android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Microsoft Zune > Zune Legacy Devices > Zune 80 / 120

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2008, 01:33 PM
Ztweeker Ztweeker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Has anyone tried modding the headphone out of their Zune to operate as a lineout ?

I don't know how many of you have heard of the "Imod" (a mod that fixes or bypasses certain circuit elements that may hinder sq), but I was wondering if anyone has tried any bypassing or know of anyone who has tried anything w/ a Zune ? Thanks .
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-15-2008, 01:39 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

I have never heard of doing this and can't figure out why you would want to. The zune players are some of the highest rated player in the SQ arena.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-15-2008, 02:05 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Only thing the Zune could use is an LOD > Amp combo. And NOT through the HP out.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-15-2008, 05:56 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nywytboy68 View Post
Only thing the Zune could use is an LOD > Amp combo. And NOT through the HP out.
Works fine through hp
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-15-2008, 06:14 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Works fine through hp
Unfortunately, I need a bit more amping (getting a little hard of hearing) and I really want to bypass the HP and, hopefully, the on board DAC. LOD > AMP > HP would do the trick IMO.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-16-2008, 12:35 AM
Ztweeker Ztweeker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
I have never heard of doing this and can't figure out why you would want to. The zune players are some of the highest rated player in the SQ arena.
You are 'preaching to the choir' about the SQ, but I don't use the HP out for anything other than a lineout to my portable amp. While the Zune by itself sounds pretty good , the SQ moves up another level amped using full sized Headphones rather then IEMs. I have the volume set to full on the Zune to approximate a line level signal minus the resistance of a volume control in the signal path. In truth this set-up works very well ,but I wonder if it 'could' be even better for the fact the volume control is tied into the squircle control which has other functions tied into it. In all honesty I may abandon this quest for higher purity of signal due to the fact that quality is approaching 'silly' good at this point.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-16-2008, 01:01 AM
Ztweeker Ztweeker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nywytboy68 View Post
Unfortunately, I need a bit more amping (getting a little hard of hearing) and I really want to bypass the HP and, hopefully, the on board DAC. LOD > AMP > HP would do the trick IMO.
I think the response prior to this posting of your's was alluding to using the HP out as the connection to an amp. It does indeed work pretty well for this purpose. As far the LOD issue is concerned I think that efforts were abandoned to reverse engineer one when it was discovered that a dock had to be powered to work & Microsoft was'nt receptive to volunteering information to help develop a non- powered LOD. The LOD is actually an analog connection that passes a signal after the DAC. Actually I think the DAC may be a Wolfson DAC & I find it fairly resolving w/ WMA Lossless files.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-16-2008, 05:00 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

@Ztweeker - thanks for the detailed answer. Guess the HP out is as good as the line out w/the Zune!!!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-16-2008, 10:58 AM
Ztweeker Ztweeker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nywytboy68 View Post
@Ztweeker - thanks for the detailed answer. Guess the HP out is as good as the line out w/the Zune!!!
You are very welcome, now go out & get yourself that amp my friend. I see by your profile that you also have the Sony A829 . I also have this player. Right off of the shelf I think the Sony had a slight edge in SQ. I prefer my amped Zune at this time. I could amp my Sony using the same configuration, but I'm enjoying the much greater storage capacity of the Zune 80 w/ lossless that I'm being lazy. I really wish the Sony supported WMA lossless, if I use anything less tha WAV on the Sony the Zune sounds better. I assumed the Sony supported WMA lossless before I bought it. I'm told that Sony won't implement codec changes unless they consider something 'broken'(which of course nothing is), oh well . Sorry to have been so long winded & hope you try amping the Zune. Enjoy .
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-18-2008, 04:49 PM
JETninja JETninja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Default

I run the HP out as a Line out into my Alpine 9847 HU in my M3. I set the Zune on volume lvl of 15. Works great.
__________________
JET
Zune 120Gb Red w/Carmel Incipio Leather case (Color Matches my '95 M3 , Dead atm Zune 80Gb, WM7 Samsung Focus, Zune 8Gb (Son), Black Zune 80Gb (Son), Apple Ipod Nano 3rd Gen - iPad 32Gb (Wifes) , Many Sansa's, etc (Kids)
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-17-2008, 07:43 PM
Theseus Theseus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
Default There IS a line out solution for the Zune

It's this product now available at Circuit City. You plug in the Zune from the charging port to a cigarrete lighter. You can tell it's a real line out because the volume control is disabled. You only control the volume from your car stereo.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Sound...oductDetail.do

It seems that there's a 'trigger' or 'lock' to access the Zune line out. It has to be powered, unlike the ipod line out port. I have no idea why Microsoft would lock the feature down, and then barely offer any accessories for it. It's typical Microsoft behavior.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-18-2008, 07:24 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Since the Zune needs the LOD to be powered then this accessory is really no good, as most want it to run to an external portable amp, NOT a car stereo. Thanks for the info just the same!!!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-18-2008, 07:39 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Since the Zune needs the LOD to be powered then this accessory is really no good, as most want it to run to an external portable amp, NOT a car stereo. Thanks for the info just the same!!!
mod the lod
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-18-2008, 08:05 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
mod the lod
I'll figure it out sooner or later - hopefully SOONER!!!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-20-2008, 12:28 AM
Theseus Theseus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Since the Zune needs the LOD to be powered then this accessory is really no good, as most want it to run to an external portable amp, NOT a car stereo. Thanks for the info just the same!!!
Sure thing.

Hmmm. I'm wondering, with a little DIY, maybe I can mod this soundgate LOD and use it like the sync dongle on the Creative ZV:M. The problem to work around is how to power the dongle, since that's the only to 'unlock' the line out. Damn you Microsoft...
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:35 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theseus View Post
Damn you Microsoft...
I'm with you on this!!!! I still love my Zune tho!!!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:04 PM
Mediaogre's Avatar
Mediaogre Mediaogre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 71
Default

Sorry for gravedigging this thread, folks. For what it's worth, I'm grateful for and sincerely appreciate the tips and information I've read in this thread.

Now, has anyone successfully modded a Zune cable to achieve true line out? DarkSide? WalkGood? :-)
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:17 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediaogre View Post
... Now, has anyone successfully modded a Zune cable to achieve true line out? DarkSide? WalkGood? :-)
AFAIK it's not been done.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:10 PM
Mediaogre's Avatar
Mediaogre Mediaogre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
AFAIK it's not been done.
Alas, thanks, WalkGood. This is me not anguishing over it any more. :-| Seriously, I'm going to let it go.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:26 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediaogre View Post
Alas, thanks, WalkGood. This is me not anguishing over it any more. :-| Seriously, I'm going to let it go.
I read that qables was or is working on a zune LOD, don’t know if they gave up or are still trying. If you’re that interested, it might be worth dropping them a friendly email and letting us know what they say …
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.