphs on the device's sound quality and audio options, going into details about everything imaginable such as gapless playback, background noise, headphone compatibility etc. In the S9 review you made some remarks about its sound quality falling apart at higher volumes, but that's about it. I would have loved to see some information on FLAC playback and support (turns out 48khz is still unsupported), gapless (how long are the gaps?) and finally an analytic comparison between the S9 and D2 (is the sound quality improved, does the S9 do anything that the D2 doesn't and so on).

Last but not least, I must stress that your reviews are probably more than thorough enough for most readers. Only some of us prefer the hyperanalytic approach that Martin seems to handle so well.
__________________
Cowon J3 + Phonak PFE's
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:08 PM
ronnie ronnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Default

does the S9 play .MKV format ?

can some of the current owners pls try and let me know.. if .mkv format runs...
thx
__________________
Cowon S9 16 gb Titanium + Audio Technica Ath-Anc7 + Fiio E5
Bose Companion 5 multimedia speaker system

Last edited by ronnie; 01-06-2009 at 08:36 PM. Reason: no reply yet
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 01-07-2009, 07:56 PM
ronnie ronnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
Default

anyone tried .mkv video format ?
__________________
Cowon S9 16 gb Titanium + Audio Technica Ath-Anc7 + Fiio E5
Bose Companion 5 multimedia speaker system
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:57 AM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

that depends on the content format of the MKV file. MKV files are just containers of a video and audio stream. For example if your video stream was encoded in say RM format, your MKV file wouldn't play on the S9. If your video stream was encoded in any of the supported types, it would be fine.
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:07 PM
Mats.be Mats.be is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3
Default

Has anyone tried to hook up a headphone with a thick plug?
I have a Denon D1001 which has nice and sturdy aluminum plug; the only problem is that it is 11 mm in diameter.
Could someone who owns an S9 check if there is enough room around the headphone jack?
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 01-19-2009, 08:00 PM
waxernz waxernz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Default

I have the senn hd595 and the plug doesnt push all the way in but it works. The ridge either side is small enough that the jack still reaches far enough in.
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:38 AM
Mats.be Mats.be is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3
Default

Does it sometimes pop out when walking around with the player in your pocket?
For the moment I'm using a Creative MuvoČ (ancient, I know) and lately the headphone jack sometimes seems to lose contact when I accidentally tug the cable. Probably worn out; it is 5 years old after all.
It's about the same effect as plugging the headphones only halfway in and it's extremely annoying.

Also, I've searched some pictures of that plug (on headroom) and it seems a little bit thicker than mine.
Is there any chance you could measure it?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
abi, cowon s9, review, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.