android
  #1  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:43 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default Transcoding on-the-fly when syncing

I've got the majority of my rips in WMA Lossless format, and am looking for an easy way to convert them to Flac and get them on the D2. It would be great if there were something that could convert while syncing in one step.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-03-2008, 12:03 PM
dougisfunny dougisfunny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

The general consensus is that all in one applications aren't usually the best way to go about things. You'll be told to use "App x" <app x=""> for converting because its the best at that, and use some other thing for syncing. Though chances are you'll be told to use drag and drop in explorer, rather than sync.

I've been reading up, and that's whats been said in a few other threads.</app>
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-03-2008, 01:46 PM
gregzx's Avatar
gregzx gregzx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 412
Default

Well, syncing to the D2 is generally based on dragging and dropping - is it really such an exhausting step that you need to bypass?
I got a tip - encode your wma to vbr mp3, that saves space
__________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world.
Those who understand binary, and those who don't.
http://www.lastfm.pl/user/gregzx
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-03-2008, 07:42 PM
dougisfunny dougisfunny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

It sounds as though he is intent on keeping the whole lossless thing more than saving space.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-03-2008, 09:41 PM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Well I've discovered that the GOLD version of MediaMonkey can convert and sync on the fly. Unforntunetly the Free version disables this feature.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-03-2008, 11:17 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
I've got the majority of my rips in WMA Lossless format, and am looking for an easy way to convert them to Flac and get them on the D2. It would be great if there were something that could convert while syncing in one step.
Depending on the size of your library, I would either re-rip into FLAC, or just convert to Ogg Vorbis q5 for your portable player.....unless you have bad-@z$ headphones, you probably wouldn't notice much , if any difference between the lossless and the q5(maybe q6)
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-04-2008, 12:18 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Unfortunetly I have 2 pairs of Bad -Azz earphones, (UE Triple.Fi 10 Pro, Klipsch Custom-3). And yes there is a difference. The plan is to go from WMA Lossless to Flac. I guess I'll just have to manually convert for now.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:04 AM
dougisfunny dougisfunny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

dbpoweramp was suggested by dfkt for converting on a previous occasion

The free version does conversion of the stuff you want when you add in the extra codecs.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-04-2008, 05:34 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Well I've discovered that the GOLD version of MediaMonkey can convert and sync on the fly. Unforntunetly the Free version disables this feature.
The free version lets me convert mp3 podcasts into either wma or vorbis for smaller filesize, with the destination being my player....but I never tried a lossless-to-lossless either
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-04-2008, 05:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

WMAL is pretty much incompatible with any hardware player besides the Zune, and generally not very flexible.

Maybe convert your whole collection to FLAC, that makes things a lot easier. It might be time consuming, but you only have to do it once. After that you are quite compatible with a lot of MP3 players and software transcoders, without the hassle of WMAL incompatibilities.

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....mparison_Table
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-04-2008, 10:18 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Well I used WMA Lossless because I have a Zune 80, it was no mistake I did it on purpose, but now I'd like to covert some things over to my D2.
However!
Marvin the Martian made a good point. Since the D2 shows up as a hard drive rather than a pmp device on my computer, it should be possible to just have MediaMonkey convert from WMA Lossless to Flac making the D2 as the save destination within MediaMonkey rather using the Auto Convert and Sync option.
I'm going to try it as soon as I get a chance.

Edit: Ok Converting using the D2 (G:\) as the save location is a good work around, I was able to copy a album transcoding from WMAL to FLAC on the fly to the D2. Thanks for the suggestion Marvin the Martian!

Last edited by Leroy Bad; 12-04-2008 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-04-2008, 07:33 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,032
Default

Marv is da' MAN!!! WooHoo!!!! I would have never thought of that myself.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-04-2008, 09:35 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Well I used WMA Lossless because I have a Zune 80, it was no mistake I did it on purpose, but now I'd like to covert some things over to my D2.
However!
Marvin the Martian made a good point. Since the D2 shows up as a hard drive rather than a pmp device on my computer, it should be possible to just have MediaMonkey convert from WMA Lossless to Flac making the D2 as the save destination within MediaMonkey rather using the Auto Convert and Sync option.
I'm going to try it as soon as I get a chance.

Edit: Ok Converting using the D2 (G:\) as the save location is a good work around, I was able to copy a album transcoding from WMAL to FLAC on the fly to the D2. Thanks for the suggestion Marvin the Martian!
Glad I could help Leroy
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-04-2008, 09:36 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Marv is da' MAN!!! WooHoo!!!! I would have never thought of that myself.
It's that native alien intelligence...lol
Edit: Does this mean I win a D2? lol
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:24 AM
dougisfunny dougisfunny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

What I'm curious about, is are you only putting the FLAC on the D2 and leaving your library on the PC in WMA lossless, rather than just converting to FLAC for everything?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:50 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
It's that native alien intelligence...lol
Edit: Does this mean I win a D2? lol
PM me, we'll talk.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:47 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougisfunny View Post
What I'm curious about, is are you only putting the FLAC on the D2 and leaving your library on the PC in WMA lossless, rather than just converting to FLAC for everything?
As of right now my Zune 80 is still my primary DAP which uses the WMA Lossless. My new D2 is sort of an experiment.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:57 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
As of right now my Zune 80 is still my primary DAP which uses the WMA Lossless. My new D2 is sort of an experiment.
Just wondering, how big are the files, is it a slow process? I was using this method to make 100mb of MP3 podcasts into 40-ish MB of WMA orOgg Vorbis, and it took a few minutes, but I was cramped for space. I imagine lossless files would take a while
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:52 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Well lossless is much larger than MP3, the file sizes vary, if a 5 min song makes a 50MB WAV, then it'll be about 25-32MB in Lossless, The time it takes to trancode I'd say is just as long as ripping from a CD and encoding on the fly. But it does take a little longer to transfer to the D2 (I think thats the bottle neck). 5-6 min.

The only problem I'm running into is with the Tag info. My WMAL rips have an Album Artist field and embeded album art. The D2 does not handle the Album Artist field correctled with FLAC (it makes it show (Artist=????), and it only recogizes album art by a cover.jpg in the directory. So I still have to make some changes. But its not such as big deal since MediaMonkey lets you edit the file tags in batches.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.