android
  #21  
Old 12-24-2008, 12:26 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzo83 View Post
Did you notice an improvement of the menu speed?
Sorry, but after bluetooth was not very good on 1.21 I didnt play with the SPINN until I updated it. I seems quck enough, but having to use the spindle when you could have just swiped the screen is a real pain. iriver needs to seriously rething the UI.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 12-26-2008, 06:16 AM
bbq12344321 bbq12344321 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Good news, http://nyaochi.**********.jp/iriverupdate/ recovered from error.

It seems that firmware 1.5 for ENG/FRE was released. I wonder if any difference exists from Korean version.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 12-26-2008, 06:28 AM
bbq12344321 bbq12344321 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Haha, I tried the English version of Firmware 1.5. Although the DMB module disapears, the operation becomes more smooth.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:47 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

I also notice that the firmware updater now recognized my SPINN. Looks like they've been working on it.

I also discovered Video starts dropping frames if watching while using bluetooth. Usually in fast-action scenes. They better fix that, or SPINN sales will stop.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:03 PM
bonzo83 bonzo83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Does the coverart build up faster? I think this is real issue... I mean the Spinn is supposed to have a dual-core cpu! Did they change the way music is organized on the player? The albums, artists scroll vertically and the letters are way too big - pretty awkward if you ask me...

I just wish iRiver would have spend more time on the interface. Right now it appears like a cheap rip-off from the clix.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:41 AM
obby obby is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default DMB stays in the menu

After updating to 1.50 with the U30.HEX korean version, DMB was in the menu.(but useless in Europe or US)
Now that the supplied update utility works with the spinn, I decided to upgrade again to get the version for US/Euro.
After selecting the upgrade button, the following message was shown,
"Firmware found is already 1.50"
After selecting reinstall firmware 1.50, the device started downloading.
I removed the USB cable and the device started flashing its firmware.
All was ok but the DMB is still in the menu!
Has anyone got rid of this?
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 12-28-2008, 09:06 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Same thing happened to me. I also notice there was more file space on the SPINN after reinstalling, so the 1.50 US version must be more compact.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 12-30-2008, 04:38 AM
bbq12344321 bbq12344321 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obby View Post
After updating to 1.50 with the U30.HEX korean version, DMB was in the menu.(but useless in Europe or US)
Now that the supplied update utility works with the spinn, I decided to upgrade again to get the version for US/Euro.
After selecting the upgrade button, the following message was shown,
"Firmware found is already 1.50"
After selecting reinstall firmware 1.50, the device started downloading.
I removed the USB cable and the device started flashing its firmware.
All was ok but the DMB is still in the menu!
Has anyone got rid of this?
1. use this link:http://www.iriverplus.com/tools/UMS/..._ENG_UM_OK.ZIP

2. extract the zip file and then copy the hex file to your spinn

3. the update will start once you disconnect usb
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 12-30-2008, 09:42 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Thanks, bbq. That got rid of DMB for me. I'm guessing the auto-updater just looks at what you had and puts the same country version on when you reinstall.

EDIT: After changing to the US firmware, the touch response is noticably better. I was able to play a game (from the samsung P3) much better than before I changed the firmware. The DMB app my have contributed to slowing down things when there was no DMB hardware for it to use.

Last edited by Olley; 12-30-2008 at 12:40 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 12-30-2008, 01:10 PM
bingzhong bingzhong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Technically, the DMB didn't do anything. The changes has been worked on. Big-time. The firmware itself has improved on the speed of scrolling and movement. The DMB was just there, and for that, we didn't need it. (Plus, we don't have the antenna access for it.)
One little thing that hasn't been fixed. When deleting a song from the Spinn, it still shows the artist/ song after deletion of the file. But this can easily be fixed by going to SET>ADVANCE>Rebuild Library. By doing this, it resets the library and removes any information left over by the previous files.
Besides all that, the firmware has some good, but also bad changes. The Bluetooth has finally been upgraded, which means connecting to other devices has improved! Right? Yes. And no. The connection to another product has improved the connection length, and using products such as wireless headphones, have become clearer, and it won't break-up much often. But, sometimes the headphones won't get the same frequency when a wired earphone/ headphone. In other words, make sure your Bluetooth is fully-charged or the product is a brand name company (ex: Logitech, Bose, Creative, etc.)

Anyways, these are the changes after working on it for a couple of hours. Hope this helps you guys out on what you might have thought about it.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 12-30-2008, 01:20 PM
obby obby is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks bbq12344321,

The digital radio/tv is gone now and the firmware version shown is now 1.50M in place of the previous 1.50

As for operation speed: this will need some testing.

Hopefully is this the start for more upgrades to come.
As this is not the cheepest player around, spinn-users will expect better firmware from iriver.
They are selling it as the top player of the range, so the user interface has to be top too!
Top of the list is bigger album covers.

As most of the interface operates in flash, they should bring out a user tool to design ones own interface.
I believe that this already exists for the Korean version.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 12-30-2008, 01:22 PM
bingzhong bingzhong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Also, it recognizes to the computer. The information in "My Computer" shows the icon of the player, and Windows Media Player will recognize it immediately, just like any other iriver product, and will connect to it with no problem, and also shows the icon.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 12-30-2008, 01:24 PM
bingzhong bingzhong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Oh, I'd also like to say that the Spinn is the top-selling player in (S)Korea.
Its apparently a fashion product over there. Which I should have thought since when I first saw the Spinn, I fell in love with it! xD

I love you, my Spinn. <3
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 12-30-2008, 07:27 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Just curious bingzhong, do you live in Korea?
Do you work for iriver?

Thank you for the information you provide. If you work for iriver, can you pass on requests to the SPINN development team? Olley.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-14-2009, 12:39 AM
dongxboi dongxboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default

my spinn doesnt hae a root folder
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-20-2009, 07:56 AM
prejudice prejudice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default

firmware v.2.00 already release !!
http://product.iriver.co.kr/p_spinn_new.asp
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-20-2009, 08:53 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Wow! Almost everything has been improved:
- A new Memo feature.
- A new Sleep function.
- programmed recording time (with FM maybe).
- Video: Fit to full screen.
- Video Bookmarking added.
- Text Bookmarking added.
- Virtual seek in Music and Videos.
- Photos auto-rotate to fit screen best.
- Photos also manual rotate.
- BMP an PNG files support added.
- Large album art display.
- Previous themes won't work.
- More. See this link.

And oh, 2.0 doesn't yet show up on the updater (US).
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:38 AM
zjoris zjoris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default

How do I get this update to work?
I did manage to get the Firmware v 2.00 to work, but then I don't have the big album art etc. Only DMB is back and I have the memo function.
When looking at the links prejudice and olley posted, I also saw that there are some new games for the Spinn. How can I get these?
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:00 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

I can't help you yet zjoris, as my updater think's 1.50 is the latest version.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-20-2009, 02:20 PM
LoGu LoGu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Default

Still need to allow to play all songs from an artist or genre though, there is no way to listen to all songs from an artist, not even a workaround... and allow to add an artist, album or a genre to the playlist, and not only a single track as it was on the clix...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.