android
Old 08-12-2008, 03:05 AM

Default Editing wps

Hi. I just got an e280, installed rockbox, and I love it, and I'm attempting to customize a bit further, but I am confused by the tagging system used for the wps (I'm a noob).

Specifically, I am trying to edit an existing wps file for an existing theme. I have tried to identify the tags used, eliminate the ones I don't want, add the ones I do, save it, and then copy it to the location I got it from in .rockbox directory, but when I do, it never makes any changes to the wps. I tried settings>theme settings>browse wps file> then selecting the file I just replaced, but no changes are seen.

In case it helps, I edited the file in ms notebook, then clicked save, as to directly repalce it, and also tried saving it as a .wps file, as suggested in the rockbox tag guide, but niether methd worked.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-12-2008, 08:34 PM

No help anywhere?

I have also tried to change the wps to another one that is pre-loaded on rockbox, but it shows no changes to the wps. Can someone tell me why?

Old 08-12-2008, 10:23 PM
Ultra Senior Member

Are you editing the right files? Are you reading this: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/CustomWPS?

Old 08-12-2008, 10:58 PM

For best results
extract the theme to your harddrive
edit the wps there
save the wps
drag and drop the .rockbox folder and everything below it to the root directory of your sansa
reboot sansa
then select the theme from your theme browser

Old 08-12-2008, 11:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Are you editing the right files? Are you reading this: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/CustomWPS?
Yeah, I am trying to read that guide, but this is the first time that I have attempted to write code in anything, and I am not sure that I am using the tags correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpenter940 View Post
For best results
extract the theme to your harddrive