android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa e200 > Sansa e200 Rockbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2008, 06:38 AM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default Car installation - Booting to Rockbox when placing on a Griffin PowerDock cradle

Hi. I hope the title is descriptive enough.

I did an installation by modding a Griffin PowerDock and everything is working good, with power being provided and audio being fed to the aux input of my sound system.

The icing on the cake would be for the Sansa (it's an E280) to boot to Rockbox when I place it in the cradle and it's in an off state. As of now, it boots to the original firmware.

I tried the reverse bootloader stuff but I had to go through recovery mode after bricking my Sansa And I'm not sure if it would reverse *that* aspect anyway.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-30-2008, 07:13 AM
PolloLoco PolloLoco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Default

That's funny - I use the Sansa e280 in a conventional Griffin Powerdock setup. There's a USB cable connected to a power strip to feed the Sansa.

When I place my rockboxed Sansa (CPChan branch) unpowered in the cradle, it always boots to rockbox. I have to hold the right button to get it to boot standard firmware.

Why would that be swapped in a car installation? Could it be your version of Rockbox?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-30-2008, 07:58 AM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PolloLoco View Post
That's funny - I use the Sansa e280 in a conventional Griffin Powerdock setup. There's a USB cable connected to a power strip to feed the Sansa.

When I place my rockboxed Sansa (CPChan branch) unpowered in the cradle, it always boots to rockbox. I have to hold the right button to get it to boot standard firmware.

Why would that be swapped in a car installation? Could it be your version of Rockbox?
Argh! That's exactly how I want it!
Things that differ between your setup and mind:

1) I'm on Kugel's build. Mid-june one IIRC.
2) I cut off the small light led as it was "using power" from my car battery for nothing. I was afraid of leaving it connected overnight (probably overcautious here).
3) The USB is connected to a cigar lighter adapter, so I think it just feeds the power but no other "USB stuff".

Edit: by re-reading what you wrote... your setup, too, has not a "real" USB connection but just the power side of it, correct?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-30-2008, 11:57 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I use my Griffin PowerDock with power only with Rockbox just fine, but I have been using the Official Rockbox build tho.

Edit: Forgot that I had to use the Select button while plugging it in at times.

Last edited by advcomp2019; 07-30-2008 at 12:12 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:28 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
Hi. I hope the title is descriptive enough.

I did an installation by modding a Griffin PowerDock and everything is working good, with power being provided and audio being fed to the aux input of my sound system.

The icing on the cake would be for the Sansa (it's an E280) to boot to Rockbox when I place it in the cradle and it's in an off state. As of now, it boots to the original firmware.

I tried the reverse bootloader stuff but I had to go through recovery mode after bricking my Sansa And I'm not sure if it would reverse *that* aspect anyway.
Press and hold select upon inserting the cable to prevent rockbox from rebooting. I hope this helps.

€dit: I see, my hint couldn't help. I guess you need to mod your Dock even further, and prevent the USB-Data pins from being connected with the sansa. The sansa boots into the OF if the Rockbox Bootloader detects an USB connection.
__________________
;;

Last edited by kugel; 07-30-2008 at 12:34 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:32 PM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
Press and hold select upon inserting the cable to prevent rockbox from rebooting. I hope this helps.
Sorry, I needed to specify. I'm aware of that way.
But it's against the principle of use that I have in mind. I want to be able to enter my car and just plug it in. It's not really easy to be keeping the select button pressed when placing the Sansa on the cradle.

I was wondering if there was a way to modify the behaviour in order to reverse it.

- Place in cradle---> Rockbox boots
- Place in cradle while pressing select---> OF boots

Would it be an easy modification (not asking for this to be inserted in your build, just as a general question. I might pay some small amount of money to have it done by somebody, as it's totally over my head)?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:35 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Read my edit please

PS: I can't include that in my build. That's bootloader stuff.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:39 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Press the Select when Rockbox is already booted up will stop Rockbox from rebooting if it does.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:40 PM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Ok, another question (and thanks for your time, btw): if I cut off the USB data pins (which I have no use for in the car, obviously) would that in any way impede the capability of Rockbox to detect that the unit is plugged in.

I have it setup so that when it's in the cradle backlighting stays always on.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:41 PM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Press the Select when Rockbox is already booted up will stop Rockbox from rebooting if it does.
It's funny... I don't need to do that.


It's enough for me to just press the power button and initiate the boot sequence. Once it reaches the Kugel's splash screen I can plug it in and it does not reboots to OF.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:42 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

No, the Sansa turns on if it gets power (by hardware design).
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:45 PM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

I'm not sure I get the sense of your reply.
I'm referring to the Settings/General Settings/Display/LCD Settings/Backlight (While Plugged In).
If I cut the USB data connection, will rockbox be able to tell that the unit is plugged in, hence keeping the backlight on at all times (as per my setting).
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:49 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

You can try cutting the USB data connection, but I think you need to boot into Rockbox then plug it in.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:50 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
I'm not sure I get the sense of your reply.
I'm referring to the Settings/General Settings/Display/LCD Settings/Backlight (While Plugged In).
If I cut the USB data connection, will rockbox be able to tell that the unit is plugged in, hence keeping the backlight on at all times (as per my setting).
AFAIR yes.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-30-2008, 06:57 PM
zmjb1's Avatar
zmjb1 zmjb1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 57
Wink LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman View Post
Argh! That's exactly how I want it!
Things that differ between your setup and mind:

1) I'm on Kugel's build. Mid-june one IIRC.
2) I cut off the small light led as it was "using power" from my car battery for nothing. I was afraid of leaving it connected overnight (probably overcautious here).
3) The USB is connected to a cigar lighter adapter, so I think it just feeds the power but no other "USB stuff".

Edit: by re-reading what you wrote... your setup, too, has not a "real" USB connection but just the power side of it, correct?
You could run an LED for months and not effect your battery. Ever see the blinking LEDs on car anti theft alarms?

Connect it back up and you'll be fine
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-31-2008, 03:27 AM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
PS: I can't include that in my build. That's bootloader stuff.
Do you know anybody who's capable of creating a modified bootloader?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:12 PM
PolloLoco PolloLoco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Just to confirm, I'm only connected to power via that dock - no USB - and my Sansa boots up into Rockbox just fine. Obviously, I didn't have to remove any of the data pins in the mini usb. I just have an AC to mini-USB charger connected to the Griffin dock.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:27 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

PolloLoco, yea, that is what mine does, too, but there was one or two times it did not.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 08-01-2008, 04:33 AM
gorman gorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PolloLoco View Post
Just to confirm, I'm only connected to power via that dock - no USB - and my Sansa boots up into Rockbox just fine. Obviously, I didn't have to remove any of the data pins in the mini usb. I just have an AC to mini-USB charger connected to the Griffin dock.
This happens without you pressing any button while booting. Do I get this right?
Could it be that your AC to mini-USB charger does not connect all pins of USB? And mine for some stupid reason does?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:45 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Gormon, I have a BlackBerry/Razr charger that I use on my Griffin PowerDock. It works in Rockbox just fine without pressing any button. There was long ago when I had to use Select button a few times, but it seems with the newer builds I have not needed too.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.