android
  #1  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:44 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default Who can beat me?

Obviously the misleading title was to get you to actually read this post...

Anyway, just moved and I got my cable hooked up today. Went to speedtest.net to determine how fast it was... Apparently my ISP hasn't learned to throttle my connection yet. I'm getting ridiculously fast connection speeds. Can anyone match this with cable, or anything else?



Tried again halfway across the world. I wonder when they'll start limiting me to the 6Mb I pay for.

__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:47 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

My issue is that no useful speedtest server is near me. For example, I get better results from a Norway-based server (1500+ km away) than from one in my own city.

We had a "big pipe bragging" contest some time ago, but I can't find the old thread at all.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:09 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

my home network is a joke, i get better speeds using my HSDPA USB modem
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:29 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

something interesting...

our provider about 1 and a half years ago changed all the plans around, with different speeds/download limit/cost. My mum just said stuff them, we'll stick with what we've got (upgrading cost heaps). We have been on 512kb download with 5GB on peak and 5GB off-peak for all that time for 59.95/month. (even when we went over that limit they didn't reduce our speeds!)

I was interested the other day and questioned mum on our connection, she couldn't tell me so i went online and found we were paying 59.95/month for the above. then it said UPGRADE? we clicked yes. We upgraded to 1500kb download with 4GB on peak and 8GB off-peak, saved $160 and got a free wireless phone, all without paying any extra from the 59.95/month!

The phone arrived today. Yay! Silly providers...
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:37 AM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Well actually, I was mostly just surprised I had that kind of bandwidth over cable. Especially with all the hullabaloo about how they've secretly been tiering and capping monthly bandwidth on supposed "unlimited" accounts.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-18-2008, 08:52 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

My download speed is solid, upload is crap, lotta' disappointed peeps out there!!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:08 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,059
Default

The above is my connection speed at work. At home I am at 20MB down and 5MB up.

EDIT: Removed link to remain anonymous
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB

Last edited by musichound; 11-18-2008 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:13 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

With an uplink like that I hope you guys don't block torrents.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:55 PM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
The above is my connection speed at work. At home I am at 20MB down and 5MB up.
Wow man! your upload speed is 3 times my download speed , and I thought 1500kb/s was big! In Aus, you can only get ADSL2 in the capital cities, and out here you are lucky if you get ADSL! It sucks
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:59 AM
Noname33 Noname33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 47
Default



Bam!

Only thing that sucks is this is my schools speed
__________________
Optimism is not a choice, it's a belief.

Last edited by Noname33; 11-19-2008 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-19-2008, 01:15 PM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default


bler bler bler
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-19-2008, 01:25 PM
Goggles's Avatar
Goggles Goggles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 142
Default

bah

Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:10 PM
pcman pcman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 193
Default

Wow. Everyone's speed completly pwns mine. I pay 32 bucks a month for this. the funny thing is, i can only get download speeds of 100 kbs. anyone know why there would be such a difference? I have no home network, its just the phone line to modem to pc.

Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:20 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

The prob is my ISP blocks the upload speed to limit "supposed" illegal torrents. A**H***S!!!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:32 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,059
Default

OK, here's mine from home.

__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:43 AM
Jack4L's Avatar
Jack4L Jack4L is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcman View Post
Wow. Everyone's speed completly pwns mine. I pay 32 bucks a month for this. the funny thing is, i can only get download speeds of 100 kbs. anyone know why there would be such a difference? I have no home network, its just the phone line to modem to pc.

That sounds about right, used to have a 1mb/512kb connection and thats pretty much the max I could get. These days I have a 16mb/2mb connection and I can get about 1500kb on a good day, with multiple downloads going.

This speed test site seems to have a cap for finnish speed tests, I get the same result for my connection at home as I do for my work connection. My work connection is 24/12 and gets the same 8000kb/s, but then again its probibly getting used at the same time quite abit as I run the test :P
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 11-21-2008, 04:20 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

Finally did the test thing for real with my new *fast* speeds...



This is the fastest I can get for where I live . Oh well
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-20-2009, 09:47 PM
massarosareloud massarosareloud is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Verizon FiOS is the best.


At work, i can get GBs a second, we have corporate fios there. pretty insane
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:20 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

If only they would pipe FiOS to my neck of the woods, cable has some serious bandwidth, but I don't feel like paying for all of it.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:37 AM
Mf1232's Avatar
Mf1232 Mf1232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, NH
Posts: 461
Default

i went to speedtest.net, and how are you guys doing this? i can only get it display in kilobits. i want kilobites like you guys are getting it display in. and how are you guys getting that little box that has your dl speed to the left of your ul speed? im really confused lol.
__________________
16gb Sony NWZ-E475m - Sony MDR-EX300 IEMs
*R.I.P.*
16gb Cowon S9, 32gb ZuneHD
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.