android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa Express

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2008, 05:51 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Help My computer hates me and my Sansa Express

I've been having a bit of a problem and was pointed in the general direction of this forum, in hopes that you could help me out.

I swear my computer hates me.
I found out that the next town over's library (TCL) now has downloadable audio books. I happen to have a TCL library card and go to their website to find out more.
It turns out you have to have Windows Media Player v. 10 or 11 to be able to download the books with the software they (TCL) provides free of charge. So I download TCL's book downloading software and update my Windows Media Player to v. 10.

I decide that, after I download a couple of books, that I really should load these onto my MP3 player so I can take them with me when I go walking in the mornings. But in order to do that, my computer (which is running XP..I know..horribly ancient) has to first RECOGNIZE that my MP3 player is in fact an MP3 player and NOT a USB device. Only I can't seem to figure out how to make it do that..recognize that I plugged in an MP3 player and NOT a USB drive.

The troubleshooting guide on my computer is no help. Going to the Windows website is no help. Going to the SanDisk help page is not helping. I've already updated the firmware and updated my Windows Media Player to v. 10. I am ready to rip my hair right out.


The software used to download the audiobooks is called OverDrive Media Console. Don't know if that makes a difference. The audiobooks downloaded to my computer fine and play on Media Player fine. It's just that when I try to sync them to my MP3 player, they don't play. All I get is a "license expired" on the screen of my player. When I upgraded to Media Player v 10, it asked me if I wanted to sync my entire media library to my MP3 player, which I did. The update allowed some files that previously said "License Expired" (on my MP3 player) to now play, oddly enough. Not all of them..I still can't get it to play the "CATS: Original Broadway Cast" recordings I had put on there, nor another album I tried to load onto there (Garth Brooks: In The Life Of Chris Gaines) which both play fine on the Media Player, but won't play on my MP3 player.

Help me ABI-wan, you're my only hope.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:16 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

What happens if you upgrade to Windows Media Player 11? Are you in Windows XP SP2 or SP3?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:18 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I have not attempted (yet) to upgrade to WM v.11. I don't know what version of XP I am running, except to say that it was installed *whisper* 6 years ago. Horribly ancient I know. *blush*

SC
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:20 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Right click on My Computer, then click on Properties. It will tell you under the General tab in the System.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:23 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Under the General tab, all it says is Windows XP Home Edition version 2002.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:24 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

You might want to update to SP2 or SP3, then. I think that is your issue.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:25 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Is that something I can do for free and if so, where would I be able to download SP2/3?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:31 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Yep, both are free. You can go thru Windows Update or download this.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:32 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

But I'm not an IT professional or a developer...far from it.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:37 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Yea, but it will work because I have used it before so I did not have wait for a download.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:39 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Alright..downloading Service Pack 3 from Microsoft.com and keeping my fingers crossed that it doesn't crash my poor old dinosaur of a computer.

SC
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:09 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Alright..I tried to install SP3 but it says the service pack I have installed is too low and that I need to install SP1 before I can do anything else.


Where on earth do I find SP1?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:27 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Here is SP2 and SP1a. You can try both.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:45 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Alright..I have downloaded and in process of installing SP1a.

I am irritated as all heck that it's taken as long as it has (almost 3 hours now) to get all this done, though.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:53 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Yep, it is going to take a while, but it is needed for the MTP drivers for the DRM.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:57 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

The what for the what?

What you just said is total Greek to me. A computer geek I am not.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-08-2008, 08:00 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Here is a thread then: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...hread.php?t=87
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-08-2008, 08:54 PM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

This is probably a dumb question but I have to ask: Is there a possibility it will recognize my Sansa as an MP3 player with JUST SP1a installed?
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:04 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I think it will not work with SP1a. You need SP2 or SP3 to get it working right.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-09-2008, 06:40 AM
SansaClaus SansaClaus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I'm going to try and install SP3 this morning. I got so peeved at it last night I gave up.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.