android
  #1  
Old 12-01-2008, 11:43 AM
trevorgoose trevorgoose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Line-In question

Hello,



I am new to the forum and have searched through the postings regarding line-in recording; however, I haven't seen the answer to the following:
  • Can the user alter the line-in volume? If so, can it boost the signal significantly?
I currently own a Cowon U3 and it allows you to increase the volume to a level of 4, which isn't quite enough to raise levels when recording directly in from my B&O turntable. I'm hoping that the D2 has increased this.

<edit> After further research, I have determined that I will probably need to purchase a pre-amp (or go through my stereo pre-amp); however, I do have a subsequent question which I should probably post in the O2 section: Does the O2 allow for line-in recording. If so, what is the highest bit-rate available?



Thanks.

Last edited by trevorgoose; 12-01-2008 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:33 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

I don't think the D2 has a line-in port.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:41 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The D2 has a line-in. You need the proprietary line-in adapter cable that plugs into the micro-USB port.

You can change the input level in 5 steps. For recording a turntable you need a preamp in any case, no matter what player.

Seems the O2 doesn't support line-in, only voice recording with the internal mic. Specs
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:44 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

oops sorry I didn't know.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-03-2008, 01:59 PM
trevorgoose trevorgoose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the information.

Currently, I use my component system to convert vinyl to mp3 (B&O --> Adcom GFP-565 Pre-Amp --> Kenwood Minidisc --> Philips burner (digital copy) --> rip to pc via MediaMonkey to 256vbr). I was hoping to eliminate most of my system, without having to run it through a PC. I ran a test (not the best vinyl, but using Nada Surf's Karmic EP), comparing the output from my current set-up to: 1) B&O --> TAD-150 tube pre-amp (I didn't feel like messing around with all of my Adcom set-up) --> line-out to IAUDIO U3 (128kps WMA) & 2) B&O --> TAD-150 tube pre-amp --> headphone out (I didn't have the cable necessary to be able to use the line-out of the pre-amp) to an older MobiBlu unit (192kps mp3). I used (Easy Audio Cutter) to break up the WMA and MP3 tracks from the U3 and MobiBlu files. When listening back on the U3, the files created from my current set-up seemed to be warmer, with the U3 being second in quality, followed by the Mobibilu in a distant third. This was kind of what I expected. However, I'm hoping that the increase in quality (to 256kbs in the D2 should help). Thoughts? Basically, I'm wondering if anyone else uses the D2 as their primary method of creating mp3s from vinyl/cassette.

Thanks.

Last edited by trevorgoose; 12-03-2008 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.