android
  #1  
Old 11-10-2008, 06:24 AM
R0cky R0cky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Videos on Creative Zen Mozaic

Hi,
I have a brand new Creative Zen Mozaic.
It's working great. But my problem is:

I've tried to put some epidodes of South Park on it, using the Creative Centrale.
The episodes are working on my Zen, and the quality is very good, except the filesize of each video is very big.
The original size of a South Park episode is about 130 mb.
But when it's converted on my Zen, it's more than 200 mb!
This means I don't have any space left on my Zen.

Isn't the video size of the converted video suposed to be smaller than the originial size? Cause the resolution is way smaller... (160 x 120)
How can I make the size of the videos on my Zen smaller? Cause 200 mb for each video is just too much...

Also, I was wondering if it is possible to put videos from youtube on my zen?

I hope anybody can help me.
Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-10-2008, 08:56 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Video file size will be much larger due to the Mozaic using MJPEG (Motion JPG) which uses a high bitrate.

From here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyRS View Post
I believe the Mozaic is similar in regards to video playback capability as the Zen V Plus. In that I mean it uses the AVI container with MJPEG as the video stream and MP3 as the audio stream, but with a resolution or 128 x 160 pixels. You can use either the Creative Video Converter software or try using this guide with VirtualDub. Good luck!
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-10-2008, 11:37 AM
R0cky R0cky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, I've tried the virtualdub guide, but it didn't seem to work.
So i guess there's no other way to make the videos for Zen Mozaic smaller?

Anyway thanks for helping
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-10-2008, 12:14 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No, they will get larger regardless. That is the only way the Mozaic can handle the playback of video. Virtualdub won't help with that. Virtualdub just provides an alternative to the Creative software. If you want a player geared more for video playback, then I suggest you take a look at the other Zen's like the regular Zen or the Zen X-Fi. On the Mozaic, video playback is more of a bonus than a real feature.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-09-2008, 02:29 PM
smilkie smilkie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Hi, I just bought a zen mozaic for my mum, problem is, we use mac so i cant use the creative converter. I read that zen mozaic in particular accepts only avi files with motion jpeg codec. so far, i havent been able to find any suitable video converter. any solutions for that? thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-09-2008, 02:55 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome smilkie. So far, I've only heard that the Creative software is the only successful way of getting videos converted properly on the Mozaic. VirtualDub should work, but I haven't heard of anyone successfully doing so yet.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:27 AM
smilkie smilkie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

virtualdub runs on windows as well right? darn. mac users are doomed. haha.

hi, somehow i managed to convert my video files in motion jpeg compressed avi files through mpeg streamclip. however, it says bitrate not supported when i tried to play it. would you happen to know what are the exact bitrate that zen mozaic can function at?

Last edited by BobbyRS; 12-10-2008 at 10:08 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:19 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilkie View Post
virtualdub runs on windows as well right? darn. mac users are doomed. haha.
Yes it does. Sorry.... you maybe able to run a Windows emulator like Bootcamp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilkie View Post
hi, somehow i managed to convert my video files in motion jpeg compressed avi files through mpeg streamclip. however, it says bitrate not supported when i tried to play it. would you happen to know what are the exact bitrate that zen mozaic can function at?
Oh yeah, what software did you end up using? Did you use 16bit for video output?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:00 PM
smilkie smilkie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

i used mpeg streamclip. it doesnt allow me to choose my video bitrate, and only limited audio bitrate options. so im stuck again unless i run my converted files to edit bitrates using other ways.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:22 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Well, there is always finding a Windows computer somewhere or using the emulator I mentioned above.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:01 PM
pirouette849 pirouette849 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Just a few questions

To get a video and download them onto my mp3, do I have to buy them from an online source? (I've never had an mp3 player that could hold videos)
When I scroll through my music, sometimes I have to hit the up, down, right, and left keys several times before they respond. Is there any way to keep the buttons from sticking when I scroll through? If there isn't, I could live with it.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:32 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome pirouette849. You can either rip and convert your own videos and DVD's or download them from the Internet. I've heard of the scrolling not being as responsive as it should. Perhaps making sure you have the latest firmware installed will help. If not, then maybe Creative will address the issue in upcoming firmware releases.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:01 PM
pirouette849 pirouette849 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Okay. I tried ripping a dvd to my computer but it said something about my decoding software not being found... Something along the lines of that... Is there any way to fix that?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:06 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Make sure you have the proper codecs installed on your computer to handle the encoding/decoding.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:12 PM
pirouette849 pirouette849 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Okay thanks a lot for your help!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:22 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No problem. Good luck and enjoy the Mozaic.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:59 AM
jerkoh jerkoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default videos on zen mosaic

hey i got a big problem!

if i put videos on my zen mozaic,
i cant watch them!!!
so if you know how to put videos on zen mozaic,
plssss tell me

Last edited by jerkoh; 12-26-2008 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-26-2008, 09:23 AM
180min 180min is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

It's quite easy,use Creative Centrale,drag&drop the video in the video section of the software,wait for it to upload,after it is done uploading to the program then click it,then click transfer and wait for it to be converted and transferred to your Mozaic!
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:13 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Merged with existing Video thread.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 12-26-2008, 01:50 PM
Defnist47 Defnist47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Mozaic video transfering problems

I can't get videos on my Mozaic for some reason It could be the format but it says it's right but when I go to transfer, it dosen't give me anything and i have an error when I hit the transfer tab. When I try to watch the video it says something like wrong decoder. Maybe the video converter is wrong? Please help i'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
bitrate, encoding, mozaic, super, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.