android
  #1  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:34 AM
kkalinow kkalinow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Unhappy Wifi Problems

I tried turning on the centrale media server, but my zen cant detect it. i have a wireless router to which it connects, but it only sees the mediabox
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-24-2008, 05:48 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

I don't know much about Centrale, but it sounds like a port or configuration problem. First, make sure that the firewall on the computer it's running on is set to allow connections to Centrale. Also verify that the computer has a valid IP address that your router recognizes, and that you have this configured in your player.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-24-2008, 06:46 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

AFAIK Creative Centale isn't a media server. The Zen X-Fi is upnp so it will automatically find media sharing set up on your network. There should be zero configuration if there currently is a media sharing computer on your network.

You problem likely is that you done have media sharing set up on your computer. Vista will pop up an icon in your system tray and say "Found a new device on the network, Allow sharing?" ...or something like that if you are not set up to automatically share media.

Here is how to set up media sharing in Vista.

This may help for XP.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-26-2008, 01:26 AM
kkalinow kkalinow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Cool

thanks guys!!! i tried both of those before i attempted connecting - added the MAC address to my trusted in the firewall settings and checked off 'allow comps and other devices automatically' under media sharing settings; when it detected it, i unchecked the box.

works great.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-22-2008, 10:38 AM
Mr.Mysterious Mr.Mysterious is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Default ZEN X-fi Wifi Inquiry

Hey guys, I am on the borderline of purchasing this pmp called zen x-fi from creative.

->But I am unsure whether it supports the internet connections available in my country (I LIVE IN INDIA).

-->Also, I am unsure about the hardware that will be required in order to gain wireless network in my house, and also where to purchase this from and for how much.

--->Last thing, what is the wireless rage of this gadget?

Thanks much for answering.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-22-2008, 11:12 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,043
Default

Wrong section to post an inquiry - I see you've posted before so you should know where to ask questions by now.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:10 PM
shadow shadow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Well, the Zen X-fi chat has all continents avaliable to search for people in (if that statement doesn't make sense, check out the anythingbutipod video review on youtube).

All you need is a wireless router (wifi) to get internet connection out of it.

Also, keep in mind this doesn't have a browser. You can download some content, use creatives chat (which I've never seen another person online while using), or use yahoo and msn messengers.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-22-2008, 04:03 PM
PerfektSound PerfektSound is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

wifi on the xfi is useless to me, chatting on an mp3 player is useless and if i'm gonna stream stuff I use my PSP.

but if you like streaming on a tiny screen then the wifi would be good for you, it connects to my network no problem.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:27 AM
Mr.Mysterious Mr.Mysterious is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Default

@shadow
thanx for your relevant reply, does zen support adsl router??
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-25-2008, 04:13 PM
BnjS BnjS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default Can you stream Subscription Music via Wi-Fi?

I'm interested if I can download subscription music to my computer (I use Rhapsody) and then put that content on an X-Fi via Wi-Fi (I have a wireless network at home). Anyone tried it?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-24-2008, 03:04 AM
munkeeman munkeeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Album Art and Wireless Issue

Hey,

I am wondering if anyone else is facing similar issues when they try to download a song/album/artist from their media server onto their X-Fi. I seem to not be able to download album art along with the files.

I have used Centrale, Windows Media Player, Winamp, and TVersity for wireless sync and while I've gotten it to work for all of them, I still lack the album arts that I get easily using the USB cable. I have tested, too, trying to download an album that I know is properly embedded with the album art as confirmed by the Windows Media Player plug-in "Album Art Fixer."

I'm mainly curious if other people have this issue or have found a solution - I may be overlooking something simple, but I'm not sure. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:01 AM
jdparkin jdparkin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

I just tried and no album art for me either over wireless, works with usb cable though. Perhaps it can't for some reason over wireless.

Last edited by jdparkin; 09-24-2008 at 04:22 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-27-2008, 05:49 PM
BnjS BnjS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default Please Help Me Connect to My Home Network

Hi, dove in today and have purchased a Zen X-Fi 32 gb. Firmware 1.03.01, but I am unable to connnect to my home network.

Followed the instructions to connect to my 802.11g wireless home network, which is standard WPA via a Linksys router, and has a password. The Zen is set to Auto in the systems LAN setting, identifies my home network properly and asks me for the password. I've put the password in a dozen times, including right next to the router, and each time it changes screen for a split second (can't tell to what), then asks again (and again) for my network password. Please, anyone know what's going on and how to solve this?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-27-2008, 06:01 PM
BnjS BnjS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default

Okay, solved it -- when I hit the okay button repeatedly to reach the numbers in the password, I could not access the network. When I held the ok button down until the number appeared, I was able to access the network. Hope this helps someone else.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:00 AM
ToJa92 ToJa92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks, will try it with my Zen. I also have this problem, if you just press the password disappears. I hope this and the weird text input will be fixed in next firmware.

EDIT: Worked magically, thanks! rep+

Last edited by ToJa92; 09-28-2008 at 04:38 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:46 AM
JunglePimp's Avatar
JunglePimp JunglePimp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 256
Default Zen X-fi Rejecting WiFi Password

I've been experiencing this problem lately, my zen would simply reject the password to my Wifi network, while other devices are accepting it.

Probably this is because of the firmware upgrade of my modem, which was done by the internet service guys, after which all the wireless devices stopped catching the network, showing"limited connectivity".

They came and fixed the problem on the laptops etc, but when I asked them about my Zen X-fi, they said they could not help!

What is the way out now?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-01-2009, 08:24 PM
starZz starZz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Default

Have you tried resetting the player? maybe this will do the trick to detect the new settings?
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:19 AM
JunglePimp's Avatar
JunglePimp JunglePimp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: India
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starZz View Post
Have you tried resetting the player? maybe this will do the trick to detect the new settings?

No things didn't work, I had to keep my router with password disabled, then it did
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-10-2009, 10:40 AM
Imposter Imposter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 2
Default

I'm having the same issue as the original poster. I followed the link and have set up Media Sharing (with automatically allow) in Vista, but the player still only shows the Creative MediaBox server. Is there a possible Service I have turned off? Also, I'm using Windows Firewall, but it has the correct pass-throughs for the Centrale software. It still fails to see the server even if I turn off the firewall completely. And I never see a popup notification asking me to allow the connection, with auto-allow checked or unchecked.
Suggestions?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-24-2009, 09:36 AM
rhythmvox rhythmvox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have the original issue too, same as Imposter, using XP. The original unit was assumed faulty for this reason, but the replacement is no better, except for one isolated occasion after enabling Media Sharing in WMP, when it was suddenly able to wirelessly browse the PC's files, then it locked up trying to shutdown, which prompted a firmware upgrade - since when MediaBox is all I get (if that). I've spent hours on this trying everything: turned off the firewall, MAC filtering on and off, even took MS advice to change registry settings, on and on - nothing works.

Creative's Support have modified their website advice since I took the issue up with them, but nothing they can offer makes any difference. I love the player, but will have to ask for my money back if this can't be resolved. Could anyone please help?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
album art, sync, wireless, x-fi, zen x-fi, zen x-fi inquiry, zen x-fi router, zen x-fi wifi, zen x-fi wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.